We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good For The Price Bracket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Good For The Price Bracket”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Please bear in mind this is one of the cheaper hotels in central Reykjavik - if you're expecting the Hilton and check in here you will be disappointed.

Also, the Leifur Eiriksson deserves a full 5 stars for its staff. The Average rating came about because of the cons listed below.


I stayed for a week in a single room.

The pros:
- the staff are very friendly, were always helpful and knowledgeable
- they speak excellent English (much better than the few words of Icelandic I'd crammed the days before leaving) and several other languages to varying standards (I ran into a couple of French ladies who, staying at another hotel, had been having a hard time arranging things and getting information)
- they are happy to help you with bookings and local information, including phoning the bus companies to find out about fares and departures
- breakfast was already in the room rate, and included cereals, yoghurt, fruit, bread/toast and preserves, cold meats, cheese, pickled herring, waffles, tea, coffee and juice
- free tea and coffee is available to guests throughout the day in the cafe/bar area just past reception
- the rooms were cleaned daily and although the decor was basic and looking a little worn the whole place was clean
- the location was really great - 5 minutes' walk from Laugavedur, the main shopping street, 15 minutes' walk from the Old Town, where all the great restaurants are, and just around the corner from several of the best-rated cafes in town. The rest of Reykjavik and beyond are easily accessible from nearby bus stops and terminals
- there were plenty of power points available for charging phones, camera batteries etc.

The neutrals:
- the room size was on the small side, with enough space for a single bed, desk, wardrobe and bedside table with a bit of floor space remaining for luggage. When you're only sleeping there what does it matter if it's "compact"?
- the bathroom was tiny - really it was a wet room with a toilet and handwash basin jammed in

The cons:
- my room was in a separate building to reception and the main hotel, across the street
- the front door to this buliding has a dodgy lock. When I first arrived I thought the electronic key hadn't programmed, but the staff on reception knew about it and said it took a few attempts. Throughout my stay sometimes it worked first time, others it took up to eight swipes to get in. Not appreciated when it's -8 degrees out! The internal locks were also a little tricky - but not as bad as the front door. Why they don't fix it if it's a known problem I can't tell.
- there is no kettle in the room. To get the cup of coffee required to make me functional in the mornings I had to get up, showered, dressed and across the street. This might not seem a problem to most people but is important to me :)

Room Tip: If you can, get into the main building unless you want to have to get up, ready for the day and over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixelfixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    590
    238
    70
    37
See reviews for
162
677
144
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I would use it here to give this hotel a 3 and half star rating.

The hotel is excellently located and the staff were marvellous. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.

The free wi-fi was fast and reliable and if you were lucky enough to get a front facing room, (we weren't) then the views of the Cathedral are lovely. These are all plus points.

There are a number of down points though. There is no lift, which means problems for anyone on the upper floors with carrying bags etc. Persons with restricted movement should bear this in mind.

The biggest downside however is the bathroom. It is very very very small, and trying to take a shower would test the patience of a contortionist even if they were very tiny. The shower is situated in the corner of the bathroom, right next to the WC with a small curtain surrounding it. I am of average size and found the experience very uncomfortable. It was like trying to shower inside a bin liner. The curtain was constantly adhering to my body and the WC itself got wet. The "wet room" appearance was something of a facade as it took the floor a long, long time to dry out and this led to either wet feet, wet carpets in the room proper, or a dirty floor if you attempted to use the bathroom during the day when you returned with shoes on.

The free drinks in the lobby area are a great idea, or it would be if they were of a quality worth drinking. This has been mentioned many times on here. They are truly vile.

In summary, this is a charming hotel with great staff and a prime location but it's shortfalls in the bathroom area really let it down and that's why I would love to give it a three and a half star review. I feel a three star is under-voting a bit, but for the money I really couldn't give it a four.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraftyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great location opposite the Cathedral, we were fortunate to have a room facing it with a good view, and Reykjavik is small enough to walk anywhere. Great price on a hotel booking site, reasonable breakfast. Dining room a bit small but like hotels the world over if you turn up for breakfast 15 minutes before they finish serving it will be busy!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper take earplugs as the road outside is block paved and there is a bit of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andygord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Can only agree with what the other comments reflect it's cheap, cheerful and central. The staff could not do enough, sorted out plugs, hair dryers, trips for us... few wee things wrong with room.. could not apologise enough and fixed before we even mentioned it! Yep you can clean your teeth and shower.. but that's just what you get for the price.. and it can be handy!!

Room Tip: We were in the annex.. it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Su5ieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed here 17-20 March and I must say it was excellent vallue for money. It is basic but comfortable, the staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was filling and good value. The free 24 hour beverages were very welcome especially a warm drink after a day out in the cold!! It is in an excellent location, minutes walk to most sights in the city. I would not hesitate to book here again for a return visit to Iceland!

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building and whilst the rooms with the best view are on the top floor the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_L84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We travelled to Reykjavik with Icelandair and booked the hotel as part of the package. I picked it primarily because breakfast was included.

I'd read reviews on trip advisor and knew what I was and wasn't going to get. One of the reviews I read recommended asking for a room with a view of the Hallgrímskirkja. I emailed the hotel direct before we departed and they confirmed that we'd have a room with a view of the church. The room was in the house over the road, which just meant we had to cross the road to the main hotel for the complimentary drinks and breakfast which wasn't a problem for us. If you like a cup of tea, or need a caffeine shot before you can function in the morning - take a travel kettle - we did.

We had a perfect view of the church and were very lucky to be there at the start of the festival of light and had a room-side (and dry!)view of the light show projected onto the church building and also got to hear the organ being played.

The location was fantastic - shops & restaurants within easy walking distance.
The staff were all friendly and helpful - making suggestions, reservations and answering numerous about the all important Northern Lights trip - was it on, or was it off.

The room was basic, but clean & warm (even with the radiators turned off). The en-suite was small, but adequate. The water was hot, but my husband said it was like showering with an egg sandwich! A smell you quickly got used too though.
There was plenty of choice at breakfast - I'd recommend having a go of the waffle maker. Depending on the time you went for breakfast though it could be a bit hectic.

We plan to make a return trip to Reykjavik at some point in the future and I'd have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 313 has an excellent view of the Hallgrímskirkja.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This place is in an ideal location form which you can explore Reykjavik. The views over the cathedral and the night sky area particularly nice.

The room I had personally was on the top floor, so had a sloped ceiling. This meant it wasn't huge but did have a window above the bed to get great views of the sky and city itself

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The lobby area is a particularly nice idea: there's free hot drink, water and juice 24hours a day along with areas to sit and plan out your day etc.

Equally the breakfast was nice and was served until a reasonable time, about 10am I think.

Overall I'd definitely recommend this Hotel if you're looking for somewhere to stay in Reykjavik

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,180 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
504 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
912 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing