We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the cheapest bed in Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Ranked #17 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 6, 2008

The hostel is located on the west side of the city but you can reach downtown easily by bus or a longish walk. There are city baths ans a couple of grocery stores nearby. I stayed at the end of May 2007 for 5 nights when I was visiting Iceland. The hostel is nice and clean. They have coed and separate rooms for 10, 6, 4, and private rooms. The breakfast is awesome but you have to pay for it separately. The guys at the front desk were really helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thirdromechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 299 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2008

great hostel - very clean, safe, spacious and next to the swimming pool and jacuzzis.

great value

have stayed there about 10 times and will always go there if in reykjavik.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zipzo-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

This was my second time to Reykjavik. The first time I stayed in the Borg (which I think is an excellent hotel), this time in the City Hostel.

The hostel was very clean and quite comfortable. I stayed in a private 2 bed room which was nice. The beds had foam mattresses and were regular single size (rather small). Heating worked well and there was plenty of hot water although it smells like Sulphur.

The location is rather annoying and definitely not walking distance into the centre and the nightlife.

Overall I would stay here again if I was looking to save money again and focus on activities instead of a luxurious stay. It was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

I stayed one night at the hostel in Sept/07. The hostel facilities were very good and the staff quite helpful.

The dorm rooms have four beds and private facilities. The small number of beds in each room minimizes disruptions during the night.

As other reviewers have noted, the hostel is quite a distance from the city core. I had one of the city tourist cards and that included bus transportation. I found the buses reasonably convenient for getting to/from the hostel and for getting around the city.

The tourist card also includes access to the city's thermal pools, so I had an enjoyable soak in the pool next to the hostel after a long day in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H2oson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We've stayed at this hostel twice (in 2005 and in 2001) and weren't disappointed on either occasion.

I should point out that, while it's one of the best hostels we've stayed in, it's also the most expensive! I believe we paid about £55 a night in 2005 for a double room with private shower. However you have to remember this is Iceland where a pint of beer costs £8!!

The rooms are spotlessly clean and contain bunk beds and one other bed (which is probably between the size of a double and single bed). The shower was fantastic - once you've got used to the smell of sulphur! (the hot water's heated geothermaly!)

The kitchen is generally clean and contains a fridge, microwave, hob and toasted-sandwich maker - no oven. If you're on a budget, cooking your own food here is one of the ways to ensure that you don't break the bank!! One tip - the local 7-11 Shop is convenient, but the Bonus shop in town is much cheaper!

The hostel is a pleasant 20-30 minutes walk from the centre of Reykjavik - along the bay with views of the mountains. If you're in a rush though, there is a bus passes the front door and isn't too expensive.

The swimming pool next door is worth a visit - you can't beat swimming in the heated water during the cold Icelandic nights!

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Emyr_Elen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

we stayed here for 1 night at the start and 1 night at the end of our trip, it was clean and comfortable, we had a room to ourselves and en suite shower , facilities for cooking were good and the ambiance was pleasant,. the staff were helpful and friendly.
not particularly central 30 minute walk to the center but it was nice to walk along the sea front.
if i returned to Reykjarvic i would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank everestbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

People, everybody. This hostel is the best hostel I ever staid. My first impression of the hostel was oke. The check in procedure at the reception desk was smouthfully and the guy called Jason was superfriendly.

My room was nice. I was sleeping in a 4-bedded room with private facilities. The onliest thing that I was missing is lockers or some place were you can have your own place to put something on there.

I did several tours like whalewatching and horsebackriding. I also slept in other hostels around Iceland as well that I all booked at the reception desk of the hostel.

The staff is superfriendly and like I said before. Jason is a sweetheart, he is helping you with everything and is mostly of the time around. Thank you Jason for my nice stay!

And of course all the other staffmembers were nice. Always smiling altough it is busy, or at midnight. Or in the morning at the wonderfull breakfast.

Everybody this was my best hostel I ever slept!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travelmonkey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,743 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 107 in Reykjavik
1,126 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#2 of 107 in Reykjavik
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oddsson Hostel
#14 of 107 in Reykjavik
111 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#5 of 107 in Reykjavik
406 reviews
Bus Hostel
#12 of 107 in Reykjavik
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik City HI Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik City HI Hostel

Address: Sundlaugavegur 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $37 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik City HI Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and comfortable HI Hostel in the green heart of the city, by Laugardalur Park, next door to the city largest geothermal outdoor&indoor pool, spa, gym and the national sports stadiums. Known for being The Original Hostel in Reykjavik and the very first ECO hostel in Iceland. The excellent facilities include 3 fully equipped guest kitchens, comfy lounge areas, an outdoor patio and a Café. Laundry facilities on the site. Complimentary High speed WI-FI in all rooms and lounges. Free computer access. Free luggage storage on day off arrival and departure. Event calendar includes: movie nights, board games and there is a ping pong table and a climbing wall. Bike and car rental. Plentiful breakfast buffet includes homemade, organic & local options. A wide selection of great rooms! *Budget 6 bedded dorm rooms with shared facilities. Access to lockers. Linen included. *Dorms/Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities. Lockers included (bring own lock or buy at reception). Linen included. Towels to rent. *Comfortable twin/double rooms with en suite facilities (including linen and towels). Reception / Tour Desk / Security : Open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the city inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All the most exciting tours and excursions are bookable with complimentary pickup / drop off. FREE Parking in front. Walking to center is around 30 min by the coastline. Public bus no. 14 stops in front of the Hostel every 15-30 minutes, taking you to and from BSI bus central station and the city centre in 10 min. Airport transportation connects with every flight, and will drop you off at the hostel upon request. **Reykjavik City Hostel has been Eco Certified - Nordic Swan since 2004. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough environmental policy. The Hostel is part of the largest network of hostels worldwide and offering over 30 locations cross Iceland. Established in 1930, HI-Iceland are not-for-profit association. This means any surplus we generate is put back into the Hostel network and also contributes to our environmental and social development programme. We don't rely on any funding. Our income comes from member subscriptions and the sales of accommodation and travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Reykjavik City HI Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik City Hotel
Reykjavik City Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing