We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

I thought that this hotel was great. From the moment we walked in, the staff was friendly and helpful with anything we needed or asked of them. The location was great as well, being only a few minutes walk from downtown, yet far enough away from the bars and clubs that you could get a good nights sleep. In a city that's very expensive, this was a great value and I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Reykjavik.

  • Liked — Helpful front desk
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AFBarmyArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    576
    234
    70
    37
See reviews for
157
665
139
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

Although you couldn't get a better location if you tried, Hotel Leifur Eiriksson definitely could do with some improvements. We only found one member of staff to be friendly and helpful and unfortunately he was only on reception for a couple of days of our stay. The breakfast staff couldn't clear your table fast enough and it definitely wasn't service with a smile. You get a basic continental buffet breakfast. Bread (toaster available), cheese, 3 cold meats, cereals and melon. A bit of variety would have been nice - chopping up a couple of boiled eggs and throwing them on a plate doesn't really count!! The free hot drinks and juice were a great bonus. The rooms were tiny and not somewhere you would want to spend any time other than sleeping. The beds were practically child sized and if you go expecting a double bed you will just have 2 singles pushed together. On the whole it was a clean hotel but very basic. There isn't even a lift so I had to drag my case up to the fourth floor! Whatever you do - don't use the rip off car hire advertised on reception. You would be better using the Tourist information office recommended Budget Car Hire. Warning! You cannot get full car insurance for your hire car. Even with SCDW you will still pay a minimum of £250 for any damage. And Icelands roads are terrible for gravel and stone chips!!

  • Liked — The location couldn't be bettered!
  • Disliked — Tiny child sized beds and miserable staff!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

I was so disappointed when I arrived here after previously staying in a lovely hotel by the blue lagoon. I had booked a double room in Leifur Eiriksson after viewing their website. Our room was nothing like they showcased! We had the worst double room up in the attic (up 3 flights of stairs, with my suitcase while pregnant!) and the room wasn’t big enough to swing a cat. I and my partner hit our heads on the slanted ceiling several times.

The toilet/shower was tiny and constantly smelled (I realise there is a smell or sulphur in Iceland, but the room smelt before we even turned on any taps!) The staff was unfriendly, one in particular; whenever I approached I was greeted with a look as if to say 'what the hell do you want now'.

This is more like a hostel than a hotel. Having said that, the location is great, but that’s about it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality of room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MAZC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2007

Chose this hotel for a solo visit to Iceland because of the price and location. The single room was quite spartan, but clean, ditto the bathroom. It reminded me of quality student accommodation - not a place to conduct business from, but a reasonably-priced base. The glorious cathedral is just outside the door, and the centre of Rekjavik is within a 5 minute walk downhill.

Breakfast was adequate, and the property very clean throughout.

If I go to Rekjavik again, however, I would probably spend a little more, and stay somewhere with slightly larger rooms - but that might be hard to find and still be so close to everything.

For value and location, this hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaviesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

If you're going to stay in Reykjavik, you probably already know it's going to be very expensive. We chose this hotel for its location (near the bus terminal) and because it was relatively inexpensive compared to the others we looked at. The staff wasn't remarkably friendly or helpful but we weren't expecting it.

The breakfast is nothing special but it's free and saves you from having to spend money on a meal. The bathrooms could definitely be bigger and it would be nice to have the shower separated from the rest of the bathroom. I have to say though, everything was very clean.

Overall, it's nothing special and you shouldn't be spending much time
in the city anyway!

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — room size, bathrooms, price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

As others have noted, the best thing about this hotel is the friendly staff. Next best is the location. But, for the cost, this place needs much improvement. My husband and I arrived to find that we'd been given a room in the hotel annex, across the street -- a battered building with worn carpeting. Our room had all the ambiance of a college dormitory. Bathroom was tiny and the shower flooded the floor making the tiles hazardous. Worst of all was the noise outside-- our windows were directly on the street and as kids left the nearby nightclubs we listened to loud voices, arguments, even screaming from 2 a.m until 5 a.m. Never again....

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Disliked — room size, bathroom, noise
Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank frances42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODSTOCK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2007

Driving into Reykjavik you see the highest steeple in Iceland and there is Hotel Leifur Eriksson right across the street. Hard to lose your hotel. Rooms were clean and bathrooms a little small. Best was the free coffee and juice machine in the lobby.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing