We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best institution in the whole country”

Reykjavik City Library
Ranked #60 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best institution in the whole country”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The government and medical system, and just anything and everything else in Iceland and in the world, should strive to imitate the fantastic service provided by the public library of Reykjavík. Impressive !!! I'm not kidding - and I do not work there! :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank yes-Rvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    43
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
170 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great Place For Free WiFi”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I'm in Reykjavik for the day on a cruise ship stop. The library is a great place for free WiFi. You don't have to buy anything to go online like you do at the other restaurants/coffee hops/bookstores here. I am just using my net book, I don't see any terminals however. I'm typing this at the library and the internet speed is very good. The connection is "Vodaphone-Hotspot", it is unsecured, there is no time limit, and no password is required. Also, there are chairs/tables, it is very quiet, and hardly anyone else here. The library opens at 10 AM and is in the middle of the downtown tourist area, and a very short walk from where the cruise ship shuttle drops you off. The library also has a clean restrooms and a couple vending machines (i.e. pop and candy, etc.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank travel1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorks
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Small Photo Museum”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to visit the photo museum which was actually one tiny room packed with folders of historical photos. Next door there was a large exhibition space showing photos of Reykjavik taken in 2011 and 1986. This was fascinating, seeing how the city had changed over 25 years - much less development than you might expect particularly when this period included a boom. Free entry and worth a trip, particularly as opposite the building there's a coffee shop/book shop that does a lovely cup of Illy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EastYorksBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth nh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Time to rest”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stopped to rest here while waiting for the children's ballet at 5 pm at the new performing arts center downtown. I found a great book about tulips, with botanical drawings from over a century ago.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank susanlovesiceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Bend, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Photography Museum on 6th floor”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great little museum with and interestin exhibit. The library itself is a nice place to take a break,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chanspringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reykjavik City Library also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Reykjavik City Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing