We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
worcester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“good budget hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2009

The hotel does have small rooms, so you need to accept this before you book. The budget rooms have two twin beds and are exactly like a boat cabin! There is a table inbetween the beds with one chair. small wardrobe space and hooks for coats.

TV has sky news and other local channels, bathroom was small but has clean towels daily and shower gel. No hairdryer or coffee making facilities.

Opposite hotel is a garage that has takeaway coffee, subway and snack food. Two minute walk (turn left stay on same road) is a bigger supermarket. Five minute walk (turn right stay on same road) is the outdoor local swimming pool. 15 minute walk into the centre and about a 30 minute walk to Kringlan a big shopping centre, about 45 minute walk to the Perlan.

Breakfast, bread, jam, cheese, ham, tomatoes, boiled eggs, cereal, yoghurt, tea/coffee, juice (all buffet).

Flybus brings you direct to this hotel from airport (without changing like other hotels have to)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    790
    653
    200
    109
See reviews for
231
872
188
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in March on a good deal through Icelandair. When we arrived our room was like a dorm room: very small, two single beds against each wall separated by a bedside unit. The bathroom was equally small and smelt of damp. I complained about this and was moved to a much nicer room (using the lifts past the bar, rather than in entrance hall) which was more 'business like'. It had a decent sized bathroom, with toiletries; double bed, sofa, tv etc - all the things you expect. If we had stayed in the original room we would not have been happy!
Breakfast was a buffet and perfectly adequate. Good little petrol station opposite to stock up on your lunch if you're going out for a day trip. It was about a 15-20minn walk from the centre which was not a problem. Just remember there's only one restaurant here, 10mins away, which is fine - but there's better ones in the centre (Icelandic Fish and Chips).
We did two trips - the second one with f-stop tours and I can't recommend Mike enough - what a fantastic alternative trip of the Golden Circle with just myself and my partner. Just a shame about the weather!
Definitely recommend the Blue Lagoon trip on the way back to the hotel too!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Really fantastic budget hotel. Be clear about your expectations - this is a BUDGET hotel, but one of the best I've ever been in. Room was basic but spotlessly clean with comfortable beds. Tiny bathroom but the shower was steaming hot and very powerful. Room very small and might have felt cramped with 2 occupying it, for one person it was fine. Lots of school trips use this hotel and can be noisy but didn't bother me - lots of walking and visits to the nearby geothermal pool meant I went out like a light every night! If you are planning the kind of trip where you just need a room to sleep, keep your stuff and get a shower, then this fits the bill. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is about 15mins brisk walk from Reyjavik centre, 5 mins from municipal geothermal pool (fantastic and cheap!) and close to seafront.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flisskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Cabin Hotel earlier this year on a promotional package holiday with Icelandair and we had a great experience. We stayed in the standard room and although it is a little small (two beds with a small wardrobe and bedside table - there is space under the beds to fit a small suitcase) this didn't matter as we were constantly out seeing the sights in Iceland. We had a superb view of the sea and distant mountains from our room and the room was always warm and cleaned daily.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and you can book all your excursions there with the staff when you arrive (there is plenty of information on different tour operators and what they do). Our tours to The Blue Lagoon, The Golden Circle (to see Geysir, Pingvellor and Gulfoss Waterfall etc) were excellent (there are toilet breaks too) and we even got to see the northern lights on an evening tour. (If there are any hobby/professional cameramen with you on the northern lights tour stick close to them as they contributed to finding the lights for us!)

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into Reykjavic centre and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from, there is a Subway opposite the hotel and also a petrol station shop. There is also a mini convenience store nearby if you turn left from the hotel entrance towards the city centre about 2 minutes walk away.

The breakfast buffet in the morning is fine (ham, eggs, cereal etc) and you can change euros at the reception. Cabin Hotel was a lovely hotel as a base to stay in overall.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Basic is one thing, but the room was astonishingly small, with ill-fitting bedding, and a window which opened only onto the corridor behind. This allowed for very little sleep due to the shocking debauchery taking place in said corridor all night. These events, and and the permanently bright corridor lighting, which, thanks to meagre curtains and the mysterious invisibility of any staff, led to a truly miserable night. Also, the preceding food in the restaurant gave both inhabitants of our room vicious upset stomachs, compounding our misery. Please stay away if you can.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SealGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Vantaa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed here 6 nights last year. We loved Iceland and Hotel Cabin was a good hotel to stay. Everything was ok. Nothing was incredible but we were very happy to stay there. It was one of the cheapest hotels at that time and we think we made a vice desision to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merikotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed here as part of an Icelandair deal. I had read the reports and decided to upgrade to a superior room. We had a corner room with wonderful views across the bay and mountains. The room was just as in the picture on the web site. The upgrade was worth the money.
My son stayed in a standard room which was just as small as everyone describes, except he did not have a window that looked out to the outside world. His window looked onto a coridoor and this made his room rather noisy as people came backwards & forwards.
The hotel was very busy and there were several school parties staying, they were noisy but luckily not late at night.
Breakfast buffet was plentiful and although busy we did manage to get a table.
We didn't walk into the centre of Reykjavik as the weather was so cold and snowy. It was an easy drive and we found several good places to eat. Having visited Iceland before we found eating out cheaper this time.
There is a small supermarket, 1011, about a block away, out of the hotel and turn left. It is open 24 hours and does good sandwiches for lunches.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#31 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing