We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent for our 4 night stop. Fastest check in ever, the room was small and care needs to be taken when having a shower, it can flood the bathroom floor. However, brilliant position, excellent view and within easy walking distance of central Reykjavik. Very helpful and friendly staff, very good breakfast, continual tea/coffee and for the centre of Reykjavik very well priced. We did ask a couple of questions via email before we arrived and received an instant reply. We asked for a room on the 2nd floor or higher, facing the church and received exactly that. I would happily return to both the Hotel and room, in fact I wouldn't bother checking others.

Room Tip: We had room 406, excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sitting in reception waiting for a friend, I could not be more impressed with the level of customer service from this hotel. The girl behind reception must have been asked, at least, every two to three minutes, whether the Northern Lights were going to be available that night - this on a very wet and windy day with no sign of the rain holding off. She answered each person cheerfully and gave them hope for a day or two later.

Likewise the owner was asked towels for the Blue Lagoon - he helpfully provided hotel towels and just asked that the person remembered to bring them back later on in the day.

The Leifur Eiriksson is clean and the rooms adequate. it is not an up market hotel, but neither are its prices. The gem here is the quality of customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back overlooking the fjord for some great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Basic hotel but warm and cosy with lovely rooms and fantastic views!! Staff were friendly and knowledgable. Free parking in abundance across the road. Quiet at night and comfy beds.

The only reason it gets a mark knocked off is because the breakfast room is tiny and unless you get there for when breakfast starts at 7 there was a queue for a table (the coach trips leave at 8) which is annoying when you've got a tight schedule. The quality of the food is great. Waffle maker a definite bonus!!

Definitely consider renting a car and driving the golden circle etc yourself as there are many beautiful places to stop on the way and in a coach you miss so much and you will have to be there with 100s of other people. We're very glad we did.

Overall a lovely stay at this hotel and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Well located at the top end of town in a quiet area opposite the Hallgrimskirkja. The clock stops chiming @ 21.00!
Also handy for the Loki cafe just around the corner that does excellent local snacks.
We were located in the annexe just opposite the main hotel; the bedroom was a corner 'suite' with full length windows on two sides so was a bit noisy and draughty; the latter being quite nice as the heat was a bit over bearing, even for October. Room facilities were basic but more than adequate for a short break.
The buffet (07:00-09.30) breakfast was very fulfilling with cereals, fruits, cakes, cold meats, cheeses, juices, breads etc in abundance. If you have a very early morning flight to catch, mention this the night before to the night porter and he will make sure there are at least some basics available before your departure.
Free tea/coffee available 24/7 and the reception area has free wifi connection.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garethannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived at this lovely hotel in the middle of the night and were immediately struck by both the warmth of the greeting and the warmth of the hotel. Our room was cosy with everything you could wish for. Breakfast was continental with the addition of a waffle maker which was great fun and a few homemade waffles with jam really set you up for the day! And there is free tea and coffee all day!
The hotel is opposite the Cathedral so you can never miss it and it is so central you're never more than a few minutes away from the lovely shops, restaurants and bars.
The hotel staff all speak perfect English and cannot do enough for you! We enquired about a bus to the Blue Lagoon on arrival at 3am and it had been booked by the time we got up for breakfast! If you are looking for a plastic 4 star chain hotel this isn't for you. This is a cosy small hotel in the heart of Reykjavik with a big heart and superb commitment to customer care and I could not have wished for a better place to stay in this wonderful city. I cannot wait to return and look forward to my next visit in the spring!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cathedral because it is so very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judith v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very comfortable hotel only a few minutes from town. Fabulous views of the fantastic church.Eat as much as you like breakfasts, even make your own waffles. Packed breakfast for the morning we left . Nothing was too much trouble
Sadly we didn't see the Northern Lights, We booked for Tuesday - no luck. Wednesday -no luck, Thursday - Cancelled, Friday -home. Oh well a good excuse to go back to this delightful hotel

Room Tip: corner bedrooms have double aspect windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whittingtonx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is a gem. It is not a modern chain; it's a very personable medium size hotel. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and it's in a lovely location. We arrived at 7am, exhausted after an overnight flight; they gave us a free breakfast, and our room was ready within an hour of our arrival. The beds are a bit lumpy, but other than that, I thought it was perfect. I would go there again and would definitely urge my friends to go there.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one. It happened to be a corner room, so it was also large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,293 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
972 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,143 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,204 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $133 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik opposite the famous Hallgrims Church. Our hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik and there is free parking opposite our hotel . We offer 47 rooms all with private bathroom facilities and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing