We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Camping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Ranked #18 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Reykjavik City Hostel was a great place to wrap-up our ring road camping trip. We spend two nights parked in our campervan at the hostel mid-september. We arrived the day the camping facilities closed, so we were able to use the showers, kitchens, etc inside the main hostel. During summer months, they have a whole area for campers that include dining areas, kitchens and showers/restrooms and a camping office - all self contained outside of the main building.

It was a great location and I was a bit nervous about camping in the middle of the city - it did feel like you had plenty of open space and nature around you. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff are super friendly and professional, the common areas were clean and lot of great information available.

I feel like the atmosphere can totally change depending on who is staying there, when we first arrived it was an oasis of calming music, dim lighting and casual conversations between people in common areas. The second day a large school (?) group arrived and it was teenage chaos throughout the whole hostel. I guess it just depends on the day!

Overall, it was great for what we needed and perfect price and location!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LifeOfTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 313 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Arrived with 40 girls and 5 staff for one night. Rooms all ready but some had no bedding. Also a couple of rooms were cold as the radiator didn't seem to want to warm up. Evening meal, always lasagne, was fine and breakfast was plentiful. Good packed lunches for our next day.

Room Tip: Ok if you want somewhere basic. They can accommodate groups on same corridors so that makes it good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKKBmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear SKKBmouth ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear about the heating issues with the radiators but thank you for pointing that out, it has been fixed.

We would love to welcome you back to Iceland.

On Behalf of Reykjavik City hostel

Johann S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here with a friend at the beginning of our 2-week trip around Iceland. The hostel has many kitchens, laundry facilities, computers, wifi access, a huge common area, snack bar and games. All of the rooms I saw were modern and clean. The staff were friendly and we had no problems with booking and check-in. Our 4-bed dorm had a private washroom and shower, two bunk beds and a big window. We decided to stay here despite its out-of-the-way location because the price was good and the bus that goes downtown stops across the street from the hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KareAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear KareAnne

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your nice words about our facilities, staff and the hostel in general.

As you say we are not located right in the center but we believe we have other things that make up for that, such as: facilities, free parking, proximity to Iceland´s largest swimming pool and last but not least, lower price.

We would love to welcome you back to Iceland.

On Behalf of Reykjavik City hostel

Johann David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hostel is a little outside of downtown Reykjavik, but not necessarily out of the way and still very easy to get to. The front desk reception was very helpful with luggage storage, calling cabs, and letting us know some of the better places to eat and drink in the city. They do offer a breakfast everyday, although it's a bit pricey and you're probably better off picking up food at a market and keeping it in the kitchen. We stayed in a four person dorm, which did the trick, although bring your own bedding if you're able or else you'll have to pay for some.

Only downsides were the other loud younger guests staying in the same wing who could be heard running up and down the halls yelling and knocking on doors. Kids these days! Also, they don't have a freezer, which was annoying as I just wanted some ice in my drink. When I asked someone in the main kitchen if they had any, I was advised to "wait until Winter."

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllroyForPrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

• Dear AllroyForPrez

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for pointing out the positives of our location. Even though we are a 30 min walk from downtown we are easily reachable by frequent bus service and an excellent choice for those renting a car with our ample parking space.

Our reception staff are very pleased that you mentioned their service effort and helpfulness. We are sorry about the noise generated by our younger guests, we try to act on such instances as soon as we hear of them.

I will take in to account your idea about having a freezer in the guest kitchens. Come visit us in the winter and I promise we will have plenty of ice!

We hope to welcome you again!

On behalf of Reykjavik City Hostel Staff

Johann S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A bit far from downtown core but nice rooms with space and comfy beds (have to rent sheets however). Common rooms are loaded with free games (chess, ping pong, foosball, etc.) and the hostel provides daily activities. Breakfast was good but a bit expensive (everything in Iceland is expensive though).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Anne D

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your kind words towards our Hostel. Thank you for pointing out the amenities we have available, the guests have thoroughly enjoyed our new Foosball table. We aim to create a social atmosphere so that our guests can mingle and share their travel experiences. That is what sets us apart from the standard hotel.

We hope to welcome you again!

On behalf of Reykjavik City Hostel Staff

Johann S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hostel has everything you need for a good stay in Reykjavik. On top of this the helpful and friendly staff made my stay extra pleasant. They will also help you choose and book a excursion for you.

I also put my little tent up at the Campsite next door which was easily stored at the hostel basement for a small amount (about 7 euros) when I was away on trek.

Well equiped kitchens for use and eco alternatives at breakfast.

I recommend a walk by the seaside into town center (20-25 minutes) or take a nice swim at the bathhouse next door. There is also a local store, ice crem shop and a burger stand not far from hostel.


The Airport buses and most of the excursion companies/buses picks you up right outside the hostel door.

Room Tip: They have girls room only if you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Lissm

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind review. It is always joyful for our staff to know when they are having a positive impact on our guests travel experience.

We hope to welcome you again!

On behalf of Reykjavik City Hostel Staff
Johann S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

the hostel was okay. it was quite clean and the staff was nice. It was missing atmosphere though. the rooms were really small and the halls very impersonal. the breakfast was really good, but still quite expensive.

Room Tip: i wouldn't want to stay there for more than one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vega000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Vega000

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always looking at ways to improve and we thank you for your comments. We have rooms in all shapes and sizes, from ample spaced twin rooms or 4 person dorms to less spacious six bedded dorms which are our cheapest option. It is true that our halls need a bit more personal touch and we will work on improving that in the near future. We believe our breakfast is favorably priced compared to other providers of accommodation in Reykjavik and at our Hostel breakfast is optional. So if you want to save money you can easily cook your own in one of our three guest kitchens.

We hope to welcome you again!

On behalf of Reykjavik City Hostel Staff
Johann S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#14 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,935 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hlemmur Square
#8 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#2 of 110 in Reykjavik
495 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#5 of 110 in Reykjavik
426 reviews
Oddsson Hostel
#15 of 110 in Reykjavik
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik City HI Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik City HI Hostel

Address: Sundlaugavegur 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $41 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik City HI Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and comfortable HI Hostel in the green heart of the city, by Laugardalur Park, next door to the city largest geothermal outdoor&indoor pool, spa, gym and the national sports stadiums. Known for being The Original Hostel in Reykjavik and the very first ECO hostel in Iceland. The excellent facilities include 3 fully equipped guest kitchens, comfy lounge areas, an outdoor patio and a Café. Laundry facilities on the site. Complimentary High speed WI-FI in all rooms and lounges. Free computer access. Free luggage storage on day off arrival and departure. Event calendar includes: movie nights, board games and there is a ping pong table and a climbing wall. Bike and car rental. Plentiful breakfast buffet includes homemade, organic & local options. A wide selection of great rooms! *Budget 6 bedded dorm rooms with shared facilities. Access to lockers. Linen included. *Dorms/Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities. Lockers included (bring own lock or buy at reception). Linen included. Towels to rent. *Comfortable twin/double rooms with en suite facilities (including linen and towels). Reception / Tour Desk / Security : Open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the city inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All the most exciting tours and excursions are bookable with complimentary pickup / drop off. FREE Parking in front. Walking to center is around 30 min by the coastline. Public bus no. 14 stops in front of the Hostel every 15-30 minutes, taking you to and from BSI bus central station and the city centre in 10 min. Airport transportation connects with every flight, and will drop you off at the hostel upon request. **Reykjavik City Hostel has been Eco Certified - Nordic Swan since 2004. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough environmental policy. The Hostel is part of the largest network of hostels worldwide and offering over 30 locations cross Iceland. Established in 1930, HI-Iceland are not-for-profit association. This means any surplus we generate is put back into the Hostel network and also contributes to our environmental and social development programme. We don't rely on any funding. Our income comes from member subscriptions and the sales of accommodation and travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Reykjavik City HI Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik City Hotel
Reykjavik City Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing