We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cabin
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Hants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

As a previous review mentioned, it is a hotel that appears to attract kids on organised school trips and I must say on our first evening in the bar area; we did feel a little overwhelmed as they poured in to wait for direction from a teacher.

We were also staying in a room that was on the same floor as they were and after hearing the excited chatter and doors slamming, it did quieten down after about 9.30pm and we were not disturbed for the rest of the evening or on subsequent nights.

The kids also all had a separate dining area on another floor from the rest of the guests and so on the whole they were not a problem and as these trips are probably organised mostly around Easter, I cannot think that this is a year round issue.

The buffet breakfast and evening meal was excellent - plenty of fresh salads, fruit, soft drinks and Tea & coffee on tap and a variety of lovely breads and in the evening an additional hot meal.

The hotel staff were helpful and as we found with all of the Icelandics that we met, all spoke very good English. The rooms are small, but think Premier Inn standard of cleanliness and furnishings, but with a decent power shower. The only problem we had here was lumpy mattresses and flat pillows. To resolve this issue we were given additional pillows by reception and we made sure we had plenty of fresh air and exercise, so that we didn't notice the uncomfortable beds.

We did the Blue Lagoon, Golden Circle and Northern Lights excursions and the only real let down was the Northern Lights. We were promised in the leaflet that we would be taken right away from artificial lights and that we would be driven around the area in search of the lights. The reality of this trip was that we were taken to the outskirts of Rekjavik where there was still plenty of house and lampost light and there we stayed for the next 3-4 hours.

There was a glimmer of a show, but the sheer cold and boredom set in quite early on for most of the passengers and I think for the price, a hot drink wouldn't have gone a miss and if we had been driven around, I think that it would have broken up the monotony.

Staying at this hotel, that is an easy 15 minute walk into town and 1 road away and parallel to the coast road is I think better positioned than some of the better known hotels situated further inland where a bus or a taxi would be a necessity. And as a budget rate hotel in Iceland, it is I think very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Room facing the sea on floor 5 or 6 is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChilledHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    797
    663
    211
    109
See reviews for
237
882
191
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

Good value for money hotel - like a superior hostel in some respects and it does attract large and rather noisy student groups. After reading other reviews of this hotel I had low expectations, but was on the whole pleasantly surprised. The rooms are small but adequate, comfortable and clean. Although the shower cubicle is small and could be difficult for some people to use. Hotel facilities were good, lots of information available and staff helpful, with very fast check in. It takes about 20 minutes to walk along the sea front into the city centre. There are buses. The airport bus runs direct to and from the hotel. There is a Subway cafe and shop opposite and a salad bar in the hotel. Adequate for a short stay. and if you don't see the Northern Lights there's a great flashing neon display on one of the buildings up the hill at the back of the hotel, drink enough snapps and you could be convinced you had seen them after all!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcgintysgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had an excellent 4 night trip to Iceland and photos can be viewed here: http://evocation.zenfolio.com/p9250443

With regard to the Cabin Hotel, most of the other reviews have said it but useful to reiterate: this is a good value hotel in an expensive city. On the downside, the standard rooms are small. Even with 2 people you keep bumping into each other. And the hotel is a mile or so outside the centre of Reykjavik which means that external facilities, particularly restaurants, are not within immediate reach.

That said, it is possible to upgrade to larger rooms and numbers 4, 5 and 12 buses connect with the centre of Reykjavik for a price of 350Kr (~£2) each way - though frequency diminishes in the evening. The standard of cleanliness and quality of fixtures and fittings is good, including the previously mentioned showers. The inclusive buffet breakfast is fine and plentiful and it is possible to buy an evening meal buffet for around £8. On the opposite side of the road is a small supermarket and a branch of Subway.

As a base for taking excursions, the Cabin appears to be on every operator's radar, the hotel staff speak perfect English and are very helpful, and the reception area is stocked with a very wide variety of leaflets offering all types of excursion and activity.

We chose what appears to be the most popular excursions of the Golden Circle (a selection of sights to be found on a circular day trip to the north of Reykjavik) and the South Shore tour. As its name suggests this tour shows the rugged south coast including a visit to a glacier. Both trips were well worthwhile and we used both Iceland Guided Tours and Iceland Horizon, both smaller operators with therefore smaller and more flexible groups. Odinn and David respectively are highly knowledgeable and we would highly recommend both of them.

In addition to the 2 day trips, we also fitted in some whale watching with Elding. You can read the daily blog on their website to get a feel, but again very professional. Whilst not guaranteed to see the mammals, we were lucky to see some dolphins and a humpback whale slapping its tail. A visit to the Blue Lagoon followed - a large, natural geothermal pool. Entrance is expensive (~£25) but it is a unique experience.

After 3 failed attempts, we also managed to see the Northern Lights during a break in the clouds between sleet showers! Very worthwhile but beware: sightings are not at all guaranteed, and the brightness of the phenomenon is not as great as you might expect from photographs which tend to enhance the image (see photo). If you have a reasonable camera, a tripod is essential.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyExplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

In a nutshell, the rooms were very basic and small but cleaned to perfection. The staff were pleasant and accomodating, always available to help and the breakfast was excellent. However, if you are looking for a quiet hotel or are sensitive to noise, avoid this one. We had a room among school boys on a class trip who were extremely noisy and disruptive. After the receptionist kindly agreed to relocate us to a different floor, we were kept awake until the early hours by a group of students talking loudly in the lobby. In addition, people come in at all hours of the night talking loudly and slamming doors, which does not make for a relaxing stay. All in all, I can't fault the staff or the cleanliness of the rooms but if you want some peace and quiet, you won't find it here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldilockz1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

having booked over internet didn't know what to expect about this hotel but was pleasantly surprised by it. The reception was friendly and extremely efficient at booking us in, in fact the quickest booking in I have encountered. The rooms, although small were warm, clean, comfortable with televisions and ensuite. Admittedly the shower cublcle was rather small (not enough room to swing the proverbial cat) but water was hot and plenty of it. Breakfast was buffet style with good selection of meat, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bread and jams. There was also a salad bar available in the evenings until 9 pm. It is ideal for anyone not requiring 5 star type accommodation. It is located about a 20 minute walk along the sea front from the town centre, but as a pick up for tours is ideal as it is the first in the morning and the first on return in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pennybelle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My second stay at the hotel, although it appeard a little shabbier than the last I find the rooms big for Icelandic standards and the breakfast has a good choice even for veggies:-) Good value for Iceland.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsearcher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 and were very impressed with the high standard considering the price. Very good location, good breakfast, friendly helpful staff, free parking. No tea and coffee facilities in room, but overall super impressed for what we paid. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aashnaramnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
529 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 52 in Reykjavik
373 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
830 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,630 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Property: Hotel Cabin
Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing