We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but watch out for the extras” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
“Nice place but watch out for the extras”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having stayed in this hotel multiple times in the past, I was delighted to return. However the place has undergone some changes. Given the remote location of the hotel and the distance from the city centre, it is unfortunate that you now pay for internet access on a daily basis. Moreover, the distance from the centre should imply quiet and tranquility, but my room - which was nicely proportioned, was facing the city airport, and the throughout the night we could hear the snow clearing equipment in action, making it near impossible to sleep. The minibar in the room was empty adding to a rather indifferent experience of the hotel. The menu does not appear to change much over time, and I was therefore obliged to take taxis into the centre to find different food. Will be looking to stay some where else next time around as the hotel needs to learn to keep pace with competition and with the expectation of travellers. The place was clean and the room large, but shame about the extras...

Room Tip: You may wish to avoid facing the airport, when snow is on the horizon. The views are good, but the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Visitor931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am very sorry to hear that Reykjavik Natura did not meet your expectations. I can understand that you did not have much sleep because of the snow clearing equipment at the airport. When this happens, we advise our guests to close the windows since they are completely soundproof. Regarding the minibar, a decision was made last year to discontinue to have a minibar in the guest rooms. Instead, our guests can use it as a mini fridge and go for a drink down at our lovely Satt bar. We also sell beer and wine in the lobby 24/7 which our guests can take with them up to the rooms. The chefs are working on a new menu for Satt Restaurant which will have more variety so hopefully, if you ever return, you will give it another try. I am really sorry to hear that you are thinking about staying somewhere else but hopefully you will give us another chance since we really want to keep our returning customers satisfied and meet their high expectations.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    904
    356
    48
    23
See reviews for
285
782
155
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura hotel for 4 nights as a part of our Icelandair Northern Lights Holiday. Although we didn't see the lights (too cloudy) or go on the Whale Watch (too windy), we did enjoy our time at the hotel. There were three of us sharing a triple room which was comfortable, clean and simple, just what we needed for a base for the trip. We arrived at about 1am after our flight from Heathrow and were checked in by pleasant reception staff. Everytime we had a question about anything, the staff were more than happy to help - and did so with a smile. We had dinner at the Satt restaurant on our first full night - which was tasty and well presented. The pool and spa facilities were excellent (though do cost for use), although we were not able to book any treatments as they were fully booked. The hotel has WIFI which is not free, which was a bit disappointing, but there were two public computers available for use.

The hotel, itself, is about a 20 minute walk into the city centre, however, they also provide you (free of charge) bus tickets to be used on the bus which stops directly outside the hotel. This was a bonus as it was so windy! We loved everything about Iceland - and to have a nice base such as this was a lucky break!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hildegardv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am really glad to see that you had such a great stay with us. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again and be able to enjoy some treatments at the Sóley Natura spa. I also recommend you to try our Bedtime Stories on Thursday nights. These bedtime stories, located in our in-door theatre room, are free for guests to attend and presented in English. We also encourage you to wear your pyjamas; we’ll provide the hot chocolate and some blankets under which to snuggle during the readings.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise.

We booked a last minute 3 day break to Iceland on a whim because it was a cheap package booked through the Icelandair website, and a change of scenery. We spent our first night at this hotel. Ample parking and very easy to find from the road with sat nav even in the driving snow!

Reception staff - really very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with some nice touches in terms of quality bathroom products and the shower was great. Beds were very conducive to sleep, which is the most important thing. It's opposite a small domestic airport so you get a little aircraft noise, but it wasn't during the hours you really want to sleep so it wasn't a problem.

The bar in the evening was a nice looking area but we didn't stay owing to a very drunk American tourist who was slurring loudly and talking a load of absolute **** which made the bar an undesirable place to spend time in - not the hotel's fault at all, although I hope they stopped serving him alcohol.

Breakfast was the usual buffet affair that you find in a tourist class hotels such as this - not great, but you fill yourself up with what you want and move on.

The only other minor drawback of the hotel is that it is not walkable to the centre of Reykjavik (it may not be far, but the roads are not pedestrian friendly), but it's only 5 minutes in a cab which are cheap and easy enough to come by. Both drivers we met were very friendly and helpful - another very nice surprise.

Iceland is a great country to visit, with very friendly people and good food, believe it or not, if you hunt it out. Go for it, and if this hotel is on your package itinerary then you needn't worry - it's absolutely fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the non-airport runway side of the hotel. Unless you are a plane spotter, in which case I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunkerbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
Thank you also for taking the time to praise our staff. We empathize much on customer service so you can imagine how great it is to receive such a positive comment regarding our service. You are right about the airport, they don´t take off or land during the night time so our guests can enjoy a pleasant sleep without any airport noise. The windows are also soundproof so if you visit us again and you are having trouble with the airport noise during the day, you can always close the windows to exclude the noise. I am sorry to hear that there was another guest disturbing you in the bar. Our policy is to stop serving guests who are impolite to other guests, so I assume that he was not served any more drinks after you left. Like you mentioned it is hard to control how our guests behave but we always try to find a solution to fit all of our guests needs when this happens. Fortunately this happens very seldom. I am glad to see that you liked the people and the food in Iceland. If you return to Reykjavik Natura again, I advise you to make use of our free bus ticket service, if you want to save some money on taxi fares. However if you visit us during the summertime, I definitely recommend you to enjoy a lovely walk into Reykjavik central area.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire. England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

From start to finish we very much enjoyed our stay at the Natura. The reception staff were so helpful and friendly. The room although not 5 star was very clean and just right for a short stay the bar and restaurant staff were also very good. The food served in the restaurant was simple but very well cooked and presented. Use the pool it is a great way to finish the day. What let the 5 Star rating down was the information/excursions desk at the hotel. Don't want to be too harsh because she seemed like a nice girl but the seemed very disinterested and bored with her work. Just the body language of when you had eye contact with her did not instil confidence on the products. We booked for the Gateway Golden Circle with her. When we were picked up at 8am in the morning we were told we were not booked on the tour. Some negotiation in Icelandic with the lady on the day and we we allowed on the tour. Did she forget? Just a little point on a great stay. Thanks.

Room Tip: Use the pool and spa facilities if you can. First rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redcote9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
Thank you also for taking the time to praise our reception staff, they will be very happy to hear your compliment. However I am very sorry to hear about the service breakdown at the tour/excursions desk. Thank you for notifying us though, I will forward your polite complaint to the tour desk management. I am glad to hear that you liked your overall stay and I agree that it´s nice to finish the day at Sóley Natura spa. You are most certainly welcome back to Reykjavik Natura

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our second (and third) stays at the Natura. The staff is attentive, fluent in Icelandic and English, and knowledgeable. The rooms are somewhat different than what Americans are used to in our hotels: rooms are smaller and really just for sleeping; bathroom is very small; and the beds are more of a platform bed with separate linens for each side of a double bed (it may seem odd but it works and is really comfortable). There is a good restaurant and bar on site. They have recently added aspa. I hope to try that out on our next stay. The rooms are immaculate and the location is convenient to downtown and to the regional airport for in-country flights!

Room Tip: If touring, you really only need the double room, not a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
You absolutely must try out the Sóley Natura Spa, next time you visit us. It truly is a wonderful place. I am glad that you tried out Satt restaurant and Satt bar. You are most welcome to stay with us again.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Do not be deceived by the outside of this hotel as as soon as you walk in it's modern, clean and welcoming. The restaurant and bar area are cosy without being one on top of each other and prices are reasonable. The staff are also friendly, approachable and knowledgable.
Most rooms have been refurbished but there are still a few that haven't so make sure you specify as the original rooms are as nice but are still clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was a large selection of cereals, hot breakfasts and continental, therefore something for everybody and was served until 1000 which is a lot more sympathetic to those of us that are late risers.
Previous reviewers have mentioned the airport but this is a domestic airport where only smaller aircraft are allowed to land within certain hours and traffic is very light. Our first room was on the airport side and very little was heard.
Overall this is a nice hotel in a convenient location for Reykjavik, onward flights to both Akureyri and Egilssdadir and for exploring the area and had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jena-828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear, traveler

I would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience with us, it was very pleasant to read your comment. I am glad to see that you liked the location of the hotel, it really is an advantage to be surrounded be the Icelandic nature but still only 2,5 km from the Reykjavik central area. Yes I agree that it is necessary to have the breakfast buffet available until 10:00 a.m. for those who want to make an extra use of our comfortable beds.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of our tour package through IcelandAir. Hotel was cozy, great fireplace by the bar. There was 3 of us and we all had a separate room, we usually all share one room. It was nice having a room to myself. We were all on the same floor and together, that was nice. Staff was nice and friendly. Hotel gave us free bus tickets to get into town. The pool at the Hotel was great, warm and relaxing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Sales Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear, traveler

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
It is always pleasant to hear that our guests want to visit us again, you are most welcome to do so. I agree that the fireplace by the bar is really cozy after a long day exploring Reykjavik and beyond.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#14 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 3,012 reviews
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#29 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#24 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 741 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing