We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No issues here - great value”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“No issues here - great value”
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Booked a 3 night trip with Icelandair for just £200 per person, from Manchester UK. It had snowed when we arrived, but unlike in the UK, they seemed to be coping pretty well with it.

The flight was about 2hours 15 mins and transfers took us direct to the hotel. As stated in other reviews, the rooms are smallish, but comfortable, clean and great for the price (You are in one of the most expensive places on Earth here folks)

Our view over the harbour was fantastic, and we had no problems whatsoever with the hotel or its location, which is close to town centre. The buffet breakfast is ample, and for about £9 you get an all you can eat hot / cold buffet in the evening, which was great.

You can organise your trips at the hotel directly and you must do the Golden Circle (about £45pp) This takes you to the main tourist areas and you get a glimpse of the beautiful landscape of this breathtaking country. You see the gulfoss waterfall, Geysir, the national park, geothermal plant and churches.

Some people went on the Northern lights trip and the lights were seen in the far distance. The quality depends a little on luck.

Rejkjavic is a quaint City and can easily be seen on foot, there are advised walks in the brochures in the hotel. It is very expensive but apart from a £6 pint, my shopping was purely of the window type!

On our way home we opted for the Blue lagoon trip prior to flight and enjoyed a fantastic 3/4 hour soak in that amazing place, whilst the temp outside was -7. I would advise anyone to do it this way. All in all a great value trip all in, I have been wanting to go to iceland for years, and its only recently (credit crunch) , that the prices have been this cheap - so go now. Prices in 2007 £550 for same break!!!!!

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Size
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blueboybrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    797
    663
    211
    109
See reviews for
237
882
191
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2009

This hotel is just an average mid-range budget hotel. The rooms are really tiny, however what else can you expect for a 3 days holliday (in a very expensive city) with breakfast included and a three hours trip to see the northern lights?

Among that, the staff in the front desk just do anything you ask! It was a really nice expereince and the food in the restaurant is cheap and fresh!!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2009

Location was awful, the nearest landmark is the petrol station. The hotel itself was cold and the rooms were pokey. The room myself and my friend were assigned too were abysmal. There was no space to move, it fluctuated between the two extremes of stuffy and glacial (rather ironic). Another problem was the food. If you expect to have a nice hot meal after a days exploring then think again, instead you become close friends with the cashier at the local subway. Evening meals conisited simply of a salad bar and curry soup. DO NOT EAT HERE. However, overall i did enjoy my stay due to the beautiful city and surrounding countryside. :)

  • Liked — shower
  • Disliked — where to begin
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank weedmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Cabin for six nights at about $35/night through Orbitz in late January 2009. We found the other reviews to be basically right about the size of the room and the amenities. That said, here a few tips:

1. The breakfast is meager. It's a better bet to try one of the cafes about a block from the hotel.

2. It is not a short walk to the city center. I found that a rental car was a huge asset. The downside is that the cost of the car eats the savings you made by booking a cheap hotel.

3. Let the front desk book your sightseeing tours (Reykjavik Excursions, Iceland Excursions, Ishestar, etc.). They can make all of your arrangements much quicker than you can alone, unless you speak Icelandic.

4. The internet service is spotty, especially when it's windy. It's also 900kr an hour.

5. Bring your own shampoo, conditioner, and towels. Their provisions are questionable or non-existant.

That said, I would stay there again if I could get the same price. The cost totally outweighs the downsides.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gburg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights as part of Icelandair Northern Lights Tour. The rooms are the smallest hotel rooms you are ever likely to stay in with 2 child size beds (for the adults guests) and a tiny bathroom. The shower was so small that if you drop the shampoo bottle there is not enough room to bend down and pick it up while still in the shower cubicle.

We went on a cruise last year and were in the most basic of inside cabins, however the room was still about double or triple the size of the Hotel Cabin bedrooms.

Having said all that, the rooms are clean and cosy and hotel is near the sea. There is also a Subway, smoothie bar and petrol station across the road from the hotel and there is a 24 hour supermarket about 100 metres from the hotel too.

The breakfast is adequate and the staff are helpful so overall the stay was fine. If you are looking for more comfort and plan to spend a bit of relaxation time in your room, stay elsewhere. If you're not too bothered about the room size this hotel is fine.

  • Liked — Sea and Mountain View
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank poppy083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

I stay in lots of hotels with my work so I was initially a bit cautious about booked via Octopus for £77 (total) for a deluxe room for two with breakfast for 3 nights. I can safely say this was excellent value with clean and warm rooms with everything you need.
Not for the type of guest who prefers to stay in the hotel and be pampered, but if all you really want from a hotel is a good night's sleep, private bathroom, no smells, no noises and a sea view, then this is the place for you. I have paid almost double this amount per night on so-called 'top' hotels without breakfast (which is up to £15 per person extra) and I would stay in the Cabin Hotel any time in preference.
Don't pay much attention to those recent guests who were sent elsewhere they weren't really reviewing this hotel in my opinion.
Only downside was some of the guests hung around the front door smoking and the smell wafted in, but that is where the ashtrays are located.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and quiet
  • Disliked — Smokers at front door
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

My first ever hotel review :-) I have travelled around the world a lot and this was the worst ever hotel I have ever stayed at.

I stayed at Hotel Cabin for 3 nights as part of an Icelandair break to Reykjavik. I arrived at the hotel and was informed that due to a coach party the hotel was overbooked. They then informed me that I could not stay at the hotel and they had arranged for myself to stay at a nearby guest house. There was no apology from the reception staff, in fact they implied that I should be thankful to be staying at the guest house. At which point a small party of us were taken to the nearby guest house, it was more like a basic student hostel. I was informed that I would be staying here for two nights. I went to see the manager and again was told that I was lucky to be staying at the `guest house` and as compensation I was given a free meal from the salad bar. On the third night I was allowed to stay in the hotel, after a long wait at reception. The room was adequate and the hotel seemed okay.

I also found out that the guest house charged a lesser amounts for the rooms which actually meant that Hotel Cabin was making a profit out of the experience. I wrote a letter of complaint when I returned to Australia and received no response.

The staff were the rudest staff that I ever come across and seem to have no understanding of customer service. I would suggest that you should avoid the Cabin at all costs unless you want a `Fawlty Towers` experience.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The whole experience.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank montyozMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
529 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 52 in Reykjavik
373 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
830 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,630 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing