We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I'd recommend a deluxe room if you have luggage - we did and had a comfortable stay for very good value. I'm not sure what some people expect for breakfast when you pay 20 quid per night but cereals, toast & breads, cheese/meat/salad/eggs, juice, tea & coffee are more than sufficient for me. Staff were consistently helpful. My only complaint is that the wireless internet frequently droppped out, but that's pretty minor in the scheme of things. All tours pick you up, so being a little bit out of the centre doesn't really matter. The no 12 bus goes from out the front.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou25London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,589 - 1,595 of 2,137 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2009

Hotel Cabin was a great place to stay. I spent two nights there in August whilst in Reykjavik. The hotel has a nice feel to it - it is a bright, fresh and pleasant place to stay. It is a smart hotel, with perfectly acceptable rooms - they arent anything special (what are you looking for in a hotel?), but they are comfortable, a fair size and easily worth the price.

The location is alright - it is a fair walk from the city centre (about 15-30mins) but the scenery is breathtaking when you take a walk along the seafront, looking out at the ocean as well as the hills.

The breakfast is rather nice - its nothing amazing but there is quite a lot of variety and it certainly fills one up well for a busy time sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilbow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We ended up staying at Hotel Cabin after getting 'upgraded' from another hotel due to overbooking. Cabin is a bit of a walk from the main down-town centre, sights and attractions of Reykjavik and therefore not ideally located for the casual, car-free, weekend visitor.

Overall Hotel Cabin is a perfectly functional but uninspiring place to stay. The main complaint I would have is that judging from what we got given the rooms are extremely small. Maybe that's where the 'Cabin' name comes from. Two small single beds with a 75cm gap between them and a tiny ensuite shower room.

If this was an 'upgrade' then I'd hate to think what the place we originally booked must have been like.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relaxed_Traveller_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

very clean and cozy hotel. We paied $45 per night and it is totally worthy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TartTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

The hotel is a bit out of town. About 10Euro with a taxi. The hotel is ok, but the service in the reseption could been better. The worst thing about the hotel is the brekfast. It is very bad. We had it included in the price but we choose to eat outside after the first day!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjetil_Almvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The hotel itself was lovely with a reasonably spacious room and good bathroom facilities. It is out of the city centre but is about a 20 min walk away from the central area - can have a nice scenic walk along the bay. The tour companies come to the hotel for pick up - definitely a must! Breakfast was standard with tea/coffee/juice, generic cornflakes, toast, jams, cheese, ham, cucumber, tomatoes and sometimes some fruit! A reasonably priced hotel - had a very good stay here.

Stayed: September 2009
Thank DipaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Okay so the room isn't exactly six foot long, but this is not a hotel for people who are claustrophobic. The bathroom reminds me of a space pods from star trek. Our room had an ok view where we could see the water and the mountains. However, if you are a light sleeper the curtains do not block out all the sunlight. Service was ok, but the front desk missed two of my wake up calls. The hotel is a value, but listen to the reviews! The rooms are small! Not Holiday Inn small, walk in closet small! Positives are the location, close to the water and the thermal pools and on two bus routes.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigfoot410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
550 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
393 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 54 in Reykjavik
361 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
306 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $112 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing