We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic hotel in Reykjavik” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel in Reykjavik”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The basic rooms were just that, basic. But they served the function of the holiday which was to be out and about seeing the sights. The hotel room was very small but it met out needs for 3 nights and most importantly it was very warm with effective heating - most important in December!

The breakfast was very good, parking was free which was important as we had a hire car and the hotel was well located a stones throw from the sea and a short walk into town. In the city there are plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars and several on the walk into town if it is very cold and you dont want to go far!

Due to location, breakfast, warmth and friendlyness of staff i would definately stay here agin on a trip to Iceland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WalkertheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    776
    638
    197
    106
See reviews for
227
860
186
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The first night was fine. Greeted by friendly receptionist. Room was ok - we'd avoided the standard rooms as other reviewers had said they were tiny, and were booked into a superior room (though there was nothing at all special about it, to be honest). The problems started the next day. We woke up to an awful smell of sewage in the room, coming from the bathroom area. So we went to tell the receptionist. Now, any hotel could have a problem with the drains. Our issue was the way it was handled. Gone was the friendly receptionist, replaced instead with a couple (the managers/owners?) who appeared entirely indifferent to the problem. No apology at all, just an air of irritation at us bothering them. However, they did give us a key to another room, so we went back to our old room and packed, and moved our bags to our new room, where we found the woman who had given us the new key waiting for us, saying she had made a mistake and demanding our new room key back. Back down to reception, then back up to the 7th floor again, to be shown into yet another room that stank of sewage even more than our original room (a fact already known to the people on reception, it turned out). Eventually we were given another room, but a downgrade to a deluxe room, but no mention was made of a refund for the price difference, let alone any compensation for all the hassle. The attitude of the staff was just awful. Unfortunately for us, we were booked in to stay there again a couple of weeks later. Obviously, we weren't looking forward to it, but it was only for one night, so we decided to just grin and bear it, as the other hotels were full. This time we were booked into the deluxe room, so we decided to upgrade to the superior room. When we checked in we were charged k6,210 for this. This didn't seem right, so on getting to the room we checked on the internet, and found we should have been charged k4,000. Down to reception to get a refund, but no apology at all, not even a hint of one. Indifferent hotel, with ignorant staff - we'd never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Paulfranacist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel Cabin is within easy walking distance of the city centre and the beautiful modern Cathedral. The staff are so polite and always ready to help. There are luxury and de-luxe rooms on every floor and we stayed in a de-luxe on the fourth floor with a sea view. The room was clean, comfortable and warm, considering some days it was very cold and windy outside. Every room has free internet access. It is possible to book for the many trips around Iceland from the shop near the reception. The Grayline bus also provides pick up service from the hotel.
The restaurant serves 3 couses, or as much as you can eat for around £10 (1850 krona), and is prepared as buffet-style and self service and fresh and delicious.
There is a bar and a lounge on the ground floor.
I would certainly stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: The fourth floor has good views over the sea. Breakfast was served on the seventh and top floor (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justloveeatingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here because I got a cheap offer and it seemed well located. I upgraded to a deluxe room which I think is the way to go as some of the negative reviews stem from the basic rooms. The room I had was spacious and well equipped with its own fridge. The bathroom looked recently refurbished and you get free WiFi. The centre of Reykjavik is approx 15 mins on foot but is a straight forward walk. The cabin has ample free parking and I am currently planning another trip and intend on using the cabin again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just come back from a four night break and would like to say what a great place to stay.
Location was 15 minutes walk from the city centre and was easy to get around from there.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful with good English.
The hotel itself was very clean, warm and generally in good repair.
The bar has a beer only happy hour on a Gull Beer which is good value and in the restaurant breakfast and salad bar dinner was plentiful and good value for money. Lots of fresh fruit and breads - good coffee too.
The rooms are small for a standard twin room, however considering the room rate and location, it certainly met our needs. The rooms did seem to carry some noise from next door and with guests checking in and out very early in the night did cause a small issue to us but not worth reporting to reception.

If I returned to this wonderful country I would re book here.

Room Tip: Not seen the larger rooms, available to upgrade but these could be more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogirich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. We had a free upgrade as the Hotel was busy, on the 6th floor with fine views out to sea, but your not here for the view from the hotel as there is so much more to see and do in Iceland!! Breakfast was plentiful but it was a shame hot food was not on offer in the evening. If you return late from a trip it can be difficult to get a decent meal unless you plan where to go.
Our room was deathly quiet apart from traffic outside at peak times. The staff were lovely and could not be faulted for their patience and helpfulness and were very friendly and approachable, even toward the end of their 12 hour shift. Thank you to Iris in the gift shop who sorted out changing our bus back to the airport to include a stop off at the Blue Lagoon before our flight home and answered all our queries.
Yes It may be a pleasant, level 20 minute walk to the city centre along the water front... all part of the experience and there are a few things to see on the way. If you've hired a car you can park easily for no charge after 6pm, or catch the number 12 bus outside the hotel, but if you are fit what's wrong with using your feet!!!
Hotel staff will recommend places to eat, routes to drive, and will tell you all about Icelandic history if you ask them.
I would certainly use this Hotel again, it is a good base for seeing southwest Iceland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ickybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

A welcome surprise to find we had been allocated a 'de luxe / superior' room, which although not too spacious, was clean and tidy with comfortable twin beds, and excellent, warm duvets.
The shower delivered hot water in a powerful jet, towels and flannel 'mitts' were changed daily, and the room cleaned well.
Breakfast was in the 7th Floor Conference Room, and was typically continental in presentation.
Cereals, yoghurt, tea & coffee, ham, cheese, tomatoes, toast, marmalade & jams - honey was on the tea & coffee station.
Excellent fruit & seed breads as well as standard white were also available.
The Reception Staff double up as Bar Staff, and there is a Happy Hour in the early evening.
The City Centre is a walk away, don't bother with catching a bus. 30 minute walk to the main Shopping Mall, as is the Icelandic Pearl and SAGA Museum.
All in all, a good stay at a relatively central and accessible hotel, pleasant staff, good standard of cleanliness, reasonable prices.
A word of warning if you are transferring back to the Airport by FlyBus - leave more than the recommended 1 hour transfer. The journey time might be just under the hour, but if the pick up is late, and the driver 'faffs' about on a round robin pick up from other hotels, and then drops you at the Bus Station to wait for the 'Big Bus' (coach) you might well miss your flight (!!!) as we nearly did. Better to leave at least an hour and a half, and find yourself waiting for the flight to depart, than arrive late to find it already departed!
Enjoy........

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank HMCSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Klettur
#31 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#49 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing