We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AVOID”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Avoid at all costs.
The pictures on the site are false, the rooms seem much larger than they are.
The bathroom is miniscule. You can not take a shower without soaking the entire place.
NO ELEVATORS.
There was no internet in the room.
The towels were not available, we had to ask the next day.
ie without any comfort.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Erika346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    583
    235
    70
    37
See reviews for
160
670
141
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is in a great location next to the Hallgrimskirkja church. It's a short walk (about 10 mins) from the center of the city. As the church is easy to spot from a distance, it's easy to find the hotel if you're walking back from other parts of city. I was in a back room in the annex across the street and didn't have any problems with noise at night. I expect that if you stay in a hotel a few blocks away right in the center near the restaurants it probably gets noisy on Friday and Saturday nights, so was glad I hadn't done that.

The hotel personnel are great. They helped me with organizing activities and my airport transfer. There's lots of brochures about activities at the hotel reception.

My room was small. Good wifi even in the annex over the road. My room access card (also the card for the front door of the annex) was a bit quirky - usually had to swipe many times to get the door open.

Good breakfast. The staff even told me to have the free breakfast when I arrived early in the morning of my first day there.

Overall assessment: Highly recommended. I intend to stay here again when I come back to Iceland. If you want large, luxurious rooms, this is not the place for you. But if you want a good location, a clean, functional room with reliable wifi, and value input on what to do in Iceland and help arranging things, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I cannot speak too highly of our experience at this hotel. On my first day in Iceland I was taken ill and admitted to hospital for a couple of days. Not only was I ill but as I was travelling with my 83 year old father I was concerned about him being alone in a strange country. I needn't have worried. Tors, the hotel owner, stepped in without being asked he arranged transport, supported my father, arranged early flights home, changed our rooms to accommodate my illness, arranged for a wheelchair at the airport and rang our taxi driver at 5am on the way to the airport to make sure we were ok and to wish us well. We couldn't have asked for a more friendly supportive and genuinely caring man to help us in our time of need. I cannot thank him enough.

Room Tip: Rooms are basic but you have everything you need. The view at the front is spectacular but the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in room 404 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had the pleasure to meet the owner who seemed very concerned to ensure that his guests enjoy their stay.
The location of the hotel is superb being right next to the big church which is ideal for establishing your location from most parts of Reykjavik.
The main shopping area, restaurants and the harbour are only a short walk from the hotel.
We found the staff at the hotel to be friendly, bright and welcoming. Our room was cleaned to a very high standard, the beds comfortable and linen and towels of a high quality.
The included breakfast is excellent with plenty of variety including ham, eggs, cheese, toast, jam, a waffle making machine and a selection of cereals. Attentive staff regularly clear the tables and replenish the food and drink.
We particularly liked the 24 hour coffee/hot chocolate machine available free of charge in the reception area.
On the second and third floors there are seating areas where one can sit to read or use the wi-fi which is a nice touch.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel. Room 404 on the top floor is great if you don't mind stairs. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotel-report4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
536 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

You can always find your way back to this hotel by looking for the big tall church. Our first room looked directly toward the church - a spectacular view.

The rooms are small but very clean. The church and pedestrian noise woke us up numerous times. The church bell rings every 15 minutes during the day; thankfully they turn it off at night. For some reason, we had noisy people on the Friday night talking loudly as they walked past the hotel at all hours. Apparently drunken people fancy doing erratic things in front of the church or the Leif Erickson statue. Combined with traffic noise, sleeping was difficult. The rooms facing the back are a little quieter, but you don't have the spectacular view. The rooms facing the back have a small balcony.

There is no fan or AC in the room, and our room was very hot on arrival. If you arrive jet lagged, don't expect to take a nap (due to noise and heat). The WiFi was free and fast. There was no hair dryer in the room. There is no elevator, and lots of stairs. The hotel is not well marked; it would be impossible to find if it weren't across from the church.

We had to get a 06:30 shuttle to the airport, and the front desk assured us that the "night" person would allow us to have some breakfast items. There ended up being 6 people waiting for the shuttle, and the only "breakfast" we were allowed was coffee and tea.

If you went to this hotel with something to generate white noise, and you went during the cooler season -- it would be an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the church for the view; facing the back for more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel came with our package through Icelandair holidays. The best thing about this hotel is its location - right by the church at the top of the hill so you can not miss it as where ever you go in the city centre you can see the church!
The hotel is right in the centre of the town which is great too.
The rooms are very small but we just used it as a base - had breakfast and left for excursions and then came back from them and went to sleep - what more do you need?
The double bed was actually 2 singles and 2 single duvets but we didn't mind this. The room has a TV which has CNN in english but that is about it. It does not have any hair dyer or tea making facilites but there is free tea and coffee 24/7 downstairs in the breakfast part and you can have chocomilk! I love chocomilk!
The shower room is very small and the floor will get wet but it worked well and hot water was constant.
The breakfast is from 7.30 till 9.30 I think. It's a buffet with toast, cheese, eggs, cereal and waffles - make your own they are yummy!
The staff are very friendly and will answer all weird and wonderful questions. It was always manned as well.
If booking from Icelandair you will use Reykjavik excursions for anything booked through them (they are cheap and good). You will get a coach from the airport to a depot and then a small minibus will take you to the hotel as the roads are very small. When you notice the other hotels people are staying at you will notice how central and nice this one is!

Room Tip: Get one that faces the church! Our number was 308
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ljsWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel is in the center of town, walking distance to everything. Good size room, spacious with fresh roses on the table for our arrival. Direct view of the church from our window. Bathroom was tiny and the only way to shower was to take over the entire bathroom. Small even for European standards. The owner was very nice and helped us with our rental car, arranging transportation to the airport and picking up our packets before the Reykjavik marathon. Breakfast was fine, standard for Iceland. Don't forget your ear plugs, weekend nights got pretty loud and bars stay open to the early morning. Overall good hotel especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touristnotatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing