We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
London England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel provides a good base to enjoy Iceland. We had a very basic twin room that was very small, but upgraded to an excellent room on the seventh floor that was 35 euro's a night extra. This afforded a lovely view of Reykjavik, and a much more luxurious facility. The breakfast is a continental style that is very good, and the bread is particulary nice. The hotel does a dinner buffet for about £9, which for Iceland is very good value particularly if you are on a budget. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and the other good thing was the fact that they allow you to have even if you have a very early start such as we had when we had an early flight home. They allowed us breakfast at 4.30 IN THE MORNING!! The other things I would recommend would be if you book any trips through the hotel book with Bustravel. They are a very small travel company, but for that the trips are cheaper , but actually better. This is because they use little mini buses and you get a more intimate otur with lots more information. If you are stuck with a few hours spare there is a local thermal spring swimming pool five minutes walk away, just turn right out of the hotel and walk straight. This complex is just £5.50p for two people!!
Trips that i would recoomend are the blue lagoon and the golden circle tour.

Room Tip: Upgrade from basic twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mziton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    786
    647
    200
    109
See reviews for
229
867
188
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Room small but clean, tidy and very nice. Breakfast very good. Lunch very tasty and in good price:1850kr (about 9 pounds) - you can eat how much You want and choose what You want from pasta to fruits plus free soft drinks. Incredible view from hotel. Trips in good prices. All staff in hotel was lovely especially polish staff. To town you can go with local bus nr 12 - cheap ticket 350kr (about 1,70 pound) for 1h20min (you can use any bus). To town about 10 min with bus (on foot about 45 min). Bus every 30 min till 23pm. Very close to hotel petrol station and subway. In subway prices like in UK. For sure we want go back to this hotel and ICELAND. Iceland is magic !!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshowe, Zululand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Was very apprehensive after all the reports I had read on standard rooms. Arrived from south Africa via UK. Stayed 4 nights with a girlfriend I have known 30 years but hardly get the chance to see. Didn't spend much time in the room but have no complaints at all. Yes, rooms are small, but expected that. Space under beds for suitcase, desk in between, beds firm & very comfortable, had a window which I had asked for (would have battled enormously with claustrophobia in an inside windowless room). Bathroom small but adequate, brilliant torrential hot shower, all very functional & shower water tight. Dining room varied from full to empty. Lovely breakfast spread - teas, coffee, fruit juices, cereals & yoghurt, loads of bread choices, boiled eggs, cheese, cucumber, tomatoes, jams etc. Ate supper there once relatively good value & vast selection of fresh salads, tasty sticky chicken wings, soups. Reception staff most helpful at any time day or night. Yes, a little way out of town but a refreshing 15 minute walk after a good meal out. Would I stay again? Absolutely without hesitation & would love to take my husband there. Not a single bad thing to say.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nothing prepared me for how rank & small the first room we were offered was!!! However, we paid a fairly small fee to upgrade to a mire acceptable but still quite average room. Breakfast was ok (help yourself cold buffet) but nothing special. All staff were v helpful and friendly. I know it's a budget hotel but we paid a fair amount to go (I know some of the other guests had good deals) so I was fairly disappointed to be honest. As I say service etc was good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We arrived at 7am and were hoping just to be able to store our suitcases until we could check in. Instead, they had our room ready and we could go right up. The staff was incredibly helpful and answered any and all of our questions, offered to help us book a rental car or excursions, etc.

The hotel is clean, and has a hostel-like feel with people from all over the world staying there. It isn't fancy, but serves the purpose of having a home base while exploring Reykjavic or the surrounding area.

I would reccomend upgrading rooms. We upgraded to a "deluxe" room which made the stay much more enjoyable. With a delux room (think small dorm room with a bathroom) we had some space to spread out a little which was nice. The breakfast they serve is pretty boring, but serves the purpose of not having to find a place to eat first thing in the morning. It is a bit of a walk from the city center so be prepared for a walk each time you want to go somewhere.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room so you have some more space! The standard rooms are really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmgoldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I found the staff at Hotel Cabin very obliging, pleasant, friendly and extremely hard working. We had a twin room with three single beds (two of which were pushed together which was great) but the third bed was completely unnecessary and took up a lot of space so we asked the staff to remove it which they very obligingly did. It made a huge difference to the room. The only drawback was that the normal twin rooms and single rooms do not have tea or coffee making facilities, but we bought our own teabags and milk and just got hot water and sugar from the restaurant in the morning or from the bar in the late evening.

The breakfast consists of a few different types of breads, two types of cheese, ham, two types of jams, butter, cut orange, tomatoes, sliced cucumber, boiled eggs, cereals and tea and coffee which is ample if you are there for a weekend. We did not have dinner at the hotel so we cannot comment on that.

Opposite the hotel is a Subway, a Nesti (forecourt shop) and a frozen yoghurt shop. They do not sell alcohol in the shops but there is a Vinbudin (bottle store) up the road from the hotel as well as a chemist and a small 10 11 (express store).

The bathroom is a little small and only has a shower which is fine if you are not tall or greatly overweight otherwise you will have a problem. You can upgrade to Deluxe or Superior rooms at an extra charge per night (in or out of season price differs) and these rooms have bigger bathrooms, with either a bigger shower area or a bath with an overhead shower.

The city centre is about a 10/15 minute walk from the hotel and there is a bus stop a little further up from the hotel which will take you into town as well.

All in all, a nice little hotel for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here from 13th - 17th Feb. on a Wowcher trip. We upgraded in England to a bigger room as we heard they were v. small and stayed for an extra day. Staff were extremely helpful and we found we could book trips in the hotel up to midnight for the next day so our first full was not wasted. We did the Golden Circle tour and it was fantastic. We did a tour each day booked mostly through the hotel.The weather was beautiful until the day we left when it changed. The staff were all very helpful and the breakfasts were great, the various breads are superb. We asked for the 6th floor or above and facing the sea as we'd heard the views were seen there. There were school parties in the hotel and on our floor but they were very quiet. We ate in the hotel each evening and found it more then adequate and very reasonable with a large buffet both hot and cold dishes and long salad and fruit bar and as much tea coffee and soft drinks as wanted. Very expensive to eat out. Definitely stay here again and always will upgrade. And we will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 155Paula97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#41 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing