We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandhotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fron(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Holt(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,502)
Filter reviews
1,502 results
Traveler rating
480
655
258
71
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
655
258
71
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree hot drinksno liftgreat locationmain buildingopposite the churchnorthern lightscoffee and hot chocolatewaffle makerbeautiful churchtop floorblue lagoonshort breakbreadwet roommake your own wafflesbreakfast roombig church
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,023 - 1,028 of 1,502 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel Leifur Eiriksson and managed to get a glimpse of the northern lights!
Our room was up at the top at the back but had good views across rooftops to the mountains - on the first day at least - after that it rained and snowed!
Our room was small but cute and cosy - just had to watch our head on the eaves!! Wet room was even smaller but how long do you actually spend in your hotel room? It was clean and comfortable and that's what matters.
Staff were extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble.
We can't wait to return to Iceland and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejollytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located with easy access to the local bars and restaurants.
The rooms are basic but cleaned and maintained on a daily basis.
The staff at the hotel are more than happy to give advice and book any trips you may be interested in.
Ask for a room facing the church at the front of the building. Great views!!!

We did the northern lights tour by coach and the golden circle via a 4WD super jeep, not cheep but worth every penny!!

Travel tip, If you have an afternoon flight then a trip to the blue lagoon on the way home is a must, we got the 10 o clock bus to arrive at the lagoon approx 11am, you can then secure your luggage in a locked cabin in the car park and enjoy a few hours in the lagoon, a spot of lunch and then get the onward bus to take you direct to the airport therefore making complete use of your last day of your holiday.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeF72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

having just returned from a 3 day weekend I couldn't wait to post my review. we stayed in rooms 110 & 112 in the building across the road. rooms were clean, comfortable, safe abd great value for money. our hosts were extremely helpful, continental breakfast was hearty and 24 hr tea and coffee with help coordinating lots of day tours made this the perfect spot. we loved being 5 mins walk to everywhere especially when the weather turned bitterly cold.

Thank CFarmerOz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you are looking for a clean comfortable, centrally located hotel, then look no further. We stayed for 3 nights here, and were lucky enough to be in room 304 which was at the front over looking Hallgrímskirkja chruch. The rooms are fairly small and basic, but they do the job. The staff are always very friendly and helpful, and the reception is always manned. All trips can be booked when you arrive, as everything seems to be done on a last minute basis as people usually just stay for a weekend break. The breakfast is great, cereal, muesli,toast and waffles. There are hot drinks available foc 24/7 which is a real bonus! I thoroughly recommend this hotel, enjoy, Iceland is an amazing place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed in the annex on the top floor with the views away from the church. So what? I wasn't spending too much time inside the hotel anyway, so the lack of a great view, although regrettable, was not going to put a dent in my awesome experience in Iceland. The hotel is within an easy walking distance from *everything* that you may want to see in Reykjavik. That is, except for Kringlan, the biggest shopping mall, which is too war away to walk, but is easily reached by bus. The breakfast beat my expectations on all accounts. You can get tuna salad and pickled herring for breakfast! And freshly made waffles that make the breakfast room smell oh so delicious every morning. And then there's feee tea, coffee, or hot chocolate that is offered 24/7 - that's simply invaluable in winter after a long trip to see the northern lights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stanberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews