We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, small rooms.”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Decent place, clean, tiny rooms. Kind of long walk to downtown and the harbor area but do-able. The worst part about this place is that they charge for WiFi.
Free breakfast downstairs every morning. There is a subway and gas station across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matt p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,137 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel may look a bit boring from the outside (a block building, located about 30 minutes away from the city centre of Reykjavik). However, the rooms and the furniture are brand new. Breafast was included in the very reasonable price, although there was not a great variety of food on offer.
A negative aspect about the hotel may be that the bus connection to the city centre is very poor. During weekdays, the busses only run once every hour and during the weekends you often have to walk. The rooms have a wifi connection, which can be booked for a fee of 10 Euros at the reception. All in all I was very satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank potsdampotsdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is by far no 4 or 5 star but was clean and served its purpose. My son and I arrived 4:00 am or so and the room was ready as we purchased it for the day before. We didn't want to wait at that time for a room to be ready. The room was of ok size with a small bathroom. The breakfest was fine. Mostly European style, as appropriate. There was bus transportation to and from the city center but we walked it every day. About 20-25 minutes. There was a small store across the street. The price of the hotel was very good for Reykjavik hotels. The hotel staff was most helpful with information and maps. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 767captlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I was marooned in Reykjavik when my flight to Nuuk was cancelled.

The airline booked me into this hotel. It was more like the most basic B&b, furnished in the 80s. I'm sure it's fine if you only want to use the room to sleep.

On the plus side... Once I'd squeezed into the shower it was absolutely torrential! Plus I have to say that everyone that worked at the hotel was friendly, helpful, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonLSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel staff is wonderful. The free breakfast is very small selection of tomatoes, cucumbers, bread, jams, hard boiled eggs, cheese, some kind of fish, oatmeal and coffee. The rooms were very clean. You have to pay for WIFI and you can only get WIFI in the lobby. It was about a 25 minute walk to the city center.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Cabin Hotel is a good value for money 3 star hotel situated about 20 mins walk from the centre of town and about 100 m from the waterfront. There are 3 categories of rooms, standard, deluxe and superior, the deluxe ones being on the ground floor and superior ones on the top floor, some with partial sea view. We paid the supplement for a superior room which was definitely well worth it for the larger room and beds. The room was well appointed, with a great shower and, as everywhere in Iceland, very clean and towels were changed every day. Being on the top floor it was very quiet and we were not aware of the comings and goings of other guests.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, particularly with the excursions. Breakfast is included and this is buffet style with a good choice of cereals, bread, ham, cheese.
A big plus for us was that the restaurant was open from 11.30-21.00 offering a very reasonably priced, 'as much as you can eat' buffet (approx £7 pp until 5 pm and approx £8.50 pp after 5 pm). This included soup, one hot dish and plenty of ham, cheese and salads and whilst this may not be top gourmet fare, it was very acceptable and made a big difference to our overall budget - otherwise one should reckon on paying an average of £20+ for a main course alone in good restaurants.
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelenjoyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hotel cabin is about 15-20 minutes walk from the centre of Reykjavik. The rooms are fairly small but very clean, with neutral decor. the bed was very comfortable. Compact but well fitted shower room en-suite. breakfast was included, served buffet style. there was an assortment of breads, cheese and cold meats, also cereals, fruit, yogurt, eggs, plenty of choice.
the staff were very helpful and provided info on buses, trips, weather forecasts etc. There is a bus service into town, fare was 350 krone per person, each way.
we had an early flight to return home and did not expect breakfast to be available at 4.15 a.m., but, astonishingly, it was! I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
550 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
393 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 54 in Reykjavik
361 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
306 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $112 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing