We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

we stayed here as part of an icelandair self drive package as we drove from the airport we didn't have the problem of loads of people all been checked in at the same time, the hotel is very clean comfortable, warm and the staff very helpful, but i would say that we were not offered any free bus tickets until we read the in room info and asked for them so make sure you do this, saying that though we walked into town one day and it was a very pleasant easy walk, we would defiantly stay here again but think you may find it a little easier to get to with a car, when staying here you must make the effort to walk up to the Perlan, the food is expensive, as you would expect, but the views are amazing and free, the saga museum will be opening here too soon

Room Tip: we had a room that faced the icelandair offices over looking the car park and the town in the distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.

I am glad to see that your experience of Reykjavik Natura was as pleasant as you describe in your review. I am very pleased to see that you made the effort to walk into the downtown area; it is a great way to get to know the city and its environment. I am sorry to see that you were not made aware of the free bus pass sooner, I will make sure that the general manager knows of this so she can make arrangement for it not to happen to other guests.
All in all thank you for your positive review and hopefully we can welcome you again to our hotel sometime in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    1,050
    423
    55
    32
See reviews for
340
928
179
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Great, friendly service. The location is a little out of the way, but we were given a free city bus pass which ran every half hour and was only about 10 min from downtown. Great breakfast buffet as well. The rooms need upgraded but the beds were comfortable and that's all we needed the room for, to sleep and shower. Recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel31031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.

We are very pleased to see that you do recommend us after staying here with us. We hope that you will give us the pleasure to accommodate you sometime in the future and if you do, we suggest that you upgrade to our newly renovated deluxe rooms which are much bigger in size and more comfortable in every way. You would also have a free access to the tranquil Sóley Natura Spa and an access to our 4th floor lounge.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Check in was a nightmare but after that the hotel was pretty good. We were one of the couples who took advantage of the Travelzoo special last November. Our first day included breakfast and we also opted for the Flybus shuttle to and from Keflavik Airport which I would recommend. However, several of the busses had arrived at the hotel before ours so there was quite a line up in the lobby. My husband got organized and looked after the luggage while I stood in line, starting at around 8:30ish a.m. (Iceland time). We had been up since around 8:00 a.m. MST.
There were 3 ladies at the desk to handle the influx but one of them seemed to be looking after checkouts only and occasionally called over someone to check in. Then after standing in line about 45 minutes, one of the other ladies left, leaving one person to check in the long line up. She was gone for about ½ hour and came back when I was almost at the front of the line. In the meantime another bus or two arrived with more people to check in. I waited in line for about an hour and a quarter total for the first-go-round. When I finally got to the desk (around 9:50) I was told that breakfast was only served till 10, I was given a coupon for the free breakfast buffet and then myself and my husband joined the long line in the buffet. The scrambled eggs and sausage were only lukewarm and around 10:15 when my husband wanted to get some fruit, it had already been cleared away. Then it was back in line for about another 30 minutes before we could get to our room and although we booked a double, there were none available at this time so we opted for the twin as it was 4:30 a.m. Alberta time at this point. I was also told by the desk clerk who was just a tad rude, that I should be grateful because check-in wasn’t until 3:00.

It seemed that the lineups were less as the week progressed so hopefully they have this problem under control. The rest of our stay was very good. The beds were great with good quality bedding. The staff was polite and helpful. The free bus pass which we kept and used everyday for the week we were there, was very convenient and very much appreciated. The bus stop is across the street and takes you to the main terminal where you can just about get to anywhere in Reykjavik. I did have a few problems with the Wifi but the front desk was very helpful and the three times I had to call they were very accomodating and I had Wifi within about 30 minutes.

We loved the ambience and if I was visiting Iceland again I would definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucky7Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.

We are terribly sorry to see that you had to wait for such a long time during check-in and then later at the breakfast buffet. I will make sure to pass your complaint along to the general manager. We are glad however to see that you found the hotel to be of a good standard and our staff to be helpful. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again sometime in the future and I am sure that you will not enter upon the same problem you had this time with the check-in process.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is close to town (free public bus or a ten dollar cab ride) if you go on a package with Icelandic air make sure you buy the upgrade room when you check in. It makes all the difference. Spa, free internet, nicer beds, etc. all for $50 or so per night. Staff are very helpful and nice. You can book tours out of the hotel very easily. Don't eat dinner in the dining room there, service is slow to non-existence. Food is just passable. Probably only weak point of the whole hotel. Super restaurants are only a cab ride away at the same price.

Room Tip: Go for the poet room. It comes with lots of amenities and is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.

We are glad to see that you had a great experience at our hotel and I am glad to see that you went for the upgrade; it definitely is worth the money. Regarding the restaurant I am very sorry to see that you experienced it in such a negative way. I will make sure to pass your comment to the restaurant manager who will most certainly be going over your experience with the staff, to see how we can improve the service.

We would like to thank you again for your all in all positive review and do hope that you will visit us again sometime in the future.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here last week for three nights. We arrived in the early morning along with everyone else coming from the US. Check in moved along though. We knew our room would very likely not be available and wanted to just grab coffee and a muffin. Breakfast wasn't included for check in day so they charged us $22.00 pp. for breakfast. Since i usually pay $5 for breakfast, i figure that $22.00 covered my entire stay and that made those other breakfasts not so free. The selection was good and the food was good-just very over priced. The tour booking desk was fantastic. Johanna saved our day with a booking time mishap. She was extremely patient and accommodating. All the tours come to the hotel and pick you up. Johanna makes it easy. The meals were pricey with very very small portions. The rooms were small but clean and functional. The hotel sits on a small municipal air strip but there was no problem at all with noise. They provide free bus passes to take you into the downtown section. There isn't a lot to do inthe downtown section-the historic district is quite small. There are a few dining options and the usual over priced gift shops. The rest of the city is run down modern.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quincychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.

I am sorry for the confusion regarding the price of the breakfast buffet. That being said I think that $22 for a breakfast buffet is pretty common in a 4 star hotel, at least in Europe. Perhaps our staff member should have been clearer when he charged you for the first time, stating that the price that you were paying was only applicable for this one time. Again I apologize for the misunderstanding.

I am glad to see that Johanna was able to help you out with your day tours, I will make sure to pass your compliment to her.

Hopefully you will have the chance to visit us sometime in the future and if you will be looking for bigger rooms, then I advise you to upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms which are bigger in size and include an access to the spa and to the 4th floor lounge, which has magnificent views.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour package we booked with Icelandair. The hotel is located right next to the domestic airport, but we could barely hear any flights coming in or flying out. The shuttle from Kevlavik airport to the hotel is about an hour. BSI bus terminal is only 10 minute walk away. Location is not the greatest if you want to be where the action is(restaurants, bars, shopping). It is about a 20-30 minutes walk to the City Centre, the hotel however will give you a free city bus pass to use while staying there and busses run about every 30 minutes. It is located in short walking distance to the Pearl which is a beautiful place to visit and has a great view over the surrounding area. The rooms are a nice size, bathrooms are very small and the bed was super comfortable. The breakfast buffet is excellent and cost about CAD$25 per person, it's like a scandinavian buffet including a variety of the freshest breads, buns and pastry, smoked salmon, herring, fresh cut cheeses and meats, a variety of cereals, fresh fruit, sausages, eggs and the list goes on.....I loved it and ate so much every morning, I only needed a small snack during the day. Only had dinner at the SATT restaurant once when the weather was so stormy we didn't want to treck into town; dinner was a bit of a let down, not much variety and over priced. The spa at the hotel was very nice, it had a nice warm pool, hottub and steamroom; our package included one free admission but apparently usually even guests have to pay admission to use the pool/spa facility which I find strange. Front desk clerks were very friendly and they also have a tour desk which will arrange and give you information on any tours you might be interested in. All tours have pick up at the hotel. Check-in wasn't very smooth, we had guaranteed early check-in but so did tons of others who arrived on a 6:30am flight from North America and of course rooms were not ready ready and we had to wait in the lobby for couple of hours before we were able to check in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonDisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The things which cause me to give the above title are: limited hanging space in the room; small bathroom; limited menu at dinner. However - there is much to commend the hotel in general. The reception staff were always friendly and efficient - they need to be since guests are always coming and going. There is also a separate Travel Shop where you can obtain advice and book any tour/excursion that you like. Breakfast has a wide variety of choice but the limited hot food is poor and not always hot. There's a "happy hour" when drinks are half price between 4pm and 6pm. Dinner had a limited unchanging menu with a "Chef's Buffet" which did change every day. This was excellent and good value. Service at happy hour and dinner could be poor - because double the number of staff should be deployed - the staff themselves were fine.
The hotel is next to the domestic airport (but no problem with noise) and is 20/25 minutes walk from the centre of Reykjavik. For those who find this a problem, a free city bus pass is available from reception. The bus stop is 100m away from the front door and runs every half hour to the city bus station - 5 to 7 minutes journey time. The downside of this location is the lack of having the city outside the front door - especially in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATJ350Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing