We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cabin - Prison cell!”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Booked this as a cheap deal to Iceland through Travelzoo. Have always wanted to go Reyjavik and booked 3 days at the Hotel Cabin. From the outside it looks fine but the rooms are more like prison cells than hotel rooms. We had a twin room but wanted a double and had to physically move furniture out of the room in order to move the beds!
Breakfast is basic but is refreshed a lot by the staff - hard boiled eggs by the hundreds!
The reception staff are less than helpful or friendly!

Everything is so expensive in Iceland - £9 for two coffees and two cookies! About £14 for two beers in a local bar and about £60 for 2 x 2 courses of pub food - take your credit cards!

Would go back to Iceland, but not for quite a few years to come and Hotel Cabin is an example of you get what you pay for - you have been warned!

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank poolhousetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,793 - 1,799 of 2,240 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2008

This hotel would never make it in an American city, but Reykjavik Iceland is not an American city, so first drop all notions of what a hotel should be and concentrate on what you really need. Given the cost of Icelandic travel, that's probably all you will be able to afford.

The rooms are very clean, but so small you cannot believe it at first. But even my husband who is 6 feet tall managed fine there for 7 days. However, I don't think it would break them to provide a larger pillow and an alarm clock in the room. Breakfast was ample and pleasant, although a bit tiring because they have exactly the same thing everyday.

We tried hard to get a smile or laugh out of the front desk clerk, to no avail. As we found we most Icelandic waiters and staff, they were efficient yet quite impersonal. I'm not complaining, as that is what it is, but it was not what we are used to.

One problem was that we asked but did not receive a wakeup call. For us ok as we woke up anyway but could be bad for someone with plane to catch.

In summary, we appreciated this hotel very much as it gave us what we needed at an affordable cost. Without it, I'm not sure we could have traveled to Iceland at all.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaAustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

I stayed at CABIN three nights in June. The room was large enough, the bathroom clean and modern, no drunk Brits at night - it was exceptionally guiet - and the breakfast was good and filling. The only problem was the choice of TV channels - SKY news only, which means no news at all. A good price in an expensive country.

Will stay there again if I fly to Reykjavik again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karol8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Stayed at Hotel Cabin for two nights.
Liked :
Comfortable room with ultra clean modern facilities.
Breakfast was included and the view from the top floor breakfast room is spectacular.
Airport/tour buses pick up from the front door and walking in to Reykjavik takes about 30 minutes.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Disliked :
Very soft beds.
Bathroom not well ventilated.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Altruist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We stayed in the Hotel Cabin for 3 nights last week. We were a bit dismayed when we arrived at 2am - flight delay - to see what looked like a very bare room but the bed was extrememly comfortable and I had a superb nights sleep - a rare occurrence! In the clear light of day the room was just very plainly decorated but lovely white cotton duvets, absoluely spotless and although the bathroom was tiny it was spotless and the the shower was powerful. There's a large breakfast room with a standard continental buffet and a reception area with a bar and tea and coffee. The restaurant is also open in the evening although we didn't try it. It's just a minutes walk to the waterfront and a very pleasant walk into the centre of town - although it did take us 30 mins at a fair pace. However there is a bus stop opposite the hotel with frequent buses into the centre. Eating out is expensive - and drinking is more so! Also found that shops open late on Saturday morning and are closed on Sunday. We'd definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluegrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

The smallest, most basic room we have ever had in a hotel. The room and bathroom were both smaller than those on the cruise ship that we were on previously! The beds are smaller than single beds. There is no bath mat, no remote for the tv or temperature control. The view of the harbour was partially blocked by office buildings and there was noise from the street in front of the hotel. In fairness, everything was clean and worked properly. The hotel does not pretend to be anything other than a good value hotel which would be a rare find in Iceland where prices are sky high. We enjoyed the "saladbar" buffet, which was excellent value and had one or two hot offerings in the lunch/dinner selection.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Lykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

This was the last hotel we stayed in during our week in Iceland and quite frankly it was the best.

A large hotel that obviously caters to many guests, we found it very comfortable.

The room was fitted and decorated to a high standard. The hygiene standards here are obviously very high. The room size was not a problem as others have reported. It is small but still very comfortable.

We were grateful to be checked in well before the allotted time (as we arrived early) and used the hotel as a great base for exploring Reykjavik. The hotel is about a 15 - 20 min walk into the centre however.

The breakfast was as usual very standard though some obvious scrimping on quality goods here (eg no real orange juice).

Most impressive where the curtains (this is what I was reduced to lol). Finally a hotel that provided full blackout curtains, fit for purpose!!

Sadly we were at the rear of the hotel so no fancy bay views for us but you can't have em all.

Also worth noting is the free wifi in the room :)

In summary a very comfortable hotel. I would have no problems returning again if I were to return to Reykjavik.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank Grux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 55 in Reykjavik
575 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 55 in Reykjavik
414 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#35 of 55 in Reykjavik
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 55 in Reykjavik
374 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 55 in Reykjavik
361 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $126 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing