We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated right in the centre (most of the chain hotels are well outside). The rooms are very basic and we certainly had the world's smallest bathroom! However,everything was spotlessly clean.
Staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful,nothing seemed too much trouble 24/7. Decent breakfast and really appreciated hot drinks 'on tap'.
Iceland lovely but horrifically expensive for all commodities. That said, had the best cod we've ever tasted in Icelandic Fish and Chips (down at Old harbour).

Room Tip: We stayed in Annexe, perhaps rooms in main hotel are larger
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemaryWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,373)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

My room at the Leifur Eiriksson may have been small and fairly basic, but I had a great view of Hallgrimskirkja, the famous Reykjavik landmark. The location was perfect, as the city is compact and very walkable.

The hotel staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. They were knowledgeable about all the tours on offer and happy to book them or arrange transport whenever necessary.

The breakfast room may be compact and busy at times, but the selection of food on offer was wider than I had anticipated and of good quality. And it was great to have tea, coffee and hot chocolate available free of charge 24/7.

My friends and I chose the Leifur Eiriksson as part of an Icelandair Northern Lights package and we were very happy with the experience.

It was raining as we landed at Keflavik but had dried up by the time we reached the hotel; the following two days were sunny and blue skied – in other words perfect tourist weather. And yes, we did get to see the Northern Lights in all their glory from the Sun Voyager sculpture site on the edge of Reykjavik Harbour.

The Golden Circle tour is a must but takes 7-8 hours. Make sure that you also see what Reykjavik has to offer in terms of cafes, restaurants, shops and galleries.

I left Iceland wondering why I hadn't visited the country years earlier.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location opposite the main church and within walking distance to all the best restaurants. While the rooms and breakfast are basic, the location made up for it. The staff were friendly!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjdlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent location, excellent staff, excellent service. This lovely family run hotel was a perfect place to base a brilliant trip to iceland.They helped out in all the tour bookings we made. Close to the down town area of Reykjavik and directly across from the beautiful church, which is a great reverence point to find when you come out of the great bars and restaurants after a few drinks!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a brilliant little hotel this is. Rooms are comfortable, very clean and exceptionally warm. They are a little on the small side, but then this is not a top of the range hotel. If you want luxury and lots of room you will definitely pay a lot more for it. Be prepared to live out of your suitcase (there was a very small wardrobe and a few shelves but not enough for two people with warm, winter clothing!) and you’ll be fine. The shower room was lovely and warm with plenty of hot water. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the reception desk is staffed 24 hours. There’s quite a lot of tourist type information in the hotel but the staff would always help you find anything else you needed. Rooms were cleaned and beds made daily, towels changed as often as we wanted. Free wi-fi was appreciated and welcome. The breakfast was great – lots of choice – cereal, milk, cold meat, cheese, fish, eggs, fruit, bread, crackers, toast, jam, waffles to make yourself plus plenty of free hot drinks from the machine that was available 24 hours a day – a definite welcome bonus!
The location is perfect. Right opposite the church and just a short downhill walk to the main shopping area, with a few minutes further to the sea front.
If you want value for money in a clean, warm, basic, no frills hotel, with helpful staff, free wi-fi, plentiful breakfast included, and in a perfect location, I think you’d find it hard to beat this place.

Room Tip: No lift, so if this worries you, ask for a room on 2nd floor. Rooms at the front of the hotel can be...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenMR30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here Feb 8th for 3 nights. Location is great under 5 minutes walk to the centre of town. We stayed on the 3rd floor and there is no lift. The hotel is small and compact, the rooms are basic and not very big. The hotel offers free tea and coffee throughout your stay. There are no tea making facilities in the rooms. If you require a hair dryer you need to ask the receptionist as they are not readily available in the room. the breakfast is adequate for what you require for the start of the day, toast cooked meats tea coffee, jams etc. The hotel receptionist were very helpful throughout, especially the gentleman on nights. We were being picked up from the hotel at 5am for our 8am flight and i asked the night before if we could possibly have a sandwich made up as we would not be having breakfast. When we came down at 4.30am the normal breakfast has been laid out for everyone to help themselves. Well Done

On a negative note this hotel is on the main street and can be noisy in the early hours with people returning home from their evening on the town. Our second morning's breakfast was a bit of a nightmare as only 1 person had turned in, there were dirty plates and dishes all over the dining room. No cups,clean plates or cutlery. The person who was there was doing their best. I did ask the receptionist to ask if she could help her but said it wasn't her job. When the new batch of bread came out it was frozen, so it was toast or nothing.......... Dont be put off by this as i would stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillyfrog1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good location but very noisy from revellers outside our corner room opposite the church. Package deal with Icelandair was good value.
Room very basic in the annexe - tiny basin and walk in shower. Bed linen could have been better.However, the room was nice and warm.

Breakfast basic but adequate. Reykavik not as expensive as led to believe, we didn't see the Northern Lights because of snow but The Golden Circle tour was great.

Room Tip: Not the annexe!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
942 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,683 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,235 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#37 of 54 in Reykjavik
870 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $145 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing