We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost a central hotel at a payable rate in Reykjavik”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Hotel is recommendable, average standard hotel. For a three star hotel a decent enviroment, though the pricing is a bit high scale (from my perspective, frequently travel throughout Europe and US.).

- internet at charge at lobby only!
+ unfriendly staff - or a bit stiff. In an extreme situation after an accident I have to say, they really tried their best and made up for most wrong doings before (we stayed three times one night).
- std. contintenal breakfast that did not convince. (eg. poor syriup orange juice)
o std. rooms are very small. you barely can turn around in them, also the furniture are bit outdated/old, though the bed is comfortable.
* deluxe rooms newly refurbished also with a good bed. and breakfast room is on the 7th floor with a nice view over the harbour.
- no hair drier
o distcance to town about 20 minute walk
+ free parking
+ refrigarator

Surroundings:
Hotel is a bit out of down town - with a reasonable disctance of walking - you are in 15 minutes to 20 down town.
Across the street is a gas station, subway and a fruit juice store. opening hours are until 2230h at night (regular opening hours).
close by 5 minute walk is a 24 hour store.

Hotel has no room service.

The Restaurant serves the complimentary breakfast. Breakfast is plain with bread, cheese, ham, hardboiled eggs, juice (argh, more syrup :( ), water, instant coffee.. so nothing special.
In the evening you can get a dinner buffett at 1400 Krones. Standard is similar to the breakfast with one hot dish. I would rather go somewehere is, though it is eatable and price is okay.

Service. I have speak out a compliment, as they are short on staff, there was one guy at the recepetion (farily new in the hotel), he put very much effort in helping us to get a wheel chair as one of our group members had an accident. Big thanks to him. Though he is not the average attitude staff there. Most others seemed a bit "frustrated" and rarely customer oriented.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,642 - 1,648 of 2,168 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2009

stayed here for 3 nights, when checking in we went to our room a and the room had not been made-up so went down to reception and they gave us another mountain view room this was small but clean as we knew it would be, but then we noticed a strong sulphur smell coming from the bathroom; l knew i would not be able to put up with for the rest of our stay so back at reception l explained this and they gave us another room this was an up grade and and more spacious and it was right at the end of the building and had a good view of mountain and bay. could have done with another pillow they only give you one and its not very full and they only do twin beds. The bathroom was very clean with a shower that was small but had good power. the food is basic and they have a buffet in the evening that is ok, we ate there on our first night as the weather was so bad we could not even even make it down the road lol! we were satisfied overall with the exception on the second night, they have a lot of groups staying there due to the cheapness l suspect and we had some rooms next to us and the noise that was coming from there was not really exceptable, l did end up knocking on there door and telling them to keep quiet which they did for a while then it started again with doors banging and shutting, thankfully i took some ear plugs with me so managed to sleep though a fire alarm; true!

one thing l would strongly recommend would be the golden circle tour it was breath-taking, and our guide was so entertaining there was a snow storm on the way back to our hotel and she told us ghostly tales, and it was fun we loved it! would want to go back but this time when the weather is warmer,though l it was so pretty with all the snow

also go and eat at the harbour if you like seafood the place do's an array of fish kebabs, if you are the adventurous type then try the minke whale they are abit like lamb also you bring your own alcohol as they dont sell it there

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This is a modern hotel, with comfy beds, which is kept very clean with helpful staff.
The breakfast is constantly replenished throughout the serving period of 6 to 10 which doesn't happen in most budget hotels.
The evening buffet is useful to have as an option if you don't feel like going out, it's good value for money.
I can't believe this hotel is only rated as a two star.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a promo. We had a room each which was a blessing as the rooms are tiny and far too small for 2 people, but having our own room made what would have been an unpleasant experience perfectly fine. Staff were efficient and competent, the rooms were clean if spartan, the shower was efficient, and breakfast was OK. No need to book any trips before you get there as the hotels have an arrangement with the relevant company who will pick you up and drop you off at the hotel.

Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
Thank roxanne121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We booked it through hotelclub.com, one double for 34 euro per night!
It was even cheaper than all the youth hostels in Iceland!
What's more, the fare included breakfast buffet!
(There's cereal, ham, cheese, fruit, bread, yogurt, jam, toast, coffee, tea and juice!)
About the room, it was very small but clean; (heard that they provide bigger room but with higher price of course) but since we on budget, it was OK for us.
In brief, price level in Iceland is still high, and stayed in Cabin for 4 nights really saved our money!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aimie0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We got Hotel Cabin through ebookers.com and were very pleased with the choice. It is not close to the city centre or the main bus station. But that is never a problem in Reykjavik as all tour operators pick you up from wherever you are in the city. Hotel Cabin was good for the price. The room that we got was very small but comfortable. The breakfast spread is fabulous and there is 24 hr salad bar. There is Subway right across the street and the promenade is 100 mtrs away. It is about a 20 min walk from the city centre and we never felt unsafe walking to and from the hotel even after dark (which incidently was after 4 pm during October). Definitely a great hotel for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tushar_pai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

stayed here for 4 nights in may,reception very helpfull,stayed in the deluxe room clean decent size clean shower very good,30 mins walk to centre,good gas station over the road,10-11 up the road but staff very brash and rude but i found most icelanders distant,maybe that was just me?

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chop04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
558 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
398 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
318 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,089 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 54 in Reykjavik
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $117 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing