We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got what we expected.”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
milan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Got what we expected.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I think there are three types of rooms, very small, superior and delux. We had the superior room and in size it was similar to the usual Premier Inn, Travelodge etc size. We didn't book a standard room as we had read here that they were tiny. They are so don't book a small room and then be surprised it is small! We had a fair sized bathroom and both room and bathroom were clean. Breakfast is included in the price and it is a good continental buffet, could be considered repetitive but I think complaints are unfair.
It's 20 minutes walk to the centre or you can get the bus which is right in front of the hotel.
Eating out in Reykjavik is very very expensive. The buffett offered in the hotel can be considered good value for money but it is really repetitive. The salad bar is fine but always the same, two choices of soup which taste a bit like made out of a packet but OK and then one hot dish which changed every night (we were there five nights) but was unedible rubbish every night. We didn't have the energy to go somewhere else in the evening but if you do, I strongly advise you to do so.
Our experience with Islandic people was that they don't smile when they speak so could give the impression they are unfriendly. I don't know if they are unfriendly but they certainly don't go out of their way to give information or be helpful.
All in all, unless I found something better value for money, I would be happy to stay in the Cabin Hotel again if I returned to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Don't choose the standard rooms, they are very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaitalyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    790
    653
    200
    109
See reviews for
231
872
188
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
254 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We read the reviews and emailed ahead to upgrade, do not think I could do a windowless room- we got the best room on the 7th floor (end of corridor) with dual aspect windows, bay view and really nice. Was worth every ISK. Fridge, TV, Free Wi-fi, Hairdryer and tea making facilities. Beds lovely, fresh towels each day and milk available at reception to have tea and coffee. Never waited for a lift and reception very helpful in all areas. As said before breakfast is fine but same each day-do try the yoghurt its scrummy and low fat. We had the buffet one evening and that was fine too, good value for money. The tours do tend to start from here so you always get a good seat on the tour bus. Staff helpful and efficient. For a City hotel this was all you needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is a budget hotel with some very small rooms, however as when you’re in Iceland you are always sightseeing and barely in your room it is ideal.
Breakfast is great with plenty of choice (and if you’re on the early flights out in the morning they put it out early for you). The salad bar at night is perfectly adequate for someone who is too tired to go anywhere else to eat.

The location is a good 20min walk from the centre of Reykjavik but as all bus tours do hotel pickups this shouldn’t be an issue. Additionally there are bus stops outside the hotel for those who don’t fancy the walk. The hotel is on the road behind the bay so there are some sea views.

Rooms are warm, small and clean. There are lifts and the staff are very helpful and friendly. You can buy bus tour tickets in the reception area.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts and fire doors - ask for a room which has an external window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hi our experience was a rather mixed,

the flight and staff were excellent score 10/10
the transfers were very good score 10/10

the hotel was reasonable ok but tea and coffee in the room would have been a real improvement score 7/10

the hotel staff were very varied from good to disinterested, there was a lot of noise 1 night and no one seemed interested score 6/10

the Northern Lights trip was a farce, the first night it was cancelled about 18.00 due to weather conditions yet we could see breaks in cloud, the second night it was again cancelled, with no refund I feel the tour company didn’t try very hard and this was a common complaint when speaking with other people there, I don’t think you should allow people to book when clearly there is so little chance of the trips going ahead (which you only discover on arrival) score 0/10

Iceland needs to improve its signposts to its museums and places of interest, as an example it is quite hard to find the culture house and even the parking attendant/warden seemed very vague when we asked for directions (we were just 100m away as it turned out) score 5/10

Eating out was quite expensive but if you look hard there are some reasonable places serving good food however we enjoyed dinning out score 8/10

Overall Iceland was a very interesting short trip but it could have been better, we will look to go back but to a different part of the isle and at a different time of year

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor with a sea view which was good but the rooms are tiny! Some rooms at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_BShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

As its name suggests Hotel Cabin's rooms are just that, "cabins" they are based on cruise ship cabins even down to the hotels own info channel on the TV. Our standard twin was small with an en-suite, the beds are only 2'6" 76cm wide but were comfy enough, the continental breakfast is basic but plentiful and is kept topped up by the attentive staff. We ate at the hotel salad bar one night which was 18,400kr there was plenty of fresh salad and a chose of 2 hot soups, one hot main, fresh and tinned fruit plus soft drinks, tea or coffee included in the price. It filled a hole!

The hotel is clean and comfy with helpful pleasant staff, there is a tour desk, a small tourist shop and a bar lounge should you not wish to walk the 10 to 15 mins it takes to get to the main shopping street with it's bars and restaurants, each floor also has a small lounge area where you can sit with a beer and chat. Wifi is also available at a cost.

Hotel Cabin has everything you need for a stay in the city without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaceman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel Cabin is extremely unpretentious and lacks atmosphere but excellent value for money in an expensive location. Standard rooms are small but not uncomfortable, hotel attracts a lot of school parties and tourist packages so can be noisy. The evening buffet is very good value if going out doesn't appeal. Hotel staff friendly and helpful, and although wifi is extra, it works well. All very clean and tidy.
Breakfast buffet is basic but good quality. I would recommend Hotel Cabin for business purposes or short stopovers.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you arrive, with a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

On the outskirts of Rejyavik this hotel was very good value for money. The rooms were small and basic but when offered an upgrade decided to refuse as we were only there for three nights. Breakfast was a cold spread and so was the evening meal apart from tea and coffee, we were just craving a hot meal but needed a taxi to city centre every time as it was very cold and too windy to walk,

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade and ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#31 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing