We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but sweet”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Overall good hotel, great when you considered the cost against just about all other hotels in the area. Yep the rooms are small but unless you go there to spend time in your hotel room it is no drama. The beds were amazing and provided 4 great nights of sleep. Breakfast is good and lobby and bar are modern.

It is what a 2 star + hotel should be.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenixfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cabin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,650 - 1,656 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2008

The Cabin Hotel is clean and has a fabulous view from the 7th floor of the harbour. Our room provided plenty of space for two people. The little fridge was great for water which we purchased at a 24 hour shop down the street. There is a Subway sandwich shop across the street. There are bank machines close by as well.

The breakfast was good and the staff made sure the food was quickly replenished. Best toaster on our whole 6 city trip and lots of peanut butter as well as other tasty goodies. No eggs or sausages.

The Cabin Hotel is a good basic hotel nothing more or less. Internet is available in-room but is pricey almost $20.00. There are no in-room safes. Air conditioning is not needed but some rooms seem quite warm even with the window wide open. The reception staff answer all of your questions and are most helpful. Everyone speaks English in Iceland.

The hotel is about a $10 taxi ride from downtown where the better restaurants are located.

If you have time take the Great Golden Circle tour. Iceland is so beautiful. It is worth seeing the countryside.

If you take the bus from the airport at Keflavik ask the driver if he will be stopping at the Cabin Hotel. They usually stop at the hotels for the passengers.

Also you can take the bus at 10:30 am to go to the Blue Lagoon before leaving to catch your return flight from Keflavik. You purchase your bus tickets and Blue Lagoon ticket at the bus terminal. The bus gets you to the Blue Lagoon about noon. You leave your luggage on the bus and the bus waits for you and leaves at 2:15 pm for the airport. When you enter the Blue Lagoon you can rent a towel. Make sure you bring your bathing suit in a plastic bag so you put it into your suitcase afterward. You are given an electronic bracelet that locks and unlocks your locker in the changing room. Have fun in the Blue Lagoon. It's a great way to finish your stay in Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

There's a reason it was the cheapest hotel in Reyjkavik! For around £80 / $160 per night, it seemed like a bargain in the most expensive city!

Check in was easy. The free breakfast consisted of: sliced tomatoes, cucumbers, cheese, hard boiled eggs, skyr (like yogurt, but not-- and not nearly as nice as the ones across the street at the store), ham, cereal, toast and juice. Not really that bad, but a bit boring after 4 days.

The free wireless internet didn't make it to the hotel room we were in-- I needed to go to the wine bar in the lobby to use it.

The bedroom was TINY! We read reviews saying this already-- just thought it was Americans being dramatic. But these were TINY! For our "double" room, we had two single beds (smaller than normal single beds) with a small desk in the middle.

The location wasn't that bad-- 30 minute walk to downtown, or a bus will take you there-- they run every 30 minutes. We usually just missed the bus so got plenty of exercise! You can walk along the ocean to get there.

It's also a short walk to the Laugardalslaug swimming pool / hot springs-- a cheap alternative to the Blue Lagoon or something to do as well as the Blue Lagoon.

There is a Subway across the street for cheaper dining.

Next time I'll consider finding either a bigger room or a better hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cach9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We booked twin room but for unknown reasons we have got triple room on the 6th floor. The size would make a claustrophobic person to get sick immediately. No place to store luggage, no place to work (but Internet connection was OK). The worst think was an awful smell in the microscopic bathroom. We asked the manager to attend to it, but it was not possible to repair the savage system so in the middle of a night we had to move to another room. The size was the same, but no smell. However during coming 5 days of our stay we had some odor problems in the bathroom of the new room as well. The only good think with the room was its cleanness. Breakfast was served in rather small cafeteria and it was very basic, even according to the Icelandic standards.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank J23xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip around Iceland. We were allocated the 'Superior' rooms, which were comfortable, and a reasonable size. The buffet served in the restaurant was vey good, and reasonably priced by Iceland standards. Probably too far from the city centre for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Montoya99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

For three adults we were given a room (657) that was hardly a standard room for one single person. There was not even space to leave one suitcase on the floor! . and we had booked 4 days!!
This is not transparancy and should not be allowed!

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank Sigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband & I stayed there for 3 nights in Nov. of '07 & we liked it. The rate was incredible. I think like $50, plus tax, for the off-season rate. We drove from the Kaflavik airport, which took about 40 minutes. It was fairly easy to find. The car rental guy gave us a map & drew on it, on how to find the hotel. Basically you drive towards the ocean, but it seems we had to make some turns. We drove on a "freeway," I guess, & through some stop lights. And, it was snowy. The walk seemed to be about 40 minutes into town. I guess 20 when you start coming across restaurants & bars. We never did walk by the ocean, always by the streets. The first night we walked it was really windy! The wind practically knocked you over & it was hard to stand up. There is a gas station right across from the hotel, where you could buy minimal food. I think I remember sandwiches, coffee, etc. And, I believe it had a subway in it. Yes, the room was small. My husband is 6'2, & we mananged. We pushed 2 twin beds together. There was a 3rd bed we used to put our luggage on. It had a closet. No end tables or lamps. The bathroom had a shower & was small. There was a TV on the wall. We had a renovated room, which was nice. Crisp duvets, scandinavian-like room/bathroom. The first night, the heat wasn't working, so we asked to change rooms. We were shown a non-renovated room, which wasn't so nice. We chose to stick w/ our original room. When we came back that night, the heat was working. The breakfast was okay, typical European rolls & stuff. The front desk staff smiled, but to me, like most Europeans, seemed a little frosty or cold.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank wanderlustak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
536 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
526 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,606 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,681 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 54 in Reykjavik
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $113 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing