We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money and really lovely staff!”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Brighton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money and really lovely staff!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a four night stay at the hotel Cabin. We were really not expecting much as we had the hotel booked for us through a third party travel agency, and some of the reviews I had read were not very complimentary. But when we arrived we were both surprised and very happy. Our room was a double deluxe, very clean and warm. It was a good size and the bed was super comfy - something that is very important if you are doing lots of sight seeing. Breakfast was great. More than adequate selection of food.

We did lots of organised sight seeing trips and the hotel staff were so helpful in confirming and managing our bookings. They really couldn't do enough. We had dinner twice at the hotel, nice hot food but don't expect posh fine dining. The menu is largely salad based but there was always a hot option and two lots of soup, as well as a soda machine, water and hot drinks. We paid 1850 ISK which was much cheaper than eating out. It was perfect for when we had done long long day trips and needed something quick and filling.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Reykjavik!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    790
    653
    200
    109
See reviews for
231
872
188
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Booked Iceland for my partner's 30th and my friend stayed here last year so recommended it to me.

Please don't book in here expecting 5* - it's not but what you get is a clean and basic room. We stayed 19th-23rd January and I booked the Northern Lights tour twice, The Golden Circle with Snowmobiling and the Blue Lagoon. After doing all this, I was exhausted and fell into bed every night, sleeping with no problem.

The shower was clean and plenty of hot water. Towels changed daily.

It is a twenty minute walk into town but if you come out of the hotel and turn left and walk for 10 minutes, you come to a lovely hamburger place. If you're pushed for time, there's a Subway and garage over the road. I used the garage to buy a phone charger I'd forgotten and drinks for the room.

We only had the breakfast on one day and this was lovely. Continental but fresh bread, etc.

We had the standard room and there is space under the bed for cases.

We're looking at going back to Iceland and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starmix19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, clean, modern with friendly staff, ideally located for exploring the city which is a comfortable 15-20 minute walk away. We upgraded to a deluxe room which are slightly larger than the standard. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. Service from the staff was excellent, no matter what time of day - even at 4am when we checked out!
The food the restaurant for the evening meal is a limited menu, but well presented and very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was an inexpensive hotel, yes the standard rooms are small so we upgraded to a deluxe room on arriving after reading reviews. The deluxe rooms were on the 6th floor and I couldn't fault it at all. It didn't cost that much to upgrade and I think it was money well spent. Perfectly clean, modern bathroom, tv, fridge, comfortable beds and a good night’s sleep. We stayed here 22-26th Jan 2014 and had a brilliant time. The staff are friendly and helped in any way they could. Breakfast was fine it is a continental breakfast, but plenty of choice and the breads are fantastic. The bar area was comfortably and great for sitting with a drink and chatting about the day, and also ideal for waiting for the organised trips. I would stay here again. There are plenty of restaurants around the area, just a short walk and the trip to the town centre along the front is lovely and around 20 minutes. The views on the front are breathtaking. We loved Iceland, the people are friendly, and everyone spoke English. We didn’t see the Northern Lights our bus trip tip to see them was cancelled twice, due to the weather, which was a shame, TIP book for the first night you are there and if it doesn’t run keep rebooking. Best way to get from Airport to hotel is the Flybus, its picks you up and takes you to the hotel. We flew with WOW, for the first time, and they are brilliant.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have stayed here twice, both times as part of a package. The rooms are very small. In fact, the bedroom is smaller than an average bathroom! It is hard to control the temperature in the room because the radiators seem to get hot even if you set the thermostat to the lowest level. The window only opens a fraction so it is hard to get rid of the hot air. With the window open it was hard to sleep because of the noise of the winter tyres on the road, so make sure you are either dead tired or inebriated if you want to sleep.

The reasons for the "very good" rating are as follows:

Excellent breakfast (great bread)
Cleanliness
Friendliness of staff
Happy hour at the bar
Location not bad
Price
Ample parking (I had a minibus)

We had dinner here twice and it is really good value for money. The cheapest and most nutritious option in Iceland.

So, make sure you itinerary is such that you stay in the room as little as possible and get dog tired so you can sleep! Choose a room not facing the sea and it is quiet.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Upon arrival at The Cabin Hotel it was discovered that my friend’s suitcase had been taken from the FlyBus from Keflavik airport to the Hotel. The lady on the reception desk at the Hotel immediately contacted FlyBus on our behalf and told us she would progress the problem. We were then able to check in and having a standard room booked, made the decision to upgrade to a Deluxe Room with an option of tea making facilities in the room. This process was extremely easy and not too expensive, under £50 for a four night stay. The room was very comfortable on the 6th floor with double bed with bath and shower; it also had a fridge in the room and a view over the sea. Having had a long day we decided to give the restaurant a try. Ok, so there was little choice, a choice of two soups, one hot dish [generally pasta] and a salad bar, endless soft drinks and hot and cold drinks from a machine. The cost of this equated to just £10 per head, we all thought it was very good value and the food was really good, if you were tired and didn't fancy going into town! Just as we were finishing our meal the lady receptionist gave us the good news that my friend’s case had been located and that she had arranged for a member of the night shift staff to collect it on his way into work! It arrived about half an hour later all intact, now that is what I call service!
The bar area is a popular meeting place for guests to congregate and to await coaches for their respective trips. Happy Hour on beer from 1600-1800, two beers for the price of one. The Hotel is place roughly 15-20 minutes walk into town and many restaurants, a taxi will cost you roughly £10 each way, should you not want to make the walk.
I would not hesitate to stay in this Hotel or recommend it, you get far more than what you will pay for! The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
If you are hoping to see the Northern lights, would strongly recommend that you book your tour for the first night that you arrive as the cancellation percentage is extremely high depending on weather conditions! If your tour is cancelled you have the option of going on the next evening tour, therefore the more nights you are available then the more chance you have of being lucky, sadly we were not lucky after three atttempts. If you book the Golden Circle trip – an excellent trip, but depending on the weather make sure your footware is equipped for very icy paths, would strongly recommend purchasing detachable grips for your shoes! If you are tempted by the Whale watching trip and it is in the winter, be prepared for a very rough ride, if you do not have good sea legs do not go! I would say thirty percent on our trip had their heads in sick bags! During the winter there is a very limited chance of seeing any Whales either, my recommendation would be to save your money!
We had a great break at the Cabin Hotel, it is placed in the lower range of star allocation, but my lovely wife is critical of Hotels and had no complaints – I rest my case! some "Helpful" votes for this review would be great!

Room Tip: An upgrade to at least a Deluxe room adviseable, we found Deluxe was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaisyGills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Taking account of the price, this is excellent. It's clean and has efficient staff. The breakfast is decent enough and has a wide choice of great fresh bread, local tomatoes, and various other goodies. Dinner was ch eap (about £10) for a great salad buffet, hot dish, fresh fruit, hot drinks, soft drinks, juice etc. Yes, it's not the classiest meal you'll ever eat but the value is fantastic.

The room is clean, the bed comfy and the shower good. For the price its good.

Downside is location. Its a bit out of town but again that's reflected in the price. Its on plenty of bus routes though if you don't fancy a 20-30 min walk to downtown or uptown.

All in all a very good choice for a budget conscious traveller.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppybamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#31 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing