We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Merstham Surrey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend on 4th July. Unimpressive from the outside. Looks like a 1970`s office block. However impression changed once through the door. Spacious airy reception with plenty of seating and some interesting wooden sculptures of people and sheep. Reception very staff helpful. Room clean and warm. Shower lovely and hot, although tray could do we refurbish as the enamel was very chipped. We were facing the domestic airport but weren't bothered by noise overduly. Beds clean and comfortable. Restaurant very good. We found the breakfasts just fine. We had an evening meal here one night which was lovely. Spa was better than those in British hotels by far. It's just a shame it's use wasn't included in the price. The free bus pass was appreciated and used! Our one gripe was our excursions. The reception staff kept sending us to wait out the back for our pick up which meant (we think but couldn't prove) that we missed our pick up to the blue lagoon, so had to request another pick up which eventually arrived over an hour later than our scheduled pick up. We made sure we were out the front for the whale watching tour (again which we were directed out the back for that pick up!!!!) and lo and behold our driver arrived out the front. Hotel a pleasant walk from the pearl and about half an hour from the city centre. Excursions (when we did get picked up from the right place at the right time!) were all lovely. Lady in shop/excurion booking office also very pleasant and helpful. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing away from airport if don't want that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookingmama076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear traveler

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our interior design and our references to the Icelandic cultural scene. Regarding the spa being included in the price, it actually is as long as you book directly through our website, so make sure to book directly through us the next time you stay at Reykjavik Natura.

We are sorry for the mix-up regarding the pickup, we will make sure to forward your review to the general manager for future sake.

All in all we are glad that you liked our hotel and would we would love to have you with us again sometime in the future.

Best regards,
Icelandair Hotels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    1,050
    422
    55
    32
See reviews for
340
927
179
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The outside is terrible...hello 1970s! People also stand right next to the main doors and smoke...a lot. I have asthma and cannot tolerate it...so when you're standing out there waiting for your tour bus to come be prepared to make way for the air polluters. We stayed here the first day of our trip and the last 2 days after we did the self-drive "ring road" tour of the country. We had two different rooms, both had two single beds which I find to be very odd when traveling with your spouse! Both rooms had dirty carpets...and not just a little, more like there was dried dirt in the rug. The hot water pot had water in it and had not been cleaned after the previous occupant. They had no restroom on the first floor...so if you're in the restaurant and need to go you have to go to your room or all the way down to the lower floor in some back, dark part of the hotel. Very odd to me. The restaurant itself was OK and I liked the decor there. Breakfast was always exactly the same. Not much in the way of protein choices unless you like sausage and lunchmeat. The restaurant and "bar" are only open until 9:30pm if you want to sit down and it, which I find odd when they have almost 24 hours of sunlight in the summer. You'd think there would be a revised schedule to accommodate their biggest industry, tourism. There was no mention of the spa or gym or pool or any of the amenities. The "free" busses are never on time and the busses we paid for, particularly Iceland Excursions were always late and I mean really, really late or they didn't show up at all. This happened to us twice. The staff was friendly though and I liked the wooden people and sheep in the lobby areas. It lender some charm to the hotel out of the 1970s IKEA era. :-) And beware of the "Free wifi". That just means free when it works. If there is a storm, forget it! Also, what is with Iceland keeping all their rooms so hot? It was 48 degrees outside and 80 degrees in our room. Not much about the rooms made us want to be in them.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear traveler

We are sorry to see that you disliked the exterior of our hotel but you are correct, it was built in 1964 and the exterior look has been preserved ever since then. We however renovated most of the interior in 2011 so the hotel looks brand new on the inside. I can however see that you had a room with carpeted floors, we have few of them left, but we also plan to renovate them soon, just FYI. Regarding the restroom in the restaurant/on the first floor, you are actually wrong, we of course do have restrooms in the restaurant, they are located on the left side of the BAR area. Regarding the breakfast, I hope that you had the chance to taste the all Icelandic “Skyr”, which is full of protein. Regarding the opening hours of the restaurant and bar, you are wrong again, since we keep the restaurant open until 10 p.m. and the bar is open until 01 a.m.

The bus system is actually quite punctual, please do not confuse the public bus system, which we give our guests a free pass to use at, with the excursions bus companies. They can be late sometimes.

We have never had any complaints regarding our free Wi-Fi not working when the weather is bad, it simply does not influence the Wi-Fi if there is a storm outside.

All together I am sorry that you did not experience the hotel in a more positive way but it seems to me that you were somewhat misinformed about few things at our hotel and I am sorry for that. I am sure, if you stay with us again, that you will experience the hotel and it services in a more positive way.

Best regards,
Icelandair Hotels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

While nothing was truly wrong with this hotel, guests feel unimportant and like they are part of an assembly line of tourists. The rooms are small. The breakfast is generic. There is a charge for the pool. Also, the "black out curtains" were not remotely effective. Finally, the location is undesirable. Though mileage-wise it is not far from the city center, in reality an airfield separates the hotel from anywhere you would actually want to be in Reykjavik. The result is that you feel stuck in a tiny room in the evening after taking part in an exhausting day of Icelandic fun. The hotel offers free bus passes but even the bus just barely gets you to the city center. On a rainy, nasty day (as my whole vacation was), there is little motivation to use public transit to get to beer or food. I recommend taking the time to find an apartment in the city center over staying at this location.

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear traveler

We are sorry to see that you experienced our guest services in a negative way but let us reassure you that the guests of our hotel are really important to us and we always strive to please them and meet their expectations. The rooms might be small compared to hotel rooms in the US but the size is actually quite standard for European and Icelandic hotels. If you stay with us again, and want to have a bigger room, then I advise you to upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms. They are much bigger in size and include access to the lovely spa and to the 4th floor lounge.

We are sorry that you felt stuck in your room during your stay, especially when we have all the amazing nearby attractions which surely offer the taste and feel of the Icelandic nature, for example all the walking paths in the lovely Nautholsvik area, the sightseeing spot at the Pearl and the geothermal heated beach at the Nautholsvik. All of those places are within 500 meters from the hotel and all of them provide you with fresh air and a huge area of natural environment for you to explore.

If you want to stay in the city center the next time you are here, we would like to recommend the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, which is located by the harbor in the downtown area, with a location that surely would please you.

Best regards,
Icelandair Hotels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This was a great little hotel. The rooms were a little small, but the beds were comfy and the rooms spotless. Hotel staff were super helpful and the restaurant was very good. Not very close for city center but nice and quiet. Definitely would consider staying here again

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracymegan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear traveler

Thank you so much for your nice review, it really means a lot to us when our guests are happy with the hotel, the staff and our services. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Icelandair Hotels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at the Natura and it was a good base for exploring Reykjavik. The hotel provided free Reykjavik bus passes for us while we stayed there and they were a great help as it allowed us to move around very efficiently. It was also only a 20 minute walk into town provided the weather cooperated. We came to understand the Icelandic joke "if you don't like the weather just wait five minutes", as we started walking in the sunshine, got soaked in the middle and finished in the sunshine again. The restaurant in the Natura, Satt, gave us some of the best meals we have had in many years. Even if you do not stay at the Natura while you are in Reykjavik you should go there for dinner, you will not regret it. It was a comfortable place to stay and the only thing it missed for us was a more comfortable set of chairs in the room to sit and read. We cannot comment on the Spa as it was not open for hours convenient for us and needed to be booked well in advance. The staff were very friendly, efficient and very busy. It seems to be a hotel popular with tour parties as morning and evening the reception was packed with people checking in or out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayjunkieBejing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear traveler

Thank you so much for your nice review, it really means a lot to us when our guests are happy with the hotel, the staff and our services. We would also like to thank you for recommending our restaurant, Satt Restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Icelandair Hotels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
316 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

While checkin for our group seemed slow, the rest of our experience with staff was good. The room had a filthy carpet, and under the beds had not been vacuumed for a long time; in general, the hotel is old and tired - adjacent to the Reykjavic domestic airport (when we opened the window to cool the room, as no AC or fan seemed in effect, Avgas seeped in) - airplane noise was present into the early evening. Room did have a frig, old fashioned tv, coffee maker, and phone. Furniture old land scuffed, but functional. A small bar and restaurant on first floor - moderate buffet breakfast. No noise from outside after 10 pm, and curtains did good job keeping out light in June.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were booked in this hotel via our travel agency in a package deal, so we didn't know what to expect. The rooms and bathrooms were quite small - not a 4 star standard, but clean and quiet. We didn't mind, as we didn't spend much time at the hotel. The lobby was nicely designed, there were some wooden statues standing there, and a huge wall screen with nature images and nature sounds playing. A beautiful fireplace separated the lobby from the restaurant area. The meals were good and the service as well. You could feel a little bit like home. The only inconvenient was the distance - the hotel was quite far from the center town. but the hotel offered a free bus pass. Unfortunately the bus schedule was twice an hour, you were faster by foot. Maybe not the best choice hotel, but it was not bad at all afterall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristinaH414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing