We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a great hotel! We chose it for it's central location and couldn't fault it, our room overlooked Hallgrimskirkja, the cathedral that can be seen all over Reykjavik. The room was spacious enough and cleaned every day. Yes, the bathroom is actually a wet room and is on the small side, but there was plenty of room to shower etc.

The staff are fantastic, helpful and are very knowledgable about where to go, what the pickup time for any trip is. They booked our return journey on the flybus, nothing was ever too much effort for them.

The breakfast was fine, cereals, meat, cheese, fish etc. There are free hot drinks and squash available 24/7.

I will definitely stay here again if I return to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Room 313 had a perfect view of Halgrimskirkja.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBread1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our 5th trip to Reykjavik, 1st time in the Leifur Eiriksson. The hotel was perfectly adequate for our short break, comparable with others we have used in the same price range. There is ample free car parking opposite the hotel. It was warm, clean and conveniently located 5 minutes' walk from the centre but far enough away not to be disturbed by the Icelandic nightlife which has kept us awake till 4am at weekends before now. Yes,as other reviewers have pointed out, the bathroom (a wet room, as are many in Reykjavik) was very small with a tiny basin, but all functioned well and after we had showered we put a used hand towel on the floor so there was no problem with wet feet when cleaning our teeth or using the toilet. There was not much storage in our room (a single wardrobe, one cupboard without shelving and two bedside tables between us) but this was ample for a short stay. The room was spacious with 2 chairs and a large table/desk. The carpet was not luxurious but cream curtains and bedding gave the room a pleasant feel. The breakfast was fine, somethhing for everyone, not the best we have had in Reykjavik but not the worst either, and the food was constantly being replenished. Tea and coffee etc are available all day. It was sometimes hard to find a table for breakfast, and the reception/waiting area was small but the staff were friendly and helpful and we would be very happy to stay in this hotel again. The trip up the church tower opposite is well worth a visit, with views over the city. From the church we also took superb pictures of the view towards the city centre with the Northern Lights swirling above - quite a vantage point. I have scored only 4 out of 5 for location simply because our room was in the annex across the road, which in bad weather means you have to get all togged up to go for breakfast! Nevertheless I would still highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
4  Thank CHRISSIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all I want to start off by saying I cannot believe this is only a 2 star! Yes it is very basic in some areas but its location and staff make up for it.
Staff are there 24/7 and always very helpful. Can recommend places to eat, visit etc and book all the local excursions for you. Very well organised.
It really is great value for what you pay!

Very clean & warm hotel.

People who have said on here about the drains smelling need to be re educated. This is a volcanic island and that (yes ok slightly unpleasant) smell you find when running hot water is the smell of the sulphur.
It is located right outside the beautiful cathedral and is in walking distance from all main areas of the town.
Will definitely be staying here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Warm welcome. We checked in early. We had room on top floor which had restricted headroom-not a big problem. Room was warm and clean-but basic. I borrowed a hairdryer for the stay-no charge. Free coffee/tea/juice etc. available in breakfast room which is off reception-ground floor-24 hours. No kettle in room. Free Wifi dodgy upstairs, but perfect off reception. We even took sandwiches (as packed lunch) from breakfast for free 2 days. Hotel are happy to book excursions for guests. Very friendly staff. No lift! Location is perfect as church spire is fabulous landmark- it can be seen for miles... Ten minute walk from downtown. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I think rooms downstairs could possibly be noisy due to reception 24 hours, but there is no lift ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ciaoyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I am currently at the Leifur Eriksson as i write this review and It is fantastic. Really made the holiday. It is a very attractive, clean building and located right outside the Cathedral.

Staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Helped me book the golden circle tour.
All the bad reviews on here I personally dont understand. You get what you pay for.
Dont expect a cooked breakfast etc it is a help yourself service; Hot & cold drinks, Cereal and toast, that sort of thing.
As long as you aren't expecting ridiculously high standards you cannot fault this hotel.

On our first day we sat waiting for a bus to pick us up for the Wale watching we had booked and paid for, the bus never arrived (this being booked through our holiday provider Cresta NOT the hotel). The lady at the desk was very helpful immediatley getting on the phone to the right people and it had in fact not been confirmed the other end (again this was all down to Cresta) she managed to re book it for us for a different day, and also confirmed all our other excurstions had been properly booked. If it wasnt for her it would of been a real blow to the holiday, not the best of starts for day 1 and your first excurstion doesn't even have you on there list.

I will definitely be staying here again! Highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank posiher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel was very good for its 2 stars, the room was clean warm and comfortable and shower room was also clean. All the staff were helpful and friendly, breakfast was good and plenty of it, the complimentary 24 hour beverages machine was fantastic. The only blot for us was that there were a crowd of Canadian women in the hotel that quite forgot that there were other guests, they were very noisy loud and rude and used the down stairs dining area as their own front room even to coming down to breakfast in their pyjamas, If we wanted to use this hotel again we would check that there were no parties in as they really spoilt our time there as it did many other guests. We did complain to reception but it still continued. A shame as otherwise it was good

Room Tip: We were in 208, it was a little noisey from the road and down stairs so would recommend asking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lydesvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We used the Icelandair website (http://www.icelandair.co.uk/#tours) to book our flights from Heathrow, the shuttle bus, the Leifur Eiriksson and a selection of trips. Very informative and easy because all the timings are co-ordinated!
The hotel is basic but comfortable and clean. Room was small, as is usual throughout Scandinavia, and was furnished very simply. We stayed 4 nights, not long enough for the basic facilities to become irritating. There is a reception area with cafe tables on the ground level where free hot drinks are available all day; all the guests say hello and chat, so it was a friendly stay. Staff are all fluent in English, and helpful.
Like all of Reykjavik the hot water is from thermal sources, so the shower water smells slightly sulpherous, but thankfully this odour doesn't cling to the skin. It's hot 24/7.
Views of the cathedral from our window were great, and walking back there from anywhere in the city was a breeze with such a prominent visual cue.
Eating out wasn't a problem as restaurants and bars are just 5 minute's walk down the hill.
For a few night's stay Hotel Leifur Eriksson is adequate, if simple and no-frills is acceptable to you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HamptonYZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,020 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 55 in Reykjavik
982 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 55 in Reykjavik
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Hotel
#40 of 55 in Reykjavik
841 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,383 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#12 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavoroustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $169 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik opposite the famous Hallgrims Church. Our hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik and there is free parking opposite our hotel . We offer 47 rooms all with private bathroom facilities and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing