We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern, well-kept hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Ranked #18 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in a 4-bed dorm in April 2013. We were the only two people in our dorm during the stay, so it was like having a private room. It was very cold outside, but the room heated up nicely and kept us comfortable.

We cooked our evening meal in the kitchen on two occasions and it was very well equipped with all the utensils we needed and there was plenty of space in there.

The hostel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with booking excursions and airport bus pick-ups.

The hostel is a bit outside the centre but we walked every time we wanted to go there and back. It took us about 30 minutes to get to the near side of the centre and 45 minutes to get to the harbour. The swimming baths next door to the hostel are great.

The only issue in the room was that the shower didn't drain very quickly so that the bathroom floor was covered with a couple of centimeters of water for about half an hour after each shower.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. And thanks for your kind words towards our hard working staff. We are a hostel that is made by travelers for travelers and all of our staff members have a passion for travelling and know how it is to be on the other side of the counter.

Thank you as well for reporting the clogged shower drain, we have fixed that. It is vital for us to get input from our customers to know what we can do better.

Thank you for your stay and we would love to welcome you back.

On Behalf of Reykjavik City hostel

Johann David S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 303 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hostel was cheap and provided a large room for our family of four with our own bathroom for about £50 per night so great value. However, the place is full of school children which is fine but they do take over the breakfast area and lounge areas in the evening. The kitchens were not particularly well stocked. Only one teaspoon in the kitchen we used but tons of cups, plates and other cutlery and good sharp knives which other hostels sometimes don't provide. The beds were comfortable, the pillows awful so take your own. Each bunk has its own light and a locker which can be used with your own paclock to store valuables.

Good things - place was clean, modern, great location if you have your own car. Pool next door is brilliant and view out over the park is beautiful. Wifi access is pretty good everywhere but was intermittent and we guessed this was perhaps due to volume of traffic or another guest downloading films.

Bad things - breakfast really not worth the cost. Get your own bread and yoghurt and avoid the expense of this cold and scarce breakfast. The coffee ran out completely and staff were not bothered about keeping things replenished. The staff were generally not as welcoming as at the other hostels we stayed in apart from the night guy who was really helpful when our hire car broke down as we needed to drive to the airport at 5am! Not good start to our journey home.

Firedoors to each room are heavy and our 9 year old daughter couldn't open them by herself and got stuck in the room which was a bit scary for her. Luckily we were on the ground floor so we were able to get her to pass the key out to us to unlock her.

So all in all the hostel is value for money but bring your own pillow, swimming costume for pool next door and breakfast and you can't go far wrong.

Oh and bring a padlock for your valuables. On our last day we returned back to the room and found the door open when we know we had been careful to close it each time we left it. Maybe the cleaner had not closed it properly but although nothing had gone it was worrying that our room had been open all day.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank TheFabFour18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that your stay was satisfactory considering all matters. We are the only hostel in the city with three guest kitchens and we try to make them as well stocked as possible, thank you for pointing out the lack of tea spoons - we will take care of that immediately. In general, we thank you for your assessment it will help us improve, we have already started changing out the pillows in all rooms so there is no need to bring your own in the future.

On Behalf of Reykjavik City hostel

Johann David S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was in a 4 bed dorm. good room, simple but nice. i also had the breakfast but while it was nice it wasn't anything fancy and was a cold breakfast. Could get bread and ham and cheese myself from shop and save so much money! Not worth the cost for the breakfast. lot's of school groups and children! but not too bad. a good 20-40 minute walk to city center or a bus for 350KR each way! good kitchen facilities but no oven so limited on what you can cook. safe hostel with 24 hour access to those staying. in my 12 night's my room was not cleaned once, including the bathroom en suite. Staff came emptied bin and filled up toilet tissues most day's. had to ask for toilet tissue to be refilled 4 times during my stay due to them not checking every day. with many girls in and out floor was getting muddy and dirty. I asked a few times or a brush to sweep the floor. (I was happy to do this myself) bathroom was not cleaned at all during my stay. with several girls it was getting dirty. No bleach ect to clean with. I would have been happy to clean if provided with things to do it with. Water would not work. Other girl in my room asked at reception about the cleaning of the bathroom and was told it should be cleaned by their staff daily. as I sad MOST day's staff came emptied bin and filled toilet tissue. but not everyday and noting more. other than this communal area's of hostel were mostly clean and nice. would consider going again. Not bad really. Geothermal swimming pool next door very cheap made the location better and was good for the evening's!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johann1971, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Jo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about City Hostel. We are sad to hear that the cleaning of your room was not up to your or our quality standards. We take pride in keeping our Hostel and rooms spotlessly clean but unfortunately that was not the case while you were staying.
We have examined the matter and made sure it will not happen again. Thank you for your frank assessment, it helps us improve for our future guests.

We would love to welcome you again in Iceland.

On behalf of City Hostel

Johann David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had an en -suite room and it was perfectly fine. Clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The only drawback is the distance from the city if you do not have a car. Also, staff did not seem to be fully aware of the shuttle bus system to the central bus station. We were told a certain time and place but it did not arrive so we, and another guest, had to share a cab to catch our buses. We discovered later, staff could have rung and booked us on the shuttle bus which would have been free as we had a bus pass. However, the staff were friendly and this is a good hostel to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mull07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johann1971, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Mull,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is true that we are not located in the city center but in a green quiet area about 30 min walk from downtown. It is true that the flybus offers pick up and drop off from our hostel free . We have a form in the reception which guest can sign up for the bus. I am sorry if our staff did not inform you about this since they all should be very much aware of it. Sometimes even the most helpful people forget things!

Thank you for your stay and we would love to welcome you back. Furthermore, thank you for your review; it helps us improve in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our second stay in this Hostel. We enjoyed our stay in the summer of 2009 and now during our winter trip we spend again a night in this hostel before visiting the South and East of Iceland.

It is a nice place to stay, well equipped kitchens, clean bathrooms and toilets, warm rooms. Free Internet access and a decent breakfast. Very nice and helpful staff.
It quiet and safe.

It is a 20/30 minute walk to the city centre. You can walk along the water, if it is bright you will enjoy the view!

I would definitely recommed to visit the thermal swimming pool next door (summer and winter). It is warm, several hot tubs, clean and inexpensive. It is relaxing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Suzanne,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and agree with you that a trip to the huge swimming pool is a must.

We would love to welcome you back to Iceland.

On Behalf of Reykjavik City Hostel

Johann David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my first time traveling/staying at a hostel alone. Thomas really went above and beyond during my stay from booking tours to helping me order pizza. It really made my trip even better! The hostel was clean and quiet! A very nice place! Though not located in exact city center, there's still a lot in walking distance. Even a 24hr convenience store less than 5 minutes away, and restaurants! The walk to the city is about a 35 minute beautiful walk! Overall my stay there was great - thanks again Thomas!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Lindsay,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay and especially glad that our hard working staff get the mention they deserve.

We would love to welcome you back to Iceland.

On Behalf of Reykjavik City hostel

Johann David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A very nice hostel, great for large groups. People are catered for well and everything is well explained. A good base to set out from very good road links nearby. Food served is good and the WiFi is an added bonus

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,138 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#2 of 110 in Reykjavik
483 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#5 of 110 in Reykjavik
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bus Hostel
#12 of 110 in Reykjavik
356 reviews
Oddsson Hostel
#14 of 110 in Reykjavik
118 reviews
Miõborg
Kex Hostel
Kex Hostel
#4 of 110 in Reykjavik
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik City HI Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik City HI Hostel

Address: Sundlaugavegur 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $36 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik City HI Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and comfortable HI Hostel in the green heart of the city, by Laugardalur Park, next door to the city largest geothermal outdoor&indoor pool, spa, gym and the national sports stadiums. Known for being The Original Hostel in Reykjavik and the very first ECO hostel in Iceland. The excellent facilities include 3 fully equipped guest kitchens, comfy lounge areas, an outdoor patio and a Café. Laundry facilities on the site. Complimentary High speed WI-FI in all rooms and lounges. Free computer access. Free luggage storage on day off arrival and departure. Event calendar includes: movie nights, board games and there is a ping pong table and a climbing wall. Bike and car rental. Plentiful breakfast buffet includes homemade, organic & local options. A wide selection of great rooms! *Budget 6 bedded dorm rooms with shared facilities. Access to lockers. Linen included. *Dorms/Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities. Lockers included (bring own lock or buy at reception). Linen included. Towels to rent. *Comfortable twin/double rooms with en suite facilities (including linen and towels). Reception / Tour Desk / Security : Open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the city inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All the most exciting tours and excursions are bookable with complimentary pickup / drop off. FREE Parking in front. Walking to center is around 30 min by the coastline. Public bus no. 14 stops in front of the Hostel every 15-30 minutes, taking you to and from BSI bus central station and the city centre in 10 min. Airport transportation connects with every flight, and will drop you off at the hostel upon request. **Reykjavik City Hostel has been Eco Certified - Nordic Swan since 2004. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough environmental policy. The Hostel is part of the largest network of hostels worldwide and offering over 30 locations cross Iceland. Established in 1930, HI-Iceland are not-for-profit association. This means any surplus we generate is put back into the Hostel network and also contributes to our environmental and social development programme. We don't rely on any funding. Our income comes from member subscriptions and the sales of accommodation and travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Reykjavik City HI Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik City Hotel
Reykjavik City Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing