We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One step above a hostel”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #49 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One step above a hostel”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Close to downtown.
Each room has its own bathroom.
Nice basic breakfast included.
Depended on who was at the front desk as to how we were treated.
Had to request towel change, made our own beds.
We will choose someplace else on our next visit.

Room Tip: If you need quiet choose a back room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie1489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    89
    110
    58
    54
See reviews for
31
118
79
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I booked a double room with private bathroom many months before my journey (they wanted all the money at the moment of the online booking)...when i arrived at hotel desk at 15 pm Miss Katrin said to me my room was occupied for an error in the booking..so she sent me in another undefined place without any satisfying answers to my right questions but being totally ineducated and rude she said if i wasnt available to accept this i could delete my booking and sleep in another place(sure...my booking wasnt refundable!)..i had to leave the other location in the early morning and wait (again!) for my room.When at the end i had my room i asked 3 times to change my bedsheets so dirty full of hairs and stains..they said they did but they never changed...i was so disgusted i slept on the cover using my clothes to cover the bed surface...the bathroom a nightmare...little and old without windows and air systems...it has been really the worse place where i slept in my whole life...and the breakfast poor and bad with the tables unclean after other guests sitted before than you,i cleaned my table alone to sit and have a bad breakfast....dont go there...it's much better to sleep on the road!I wish place like these will be deleted from the online booking service websites!Metropolitan hotel in Reykjavik deserves to be closed with ppl work there inside and the key to open it just fired,burned!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Upon arriving in the early evening at the hotel, the receptionist could not have been less interested in us, and more or less threw us the keys, and then informed us that the lift didn't work. Not the best first impression!

The room was small and very basic and the sheets on the bed were full of holes. The bathroom was sufficient and at least had good water pressure and hot water.

Breakfast was very basic.

Location was fine and an easy walk around town.

Really not the best place we stayed in Iceland, but it was pretty reasonably priced....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hb133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed there for a week. Great location, really close to city centre. Reception staff is really nice and helpful. Breakfast is very basic but tasty. Room was clean. Small bathroom with weird shower and no ventilaton but wasn't a huge issue. Generally hotel does the job if you are there to visit Iceland. Will stay there again if come back one day. Just one issue: constantly banging main door. Difficult to sleep in the morning because of noise.......

Room Tip: Ask for room from the court yard side as it's the other way from main entrance to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarolPawel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel itself is nothing fancy, but the beds are comfortable enough and it is clean. Siggi, who is downstairs most nights, is excellent and particularly helpful.

The only problem I have with the hotel is this: breakfast is generally included, however, it runs from 8-10, and only cereal is available before that. Most tour companies will pick you up at 8 or even 7:30, particularly for the longer tours. Luckily, there is a corner shop if you turn right out of the hotel, and turn left at the first junction. There,you can get fruit, basic cold meats and bread if you prefer that sort of start to your day.

Location-wise, you will have no complaints. The Metropolitan is just about 5 minutes' walk away from the famous Bæjarins Beztu Pylsur hotdog stand, and a couple more minutes' walk from the new Harpa building. (When you are on your way from the airport to the hotel, ask whoever is driving you to point out the hot dog stand, so you can find your way back to it from the hotel.) The Sun voyager statue is about 10 minutes' walk away from the Harpa Building, so a few of the photo op spots are nearby. Hallgrímskirkja Church is also not very far away.

One of the major pluses of this hotel is that because it is quite central, many of the tour buses begin picking up passengers here, which means you get your choice of seats on the bus. We went just before the start of the high season, so I'm not sure how this will work out when the tourist traffic increases.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanneDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDAHO FALLS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spartan, but very clean. Easy parking right in front of hotel. Location is within walking distance of all downtown sights. Simple, but good breakfast included. Check on the church, but don't feel obligated to buy elevator ticket (No one checks you!) Dine at Cafe Loki for Icelandic dishes at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Rent a car at airport, way cheaper that shuttles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaPole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice good value budget hotel. Clean and well decorated, warm, comfy beds and friendly staff. Good position close to centre and harbour and parking. Breakfast is coffee/tea, juice, cereal, toast, cheese, cold meats, cucumber/tomato in a light pleasant civilised dining room. A bit like having breakfast athome. Good bathroom/enthusiastic shower. Party was 66 year old dad and 28 year old son.

Iceland has a reputation for being expensive - but the Icelanders seem fair and pleasant in their outlook and dealings and do not seem to be wanting to nickel and dime travellers.

Just be happy to have any room and make the best of it. It will not be raining in. If you want a balcony - try Mallorca.

Room Tip: Probably all good rooms. Plenty of exercise during the day and beer and wine in the evening with goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#31 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: Ranargata 4A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel City)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel lies on a quiet street, just a 2-minute walk from Ingolfstorg Square (city center). It offers free in-room Wi-Fi and functional rooms close to Reykjavik’s shopping, restaurants and cultural attractions.A TV, work desk and radio can be found in each guest room. All have a private bathroom with either a shower or bath.Every morning Metropolitan serves a continental breakfast. Staff will gladly recommend area restaurants for other meals.The popular Kolaportid Flea Market is a 5-minute walk from the hotel. The harbour, where whale safaris depart regularly, is located 400 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing