We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Woeful Experience”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Woeful Experience”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here recently for 4 nights with my school, and as far as I can see, there is not a single upside. Firstly, the rooms were far too tiny for the number of people they are designed to accomodate, the beds were like bricks, the pillows were flat and lumpy (and there was only 1 per person), the bunk beds creaked, the window easily got condensed and smelt damp, the build quality of everything in the room was awful and the drainage from the shower leaked. The door handle nearly fell off and the smart card system was tempramental. There was only 1 hot meal choice per night, and each night, that tasted cheap and nasty. The cold food (which you shouldn't have to eat after a cold Icelandic day) was also far too bland. The restaurant is too small and far too noisy. The staff were slow to clean tables after people had left and were very rude (refused to refill an empty tray in the buffet when I asked for more bread at breakfast). When I asked for wifi, the man on reception didn't seem to understand what I was saying, and the wifi itself didn't work properly, resulting me in requesting a full refund. The wifi was far too expensive as well, especially considering it didn't work in all rooms as it promised. Hairdryers were not provided in the room any cost 2000 kr to hire. The lift kept stopping on floors I didn't want it to, and when there were staff in the lift, and you wanted to use it, they would simply close the door on you. There is literally no upside to this hotel as far as I can see, and my favourite part of my stay here was leaving. Iceland itself is an extraordinary and amazing country which I would love to return to, but this hotel simply does not belong here, and will definitely stay in another hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Director of Sales at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Matthew W

We are very sorry to hear about your experience here at Hotel Cabin. We will look into these matters and see what went wrong. Regarding the pillows we can offer extra pillows for those who ask. The charge for a hairdryer is a deposit only and is refunded when the hairdryer is returned. We had a few issues with the wifi recently and this has been fixed but of course like all other hotels we might experience some less connection speed when many are using it at the same time.

Again sorry that Hotel Cabin did not live up to your expectations but we are glad that Iceland in general was extraordinary.

Best Regards Geir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    794
    655
    207
    109
See reviews for
234
874
189
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nuneaton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

On 10/4/14, I travelled to Iceland with my school. I will say this now, DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A QUIET, LUXURIOUS HOTEL, as this hotel is very hostel-like.
But to be completely honest, i liked it. I would recommend this hotel for schools/large groups.

Room Tip: Inside rooms have windows opening up into the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markhulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear markhulme

Thank you for your stay and review for our Cabin hotel. Glad you will recommend us for groups and others. Indeed we are a budget hotel (two stars) but fully equipped with breakfast included in our prices and therefore a good choice for everyone who wants to travel on budget. :)

We hope to see you again in hotel Cabin :)

Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

80% of Icelandic people believe in the Hidden People; small elves, dwarves and trolls. In the Hotel Cabin they have built them the perfect hotel.
On the plus points: It is very clean, the staff are uber friendly an helpful. The showers are great and there is non-stop hot water. The hotel is also a 5 minute walk from the most brilliant naturally heated public swimming pool - a must visit! Great bread for the continental breakfast.
The negatives: rooms are small, beds although comfortable are small. This may put all but the 'Hidden People' off staying here??

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Steve

Thank you for your comments and your stay in Cabin hotel. Glad to hear you liked cleanliness, our comfy beds although rooms are small and the area around us such as the swimming pool in Laugardalur. :)
Glad you enjoyed the stories of the elves and the hidden people here in Iceland.
These stories are more and less very interesting on my behalf as well. :)
As an Icelandic kid growing up here we heard all sorts of stories concerning these mysterious things every time we were amazed. I am almost sure that this has something to do with the darkness here 9 months all year around. :)

We hope to see you again in the land of mystery, ice and fire :)

Kind Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here and were amazed at how helpful the staff were from locating my lost jacket at the bus terminal, sorting our trips, to changing our room because of a small problem. All was done with a smile and a most helpful attitude, they couldn't have been nicer. Breakfast was fine with some choice, the rooms we used were spotless, small but perfectly adequate at the price.
The location was great for walks, not too far from the main town if you like a stroll, and there is a lovely walkway along the sea front.
We found everyone in Reykjavik friendly and helpful and enjoyed our northern lights and whale trip immensely.
You do need to upgrade from standard if you want extras like a kettle, hair drier etc. but we just decided to give standard a try and were quite happy, saved our money for trips to the golden circle!

Room Tip: Upgrade if you want more than good clean basics with comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Mary S

Thank you for your stay and your kind review on Cabin hotel.

Glad you liked our staff and our facilities!

We hope to see you again in Iceland :)

Best Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

After reading a lot of reviews on this hotel before my trip - the standard room is too small etc, I emailed them to ask to upgrade from the standard room to deluxe as so many had recommended this.On arrival I explained to the Man on reception about my upgrade and he gave me 3 x room keys to take a look at the different types of room. After looking I stuck with the standard room,503 which is perfect for one person, very warm and cosy, beautiful mountain & sea view, saving me the upgrade cost which I spent on a trip to the Blue Lagoon. I was surprised as some hotels would just take your money for the upgrade. All staff were really helpful and nice.

Room Tip: If you would like a sea/mountain view ask on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KERMAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear KERMAJ

Thank you for your stay and your kind review on hotel Cabin.

Glad you liked the effort from our staff and the room you stayed in.

Hope to see you again in Iceland :)

Best wishes to you and thank you again!

Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel is in a nice position within Reykjavik and not to noisy either. The rooms vary in quality, all the deluxe rooms are very nice and if you have any problems the staff are very obliging with any issues. The normal rooms however do vary in standard for example one room had two beds in a very small space with a bathroom no bigger than 2 meters squared with a loose window onto another corridor which if anyone wanted to could be pulled open from the outside and anyone could climb through it where as another had across the hall had two beds in a large room with a double person shower and a massive shower and a window which went outside (also the television in the first room had 1 icelandic news channel and was an old rubbish thing where as in the second they had 10 British channels and was a flat screen)
If you have one of the electronic swipe cards don't put it near your mobile phone other wise it will get wiped and you will have to visit reception . Other than that the hotel was of very good standard it was clean and the food was what you would have expected from this sort of hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the outside so you can have a breeze and a nice veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear DanE

Thank you for your review and your visit at hotel Cabin.
Glad you liked the location and our staff. Regarding the standard rooms they are in fact small but fully equipped with breakfast included in the budget price, we are a budget hotel and we keep our prices according to that.

Regarding the key system it is true that mobile phones can decrease the usage of it and therefore not good keeping these to items in the same pocket like you have experienced. :)

Glad you liked the food as well as the TV channels.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Really don't why some people are complaining about this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights and would summarise as follows:-

Hotel staff could not do enough for us, from telephone calls to holding our drinks.

Hotel cleanliness better than any UK 4 star

Hotel warm everywhere, exceptionally so in bedroom.

Hotel dining room was clean and the salad bar exactly as described on their web site. Eat as much as you like from a good variety of foods.

We had a room on the top floor - superior room, overlooking the bay and the view was out of this world. Comfortable beds, great shower, toiletries, tea/coffee, kettle and hairdryer were also provided. Towels and tea/coffee were replenished everyday.

Hotel location was superb, with what must be the best view in Reykjavik for a 3 star hotel. We found plenty of places to eat within a 15 minute walk of the hotel - ask Reception. Virtually next door you have a chemist and supermarket. The tours buses we booked picked us up and dropped us off at the door, as did the airport transfer.

Had a great time in this country and we are going back next year. Booking the same room (it is worth paying for the upgrade, as it was £100 for the 3 nights) in the same hotel. Would not want to stay anywhere else in Reykjavik.

Thanks to all the hotel staff for making us so welcome and our stay so easy.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room and print out 'google' maps of the locale so you can easily find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattymutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear mattymutha

Thank you so much for your stay and your kind review on Cabin.
It is amazing reading your wonderful comments about our great staff and I will pass on the message to them! Also about our facilities and everything else :)

We are looking forward welcoming you again next year!

Best Regards Klara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
526 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
371 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#31 of 52 in Reykjavik
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
815 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,613 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing