We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hostel in a quiet neighborhood.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Reykjavik City Hostel
Ranked #19 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great hostel in a quiet neighborhood.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great hostel! it is a little bit far from the city center, but the walk is very pleasant! The best part was being close to the thermal pools which are cheap (like 2 dollars) and full of local people, giving a glimpse in the icelandic non touristy life. Also, the rate per night of this hostel is the cheapest i have paid in the nordic countries

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malai85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    126
    45
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
59
68
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed here during a class trip.

Nice hostel, with a convinience store (24h) in walking distance. Downtown is a short taxi trip (2000 ISK).

They served an okay breakfast, had free wifi, a nice livingroom. And clean dorms.

Their location is a little drawback, but taxi is not expensive. You can experience Reykjavik during the day, and come back to get some sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErlendMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in double room

+ Good hostel, has big living room with tv & free wifi available
+ Airport bus stops in front

- Walking to the city, is quite a walk 4 km
- Bus stop is opposite the hostel, but bus stops only once per hour

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdrummen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
260 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

First things first. Do NOT stay at Reykjavik City Hostel under the impression that the name means you're in the middle of the city. Because it is not. It is in a very pleasant neightborhood on the outskirts of the city. You can easily get right to the city center with a brisk walk, or the bus, which is right in front of the hostel. But if your plan in coming to Reykjavik is to enjoy the nightlife, which I have heard doesn't even start to heat up until midnight, this is not the ideal location.
However -this is an amazing hostel and it is adjacent to one of the great aquatic centers of the world, Laugardalslaug. They have a huge variety of geothermally heated pools and hot tubs. It is a blissful experience immersing in the warm to steamingly hot, exquisitely clean waters.
Also, the hostel is super clean, well laid out, helpful and pretty. They have nicely equipped kitchens, and a terrific patio area in back for eating outdoors when the weather permits. They serve a breakfast in the morning, which people speak highly of, but we stuck to our homemade oatmeal for budgetary reasons. There are several pleasant rooms for lounging, vending machines, a laundry; just about anything you need. We took a private room and it was spacious with a good bed, ensuite bathroom and curtains that almost - but not completely - hid the fact that we were there on the summer solstice and it stayed bright all night long.
The downsides are few - it is quite expensive for a hostel, but then, almost everything in Iceland gave us sticker-shock, and we did opt for a private room. I was a little dismayed aout how their luggage storage was handled - we were counting on secure luggage storage as we had a late flight out and wanted to spend the day roaming the city and swimming at Laugardalslaug. They have a room in the basement for setting your luggage. The room is locked, but they just hand you the key and send you down there, so anyone can go through your stuff. Maybe Icelanders are just that honorable, but not everyone staying there is an Icelander...!
Some hostels are just more conducive to meeting your fellow travelers than others, and this one was great that way. We had lively conversations with people from all over while cooking and eating in the kitchens. Reykjavik City Hostel is full of the joy of world travel! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Private rooms are expensive but very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamelCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed here in December of 2008, with my sister and a friend. It's a great place to stay. Clean and comfortable, easy to get to places from there. There was a lot of snow while we were there so we did use public transit, which was convenient as the stop was across the road. We even booked the blue lagoon tour at the hostel's front desk which picked us up right outside the hostel. There is also a very convenient transfer from the airport which drops off and picks up right outside the hostel. Grocery store was just up the road and was easy enough for us to walk to in snow and -7'C weather. All in all, was a good experience. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little_Travel_Flea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Liked staying here. Buses and tour operaters pickup/dropoff easily. Staff is friendl & helpful. Breakfast is good. Place is maintained and clean. Best part is the city pool next door.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uprsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Arrived by Airport transfer bus, to be dropped off just outside the Hostel and Campsite entrance. We actually stayed in a cabin on the campsite adjacent to the hostel so I'll only comment on this and the facilities we used at the hostel.

Both the campsite and hostel facilities for washing, cleaning and cooking were well equipped. The cooking area for the campsite had pots, pans and cooking/hotplates provided at no cost. Also, in the spirit and ethos of recycling that is found in Iceland, guests are encouraged to leave behind any spare food stuff for other guests to make use of. No day went by without fresh pickings to be found. Before going local shopping check out the baskets -sugar coffee tea bags etc you'll never finish in one visit so see if someone has left you some!

Externally to the kitchen were a good array of sinks, barbecue area and seating to sit down and eat, chat and meet with other visitors. Toilets and shower facilities were clean, functional and effective.

All the staff on site were exceptionally helpful at all times making calls to external companies to get the right information when needed (not often as they normally had all the information at their fingertips.) Trips that we booked were often at less cost than we had managed to find prior to the trip so, no push to particualr companies at inflated prices!

Both the hostel and the campsite have free WiFi access if you have smartphone or laptop. The hostel itself has 4 screens which you can buy online time starting at 300Isk (£1.50ish) for half hour.

The area where the site is itself about twenty mins walk into town. Theres one local min mart about 1/4 mile walk from the camp (no shop just vending machines on site) The local "Big Yellow" buses run regularly and if you're spending the day in Reykjavik itself a ride all day ticket is available for 700 Isk (£3.70ish). Be warned though, the last bus out of town (depending on where you are in town will leave between 10.10 and 10.30 p.m. and then it's a taxi after that about 1800 Isk (£9 - £10) for a ten minute ride!.

All in all, theres nothing missing from the site, they've covered all the information and facilities you'll need and I'd highly recommend a stay here.

p.s. Car hire CheapJeep Car Rental, Skulagata 30, Reykjavik, 101, Iceland pick up from 8.00am and drop off until 10.00 p.m good value relaible cars

Room Tip: Just ask what avaialble whe you arrive, it;s possible to be switched wityh no or little up costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimmiecham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
1.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
2.1 mi away
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hlemmur Square
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oddsson Hostel
Oddsson Hostel
#17 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galaxy Pod Hostel
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bus Hostel
Bus Hostel
#11 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik City Hostel

Property: Reykjavik City Hostel
Address: Sundlaugavegur 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik City Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and comfortable HI Hostel in the green heart of the city, by Laugardalur Park, next door to the city largest geothermal outdoor&indoor pool, spa, gym and the national sports stadiums. Known for being The Original Hostel in Reykjavik and the very first ECO hostel in Iceland. The excellent facilities include 3 fully equipped guest kitchens, comfy lounge areas, an outdoor patio and a Café. Laundry facilities on the site. Complimentary High speed WI-FI in all rooms and lounges. Free computer access. Free luggage storage on day off arrival and departure. Event calendar includes: movie nights, board games and there is a ping pong table and a climbing wall. Bike and car rental. Plentiful breakfast buffet includes homemade, organic & local options. A wide selection of great rooms! *Budget 6 bedded dorm rooms with shared facilities. Access to lockers. Sleeping bags allowed or linen & towels to be rented upon arrival. *Dorms/Family rooms for up to 6 persons with en suite facilities. Lockers included (bring own lock or buy at reception). Linen included. Towels to rent. *Comfortable twin/double rooms with en suite facilities (including linen and towels). Reception / Tour Desk / Security : Open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the city inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All the most exciting tours and excursionsare bookable with complimentary pickup / drop off. FREE Parking in front. Walking to center is around 30 min by the coastline. Public bus no. 14 stops in front of the Hostel every 15-30 minutes, taking you to and from BSI bus central station and the city centre in 10 min. Airport transportation connects with every flight, and will drop you off at the hostel upon request. **Reykjavik City Hostel has been Eco Certified - Nordic Swan since 2004. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough environmental policy. The Hostel is part of the largest network of hostels worldwide and offering over 30 locations cross Iceland. Established in 1930, HI-Iceland are not-for-profit association. This means any surplus we generate is put back into the Hostel network and also contributes to our environmental and social development programme. We don't rely on any funding. Our income comes from member subscriptions and the sales of accommodation and travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Reykjavik City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing