We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Average Hotel just outside of central Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, Average Hotel just outside of central Reykjavik”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a great stay at the Icelandair Hotel Natura in Reykjavik. We used the hotel as our base for daytrips around the region. It is right by the road that leads you directly to the highway, so the hotel proved to be a convenient location. The hotel is right next to the regional airport, which was fine for the most part. However, there were a couple mornings when we woke up to the sound of plane engines. (Maybe try to request a room that faces the front of the hotel). The room itself was small but clean and sufficient. There appeared to be no temperature control, and with the weather being unseasonably warm, so we opened the window…which may have led us to notice the airport a bit more. Town is an easy 20 minute walk and there are sidewalks the whole way. We usually drove into town for dinner in the evening, we never had trouble finding parking and street parking is free after 6. There were also several miles of trails directly around the hotel; upon check-in you receive a map of the trails (wish I would have brought my running shoes!). The staff was very nice and always available. The bar area was nice too. For some reason I was under the impression that in-room wireless Internet was a charge, but wired Internet was free. Not true; any in-room Internet service is a charge; however, they have a couple of computers in the lobby that are free for guests. Overall, we had a nice stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeTrotter1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear, guest

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am glad to hear that you had a nice stay at Reykjavik Natura. However I am very sorry for the lack of temperature control during your stay. Our windows are sound proof so usually our guest don´t hear from the airplanes in the morning, unless they have to sleep with their windows open, like it was in your case. For that I apologize and we will definitely try to find out the reason for the temperature breakdown. Yes, you should definitely bring your running shoes with you next time you visit us and make use of our map of paths and trails surrounding the hotel.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    1,050
    422
    55
    32
See reviews for
340
927
179
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

You would expect more from this hotel but it seems to have lost most of its glory. Rooms are a bit worn out but overall still ok. Its outside the city centre but the hotel provides free bus tockets. Two busses per hour leave from the bus-stop on the road.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deckek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear, Deckek

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am very sorry to hear that you found Reykjavik Natura not so special. If you stay with us again I want to make sure that you know of all the special things that you can find at Reykjavik Natura. First of all you should definitely try our lovely Sóley Natura SPA for a relaxation. At the SPA you´ll find an indoor swimming pool but for your information, Reykjavik Natura is the only hotel that has an indoor swimming pool. I also recommend you to have a lunch or dinner at our popular restaurant, Satt. There you will find an a la carte menu which emphasis on fresh and healthy food, mostly made from Icelandic ingredients. If you want to experience some Icelandic culture or traditions we have a theatre room that shows Icelandic movies every night and on Thursday nights we have Bedtime Stories. These Bedtime Stories are free for our guests to attend and presented in English. We also encourage you to wear your pyjamas; we’ll provide the hot chocolate and some blankets under which to snuggle during the readings. We also have a large art collection from Icelandic artists and you can stay at our poet & art rooms which are dedicated to Icelandic artists and poets.
If you feel like walking around there are a lot of walking paths surrounding the hotel where you can enjoy the nature or take a 20 minute walk into Reykjavik center.
Regarding our rooms, most of the rooms have been renovated and we plan to renovate most of our “older” rooms in 2013.
Hopefully you will be able to visit us in the near future and stay at a newly renovated room and make use of our indoor and outdoor activities.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
153 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were part of a tour that booked us at the Natura and when you walk in it's very nice. We stayed one night and then flew out the next day to Akureyri. This night we stayed right above the check in desk (front of the hotel) and our room was very nice and quiet. Unfortunately we had single beds that could not be put together but for one night it was ok. This place is very close to the regional airport so leaving the next day was very quick, however to get a cab from here to the airport is about $18 US dollars. Staff was great, morning buffet breakfast was very good. We also stayed here our last night before we left and were on the side part of the hotel above the conference rooms and they were very old, small and really noisy! I couldn't believe it was the same hotel. Don't stay on this side!!! You must use the spa they have at the hotel it is awesome!!! Location is good. about 1 1/2 miles if you walked to the old town or you can take the bus that they will give you tickets for. Ask for two tickets per person as they will only give you one and that will expire after two hours. If you let it expire it will cost about $3.20US to get back. Make sure you go to the flea market on Saturday. You can get some great bargins as Iceland is very expensive!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the front rooms of this hotel and make sure you visit the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRtravelerDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.

I am sorry to hear about your troubles regarding our rooms. We only have few rooms at Reykjavik Natura that have single beds which cannot be put together. It is also true that some of our rooms have not been renovated recently and are not as cozy as our newly renovated rooms. However we are planning to renovate almost every room at our hotel in 2013. Usually there is no noise from our conference rooms but we have been using them for our Christmas buffet last couple of weeks. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. I am really glad to hear that you were happy with our Staff, our breakfast buffet and our lovely SPA. If you stay with us again I would definitely recommend you to request a double room and if you will stay with us in 2013 or later, you will most likely than stay at a renovated room.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel was part of our Icelandair package and it turned out to be a great spot, although
not right downtown. Located by the local airport, it is about an hour's drive by bus from the
main airport. It's a lovely facility, modern, clean, comfortable and the staff is wonderfully
efficient. There is a bus stop right across the street with busses into town (about a 20
minute walk, which might be fun in the summer but not in the rain, snow and wind), and the
hotel supplies guests with bus tickets. The room was spotless, the breakfast buffet was
generous and delicious, and the spa in the basement was fabulous. On our last day there
we opted to pay an extra amount of money (about $12) for the Sunday brunch rather than
the breakfast buffet, and it was well worth it. Really fabulous. We actually never did have
a bad meal in all of Iceland, I am happy to report. Two computers set up in the lobby for
convenient use by the guests, Free. We had a room on the front of the hotel and it was
very quiet. Highly recommend this hotel. Rooms are a little small, but we were only there
to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinaylorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear, Carolina
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I´m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura. You should definitely visit us during the summer time when the weather is better and you can enjoy a walk to the Reykjavik central area, since it is a lovely walk. I´m pleased to hear that you tried out our Brunch buffet and liked it so much. If you would like a bigger room next time you stay with us I would recommend you to upgrade to our Deluxe rooms. They are much bigger and include access to the Sóley Natura Spa and our Lounge.
Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
786 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Nice hotel near the domestic airport. Clean, cozy, efficient rooms with plenty of hot water and heat. Great indoor pool and spa area. Delicious breakfast buffet and cozy bar area with a fireplace. A bit far from downtown (but across the street from the Pearl) but the front desk provides free bus tickets and the stop is just across the street from the main entrance to the hotel. Bus drivers very helpful--and everyone speaks English for when you get lost! There is a travel desk just off the lobby to help you book local tours. We recommend the Golden Circle trip and don't foget to book a trip to the Blue Lagoon. Fly Bus can accommodate a side trip on the way back to the international airport (Keflavik).

Room Tip: The local airport is right next door, so maybe ask for a city view room to avoid looking at (and hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear, Mary
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I agree that the bar area is very cozy and a good place to enjoy a drink or two. It´s nice to hear that you could use our free bus ticket service and it´s good to know that the bus drivers can help out when you get lost. You can always ask for directions in the Hotel Lobby as well. Hopefully you were able to visit The Pearl next to Reykjavik Natura to enjoy the fantastic view over the city. I would also like to thank you for your comment regarding the rooms. To be honest we seldom get complaints over the airport since there are no airplanes flying during the night time and our windows are totally soundproof. But I´m glad to hear your point of view. I´m very pleased that you found our breakfast so delicious since we take great pride in our wonderful breakfast buffet.
Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I also agree with the last several reviews of Natura which comment on the helpfulness of the staff and the cleanliness of the room and facilities. Our package had the breakfast buffet included in the price and the Icelandair deal was good value. We used the bus to get into town from the stop directly across from the hotel after getting free bus tickets from the hotel reception. The bus service was frequent. We also used a taxi (around 1600 IK about £7) to get to the downtown Seafood Grill restaurant (excellent) and taxis seems cheap, safe and plentiful. We were on the Iceland Air Northern Lights package. Flea market near the harbour (Saturday and Sunday 9-5pm) was interesting and the new Harpa concert hall also near the harbour is worth a look around, design shop restaurants etc. The pavements were very icy but the best way to get to the Pearlum worth the trip for the views from the free outside viewing platform is to walk up the main road to the left hand side of the Pearlum which there is frost free path past by the Bowling alley. My wife said the free spa was excellent though small and again staff helpful. The National Museum is a 20 minute walk and is well worth a visit for a concise history of Iceland and the viewing platform at the top of the main Church (600IK). Would also highly recommend the all day Golden Circle tour. Didn't see the Northern lights clear night but they didn't show so must go again on the new direct easy jet service from edinburgh (starts March 2013)! Tax free shopping is also a bonus (15-20%) and the Hotel has a handy desk to book tours by the reception with a small shop. Remember to get the necessary tax free documents to claim the tax back at the airport. Also note the Hotel bar's happy hour (50% of alcoholic drinks) every day between 4-6pm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edm0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Edmon,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.

It is good that you were able to use our free bus service during your stay. I´m also glad that you found our staff helpful. That´s always good to know and I will make sure to pass that compliment on to them.
It´s nice to hear that you´re planning a trip to Iceland in 2013. I would definitely recommend that you come to Iceland during the summer time. I promise you that there will be no icy paths in Reykjavik next summer so you´ll be able to enjoy all the walking routes in the beautiful nature surrounding Reykjavik Natura.

Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A group package that included flight, hotel and a glacier walk. The best experience I have ever had. Dominick (sp?) was the best bartender that I have ever had the opportunity to meet. The hotel was extremely accommodating and the spa was fantastic. 100/100.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear, Dana
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, Reykjavik Natura.
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and at Reykjavik Natura. I will make sure to pass your greetings to Dominik, he surely will be very pleased to receive your compliment.
Warm regards,
Trausti Karlsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing