We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostel for Passing Through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Reykjavik City Hostel
Ranked #19 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hostel for Passing Through”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hostel is pretty comfortable with free WiFi and parking but is situated a few km walk outside of the city centre. I'd recommend it for somewhere to sleep when passing through but not for an extended stay as it lacks atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    126
    45
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
59
68
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My girlfriend & I stayed here in the dormitory for one night at the beginning and end of our trip since our flight left out of Keflavik. We stayed in July 2012. It was an okay place and seemed to promote a good community atmosphere. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly who spoke excellent English. They can help you with booking tours, bus schedules, calling taxis, organizing activities and general information. The bus to/from the airport will stop directly in front of this hostel upon request too. I actually suggest actually using them to book this service as we found out they had a cheaper option than the tickets we had purchased online. They are very well connected with the tourist services, so make sure to take advantage of it.

My only real complaint about this place is the price which was a bit expensive for a dormitory. However, this is typical of Iceland and is practically unavoidable in the country. I would advise those who wish to save some money to bring a tent and stay at the campgrounds. If you are going to stay in a room, be sure to bring your own sleeping bag and towel to avoid additional charges of towels and/or linens. The only other cheaper option is to sleep at the bus station, BSI, which we saw one couple do. Iceland is pretty safe. So if your desperate to save every penny, that might be the way to go.

They do have a membership option which can be useful as they have a hostel chain throughout the world. This membership can save you some money if you plan at staying at their hostels over the next year. Read carefully through their website as there is good information there. Emailing them never hurts either if you have further questions, they are well organized. Everything I read on the website was accurate when I got there. Website: www.hihostels.com.

Room Tip: Check out their website and read it carefully. There is useful information and photos there. Email t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekker R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Ideal base for an Iceland holiday, especially if you don't have your own transport. Airport bus drops you at the campsite and a free bus every morning at 7.15am takes you to the main bus station where most people take an ownward trip.
24 hour supermarket convenience store five minutes walk away as well as delicious bakery (normal opening hours).
Free botanical gardens with pretty cafe next to the site and swimming pool with warm geothermal waters is two minutes walk away.
Showers and kitchen can get a bit crowded around peak times.
Staff very hepful - they recognised us on our return which felt very welcoming.
You can take a scenic coastal walk of about 30 mins into town or there is a bus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wernerschweizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience!The hostel is a bit far from the city centre(approx. 25 mins walking) but the view along the shore is worth it! The staff was really helpful and friendly(all of them) and offered themselves to organise tours and so on, the rooms were very clean and neat and the swimming pool facilities just 2 minutes away is excellent!If you want to get to know and interact with the locals swimming pools are the best way to do it in Iceland!Don't skip it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroMoura886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a private room with a private bathroom. For the money you are paying it's a very good value. The room was really spacious, VERY clean, and had a big bathroom. The only problem is that the hostel is located about 2miles from downtown/marina area where Everything is at. We had swimming competitions in the pool next door so it wasn't that bad in the morning but in the afternoons/evenings we would have to take a bus into downtown and then a taxi to come back. Taxis are VERY expensive in Iceland so those 2 miles back to the hostel would be like $12-$13. So, if you take the bus into downtown and then a taxi on the way back it's not that bad if you split the taxi between 2-3 people. Bicycle and car rentals are not worth it either since they are ridiculously VERY expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJvaldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights while swimming in a swim meet at the pool a few hundred meters away. Staff is very helpful, great at arranging tours and transportation. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm room that had its own shower facility.

You can walk to central Reykjavik, its a 20-30 minute walk, the #14 bus stops across the street going to and down the block coming from downtown. Bus fare is 350 ISK or you can buy a 3 day pass for about 2000 ISK at the hostel (they also have a 1 day pass, I don't know the price)

Very clean, common areas very spacious. A park out the back door also featured camping. There were BBQ grills on the back deck. Free WiFi worked in the common areas but not in my room, computers also available for rent. Good laundry with 2 washers and 2 dryers.

Breakfast at 1250 ISK was slightly above average.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
298 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Great hostel with the best price just outside downtown Reykjavik. The walk along the shore was really nice so it didn't seem far anyways. There's also a bus stop just outside if you're looking for quick travel.
The airport shuttle dropped us off directly at this hostel. Also all excursions we went on picked us up directly at the hostel and the service provided by the hostel for helping to arrange this packages was AMAZING.
Also it's right beside a public thermal pool (with slides and super hot hottubs) which were very cheap (even for Iceland standards). There's also a 24hour convenience store a short walking distance away that head a great selection of foods (fresh and frozen) that we were able to store in the communal kitchen.
They have a large kitchen/cooking area with a shared fridge so I can't comment on their breakfast. The wifi was great in shared areas but it was not stable in the actual bedrooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
1.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
2.1 mi away
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hlemmur Square
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oddsson Hostel
Oddsson Hostel
#17 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galaxy Pod Hostel
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bus Hostel
Bus Hostel
#11 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik City Hostel

Property: Reykjavik City Hostel
Address: Sundlaugavegur 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik City Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and comfortable HI Hostel in the green heart of the city, by Laugardalur Park, next door to the city largest geothermal outdoor&indoor pool, spa, gym and the national sports stadiums. Known for being The Original Hostel in Reykjavik and the very first ECO hostel in Iceland. The excellent facilities include 3 fully equipped guest kitchens, comfy lounge areas, an outdoor patio and a Café. Laundry facilities on the site. Complimentary High speed WI-FI in all rooms and lounges. Free computer access. Free luggage storage on day off arrival and departure. Event calendar includes: movie nights, board games and there is a ping pong table and a climbing wall. Bike and car rental. Plentiful breakfast buffet includes homemade, organic & local options. A wide selection of great rooms! *Budget 6 bedded dorm rooms with shared facilities. Access to lockers. Sleeping bags allowed or linen & towels to be rented upon arrival. *Dorms/Family rooms for up to 6 persons with en suite facilities. Lockers included (bring own lock or buy at reception). Linen included. Towels to rent. *Comfortable twin/double rooms with en suite facilities (including linen and towels). Reception / Tour Desk / Security : Open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the city inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All the most exciting tours and excursionsare bookable with complimentary pickup / drop off. FREE Parking in front. Walking to center is around 30 min by the coastline. Public bus no. 14 stops in front of the Hostel every 15-30 minutes, taking you to and from BSI bus central station and the city centre in 10 min. Airport transportation connects with every flight, and will drop you off at the hostel upon request. **Reykjavik City Hostel has been Eco Certified - Nordic Swan since 2004. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough environmental policy. The Hostel is part of the largest network of hostels worldwide and offering over 30 locations cross Iceland. Established in 1930, HI-Iceland are not-for-profit association. This means any surplus we generate is put back into the Hostel network and also contributes to our environmental and social development programme. We don't rely on any funding. Our income comes from member subscriptions and the sales of accommodation and travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Reykjavik City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing