We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back in a heartbeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited Iceland in April this year, and stayed in this lovely hotel. It was offered through the Icelandair package, and although it's not situated in downtown Reykjavik we picked it for the fact that it has a geothermal pool. I loved this hotel! It's furnished in typical Scandinavian style, with natural woods and calming colors. Breakfast was included on the day of arrival only and it was fabulous. Bread and pastry -fresh and super delicious, large variety of fruits, cold cuts, cereals. I specially loved their version of yogurt called Skyr.
The rooms are not big by North American standards, but it didn't bother us, as we spent all our time outdoors, and only slept in the room, which was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Even though the small domestic airplanes have their runway right behind the hotel, we didn't hear anything.
We rented a car (got a great deal with Budget) and I can't recommend it enough. There is so much to see, and we stayed 4 days only, but still able to see all major attractions in southern Iceland.
We'll definitely be back to see more of this beautiful country. Preferably in summertime.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Since this hotel is mainly used by Iceland Air for their packages, we had low expectations, but we were actually quite pleased by this hotel in general. The morning we arrived they let us check in early for a much needed nap, and during checkin they told us about how that evening they were going to have ghost stories (you could even come wearing your pajamas). We loved it. Someone from the local university told us about the Icelandic sagas, and read us some stories. They also served extraordinarily delicious hot chocolate and pastries. What a lovely introduction to Iceland!

Noise from the airport did not bother us at all, even when we slept during the day when (small) flights were arriving and departing. Loved all the artwork around the hotel too.

My only complaint is that some things didn't work. We had a problem with the circuit breaker for our room tripping, which happened several times. One of the ceiling lights never worked, and even the elevator broke down one day.

As other people have mentioned, they charge for WiFi, but only if you want to use it in your room. If you go down to the lobby (where they have couches and chairs) then it is free (in addition to the two computers there).

It is also right next to the hill upon which sits the Perlan. The top of the Perlan has a very nice view, but our favorite part were the walking trails all over that hill. Definitely nice walks all around it.

I also want to mention the hotel's tour agent, who was very helpful to us. We were able to move one of our tours to a later day and were treated with really spectacular Northern Lights. She was always very helpful and friendly.

Other people have mentioned the location. Yes, it is a bit of a walk to downtown. We had a rental car, so we used that to get into downtown, but then we had to pay for parking of course. But it wasn't that big a deal. It was nice to have a car in October, so we could get around town to see all the sights without dealing with the cold wind and (sometimes) rain.

We ate breakfast at the hotel one morning (it was not included in our package) and it was fine, but expensive. We got a good laugh from the bottle of cod liver oil that they had out for people to drink.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Staff were helpful, but kept awake by slamming doors at 2am most nights.
Bed was uncomfortable too.
One side faces the domestic airport, other sort of overlooks the city.
Nice swimming pool, sauna, steam room etc etc but they charge for usage even if you stay there and want a quick swim!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in October. We arrived at one of Icelandair's typical ungodly early hours(5:00 am), and really wanted a nap before getting a start to the day. The hotel said they had availability, and let us get an extremely early check in, at no extra charge. The spa and pool were nice, although you have to pay for them. We enjoyed the bar downstairs as well. The prices were typical of Iceland, but not over the top.
The hotel itself is quite basic, but comfy enough to sleep, and spend a bit of time in the evenings in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I travelled with my family, the hotel was full of tourists, but did not feel disturbed or had problems sleeping. Rooms and bathroom extremely clean and good size, just nothing special to say apart from that. The hotel is right next to a small airport, but it was only occasionally used and there was no noise coming into the rooms. I think all walls in Iceland a three times thicker than in Spain!
The food in the restaurant was good, there was a decent choice on the menu, but we mostly liked the hamburgers and breakfast was really good. The area around the hotel was a bit empty and remote, but bus free passes were available at reception. The annoying part was that any trip was organised with a small bus, sometimes making trips to 5 hotels at start and end to bring all passengers back to their hotels. I think on one trip we drove around for an hour to come back almost to our hotel only to get transferred on a bigger bus. The main visitor age was about the 60's, so don't go there if you're a young couple looking for some fun in the evening.
I would try something else next time either in town or totally remote.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djasta_Prasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went to Iceland in April 2013. This hotel is part of our travel package. The hotel room is kinda tight compared to the regular rooms in hotels you can see in US. But the amenities are almost complete and compact. It's like you've gone to an IKEA hotel if IKEA would have a hotel....this would be it. Simple furniture, nice lines etc. Bathroom is small, too but has all the things you need (toothbrush, toothpaste, soap, conditioner, shampoo, razor etc.). Room is always clean. Plenty of towels. Bed is comfy. TV is alright. But you have to pay for wi-fi internet. You can use internet through the Apple computer in the lobby but you have to wait for a little bit if they are occupied. As far as I remember, there are only two Apple computers at the lobby that you can use. There's a restaurant inside the hotel too. We had our breakfast there every morning as it was part of our package. But went there for dinner, too. Food is good but pricey compared to downtown restaurant prices. The hotel also offers discount on their spa which was located at the basement of the hotel We could have tried it but it was too late when we found out about the spa. Overall, we had a nice stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views. This hotel is right next to their domestic airport so the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinklestar1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is very nice, and has all the necessities. It came as part of our Iceland package with Go Today. At first, I thought it would be too far, because it was not downtown. The Hotel provides a free bus pass, and the bus is direct and right outside of the hotel, so it is perfect for getting around. On Sundays, the first bus comes after noon, but it was only a 20 minute walk downtown, so that didn't set us back at all.

The rooms are very basic, but the beds are very comfortable. We had two single beds (that is what the twin room is). The only downside was that there was no fan or temperature control, and we like noise. Our iPad solved that problem, though! The rooms are VERY clean and fresh. They also have excellent blackout drapes. Water is incredible. It is perhaps the cleanest water I have ever seen, and it turns both hot and cold in seconds.

The spa downstairs is a dream. BUT it is not free! They do not mention that anywhere, so beware. It was amazing though, if it was free to use the pool, that would be a serious plus.

We really enjoyed the variety of the INCLUDED breakfast at the hotel. It closes fairly early though, so we missed it once. They have tones of cookies, grab a few for afternoon snacks for your excursions!

Overall, this was a great hotel for the value and I would suggest it again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,888 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,748 reviews
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel
#44 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,141 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $139 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing