We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A 2 star Hotel. Perfectly adequate. Hotel and reception staff very helpful.Food plentiful , well presented, and enjoyeable. I am a single traveller , had a room with 2 twin beds ,mightvhave been a squeeze for two people. Was warm and comfortable. Duvet and sheets well laundered, counterpane rather unsavoury. Carpet stained. Bathroom/ shower/toilet very clean.Had a tv in the room. Took my own travel kettle ,hairdryer, as I had read reviews prior to travel. Overall I think this hotel meets the needs of the traveller. There is a local bus service every 30 mins outside the hotel which will take you to the main harbour if you don't want a long walk :)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,241 - 1,247 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Cabin hotel is a great place to stay if you are on a budget trip to Iceland. It's well located, about a 15 minute walk to town, clean and the staff are pleasant and helpful.

The rooms are small and the breakfast is very basic (a variety of bread, cheese, ham, tea, coffee etc) but it's more than adequate for the price you pay. Also this is more than compensated for by the helpful, friendly staff. Reception was always manned and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We were even upgraded to a sea view room free-of-charge.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyBloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We really appreciated the helpfulness and politeness of the staff at the Hotel Cabin which easily made up for the tiny rooms! I would really recommend getting an up-grade as the deluxe rooms were so much better and we had a lovely view of the sea. The staff could not do enough for us and there was always someone at the desk to help book trips, arrange taxis and give advice. The food in the restaurant was generally good and good value for money and we were amazed to be able to have breakfast at 4.30a.m. on the day we left. We would recommend this Icelandair trip highly as it gave us the opportunity to see a lot of the Reykjavik area and certainly whetted our appetites for a return visit, maybe in slightly warmer months! April temperatures were distinctly chilly!!

Room Tip: up-grade to the deluxe rooms - only £17 a night more but twice the comfort and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is to be avoided at all costs! Although the rooms were clean they are unbelievably small and with extremely narrow beds. Three beds were squashed into what was a small room anyway, and the three of us may as well have slept in a double bed. Some triple rooms are really twin rooms with an extra 'camp bed' crammed in. There is little room for people, let alone luggage!

Our room appeared to be clean and with fresh towels and bedding, although one of our party did complain of having been given a badly soiled towel.

Staff were unhelpful and very rude. Breakfast was the usual bread, eggs, ham etc along with cereal and toast. Dinner, however, was extremely poor and comprised a salad bar along with pretty awful soup that was barely warm. The 'hot' option was some very overcooked pasta congealed into a solid mass with something embeded into it that may once have resembled vegetables. Only one drink is allowed with the meal, although there is nothing to tell you this. One member of our party had another cup of coffee and was told off by staff and 300 krona demanded.

The location, slightly out of town, seems okay and fortunately for most people, there is a 'Subway' across the road where they sell the usual sandwiches and rolls. Even though our room was at the front of the hotel, there wasn't much noise from passing traffic.

Most of the corridors and landing have groups of young students hanging around in them until the early hours and this can become very frustrating. That said, the hotel is used extensively for school or college trips so I suppose that this is to be expected.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel if possible but failing that, get a room with a four digit number - three di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oracle_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

As other reviewers have noted the standard rooms here are tiny. Do not attempt to swing a cat in one of them - you will be in trouble with the Icelandic equivalent of the RSPCA:) Having said that the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, if narrow. We also had a good view out over the harbour, once we'd got the receptionist to move us from an internally facing room.
It's a good 25 minute walk into the centre of town, but I'd put that down as a positive. Although we were leaving on an early flight, there was also a good breakfast spread ready for our party at 6am.
In summary, OK for a short stay, just don't book it for a romantic weekend

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid any internally facing rooms - your window will look onto another corridor. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belgarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is basic with small but very clean rooms. We upgraded and it was definitely worth it for the extra space. We were here to sightsee and not for a hotel experience so to be honest the hotel didn't really matter to us. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was delicious but apart from toast a cold buffet. Good choice though, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereals and toast. We also had the evening buffet one evening where we were too tired to go out. We had soup, salads, pasta and lovely hand made bread. Nothing fancy but perfectly fine as a stop gap. You can also by wine and beer to go with your meal if you fancy something stronger than the sort drinks! Incidentally there was a fridge in our room which we used to stock up with drinks, yoghurts and snacks from the nearby supermarket. We hired cars and went on excursions which picked up from the hotel so I can't really comment on how convenient it is for public transport. The hotel is situated by quite a busy road and the area around is quite built up so the views are not pretty but as I said before this mattered not as we were out and about. You can also head down to the waters edge and follow this round as a walk into town from the hotel. It took us about 30 mins at a
gentle stroll taking in all the sights. Iceland is amazing, one of the most incredible places I have ever been to.

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to the best room you can afford for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppysouthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Went with a school party and 3 teachers were shoved into a tiny room with no space between the beds. Twin rooms have an additional bed chucked in to make it a triple.
When a complaint was made the rude receptionist said it was a 'deluxe room' and to take it up with our tour operator?!?!

Food was really awful - the food consisted of a salad bar, cold soup and the only warm option was noodles with vegetables! The only meat available was cold tuna!

No clarity of rules during dinner service e.g students go for more squash from the buffet area and are told off by the rude staff - apparently it is one drink per meal...where is the sign to tell people this?!?

Will never go to this place as a tourist or with a school party again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
568 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
406 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 54 in Reykjavik
368 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $121 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing