We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but great for a base”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent three nights in Reykjavik, the Cabin Hotel was clean and comfortable. The rooms were small, probably something to do with the hotel name the "cabin" hotel, as they were like small cabins on a ship. our room was a standard room, which had 2 singles beds and a desk. We did a bit of room moving around and managed to push the 2 beds together and move the desk to the wall, creating the feeling of a double bed at least.
The Breakfast was basic, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, bread, oranges, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice etc. A pretty good selection to see you on your way off on a days exploring. It was about 15-20 min walk into the city centre, so perfect for being near everything, but far enough away to be quieter. There is a petrol station over the other side of the road which has a Subway in there, so if you can't find anything that you want to eat in Rekyjavik (which is near on impossible), you always have Subway to fall back on. The shower was hot and powerful, the room a comfortable temperature and just generally a good hotel. Don't expect luxury, but if you want somewhere to rest your head before you set off on your next adventure, I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far left of the hotel as you look at it, give you views of the mountains and volcanos o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,185 - 1,191 of 2,137 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a superior room and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. It was easy to find form the airport (route 40) and the hotel has lots of safe free parking. The rooms were big enough for us, excellent hot showers. Breakfast was plentiful with good strong coffee! The hotel is a 20-30 min walk along the seafront into the town centre, which we enjoyed, and on the bus route of the number 4 and 12 if you don't fancy the walk. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had to leave at 5.30am to drive to the airport when going home - and breakfast was provided from 4.00am. The only downside was that when we were checking in about 30+ teenagers on a school trip were, so we didn't get any information about the hotel and its facilities at the time

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richsass_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location to explore reykjavik as it's about a 15min stroll away. We originally booked a standard room which was extremely small so we upgraded to the deluxe room which was definitely worth the extra £100 between the two of us for the week. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the lady who worked on the tour desk nothing was too much to ask. I would definitely recommend hiring a car as it works out cheaper than the tour companies especially as the main one reykjavik excursions you are just paying to be crammed onto a 30 seater coach and the price is normally just for the transport anyway. Pingveller apart from seeing the plates divide there isn't much else to see. The golden circle we enjoyed and also loved west Iceland too. If you take a pre-pay currency card just note it can't be used at pay at pump petrol stations.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellystowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

In January I stayed in Hotel Cabin for 4 nights; it was arranged by the tour operator. I had a deluxe room which was quite good. Location is not very perfect if someone looks for a good restaurant or a shopping centre within reasonable walking distance. So, sometimes I had to go to ‘salad bar' in the hotel for dinner. However, it’s a good pick up point for 'Reykjavik excursion' and someother day tour operators. Receptionists were very friendly, specially an old man in the reception (I did not ask his name actually).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rozana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Iceland March 2013 and we had a great holiday. Our experience at Hotel Cabin was overall a good one. The location is not exactly central. Though if you are not in a hurry and not too tired, it is walking distance , say 40 mins away from the centre of town. Otherwise you catch a taxi , which we found to be a bit expensive for an 8 min ride , costing around ISK 2200 ( Eur 14) each way.
The rooms are tiny, with no room left basically after you put the luggage. However , not much time was spent in the room , so that was fine.
I must praise the reception service. All were very helpful and also did some phone calls for us regarding our excursions. Our flight back home was an early one and we were given the opportunity to have breakfast from 4am. This was very much appreciated too.
Breakfast was fine for me , but if english breakfast is a must, this is not for you.
An overall good recommendation

Room Tip: You can try your luck and email the hotel a day before and ask for a room with a seaview. If this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquimalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It is true that the standard rooms are small but our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was adequate with lots of hot water for a good shower. There was plenty of food available for breakfast. The bread deserves a special mention - there was a good variety and it was delicious. All the staff were very courteous, professional, helpful and friendly. The salad buffet was very good value.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the city centre - a glorious walk along the coastal road - or a quick bus ride from a bus stop opposite.

We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are completely inside the hotel, the window overlooks a corridor. I think that this might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break and have to say excellent budget hotel and staff very helpful
Breakfast is in with the price and while cold foods on offer more than adequate.
Had one evening meal there and it also was fine - cold buffet with one hot main dish.
Enough to be going on with after a long day out touring and costing approx £8.00 p.p.
I upgraded on the recommendation of a previous review but really it was not worth it.
(£150 approx)
While the bathroom was lovely and modern the room itself was quite small and really for all the time you are in the room - dressing/showering/sleeping etc you can manage quite well in the ordinary rooms
The views from the room were beautiful and we had hoped to see the Northern Lights from our room but no such luck.
It was very quiet - even though the hotel seemed to be full of school parties and near the main road.
Petrol station directly across the road with a Subway Sandwich shop attached so if you fancied a lighter meal it was easy to have.
The whole hotel was spotless - Iceland itself is very clean
No paper left lying around etc.,
So I can heartily recommend this hotel
Would definitely go back

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PASSPORTOGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
550 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
393 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 54 in Reykjavik
361 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
306 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $112 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing