We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel as part of the Icelandair package promotion. The hotel is situated close to the domestic airport, walking distance to Perlan (The Pearl) and about a half hour walk to Reykjavik city center. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to/from city center. I don't recommend walking into the city center as there is a part of the road on a busy street with no sidewalks. If you miss the shuttle, the public yellow buses are across the street and it's a quick ride to downtown. The hotel is clean, comfortable, helpful front desk and offered free wifi. We didn't utilize the spa services or the bar/restaurant in the hotel so I cannot comment on them. There are two Mac computers in the lobby and you can book day tours in the store. Unless you're starving, try to refrain from buying food at the store as it's double, sometimes triple the price we found around town in markets and gas station reststops. Overall, a nice hotel close enough to city center that offers a clean room and comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DigsInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icelandairhotel, Front Office Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Dear DigsInNY

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay with us. Indeed, the complimentary shuttle and local city bus are convenient for our guests if weather or time do not allow for a walk to downtown. There are good sidewalks all the way to downtown though, so I am disappointed our front desk staff weren’t able to give you the right directions for these.
I am glad your overall experience was a positive one and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura.
Kind regards
KatelijneBeerten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,730 - 1,736 of 2,172 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed as part of an Icelandair package, arrived at the hotel from the airport at about 8AM and checked right in, no trouble!!

About 25 minute walk from town. Very convenient for tour-operator pick-up/drop-off right at your door. Some downtown hotels the streets are too narrow for the bus and you have to walk. Free internet for one day per email.. use a second email and get away with two free days! ;-)

Very Scandinavian-modern design. Clean and bright. Twin beds only. Nice, new, clean bathroom, though a bit small. Rooms and water were plenty warm (a pleasant surprise given the temps outside). Tried to use the indoor pool, but was so busy seeing the sights that it was always closed when we finally got home to try it!

Tour booking agent/gift shop right in the lobby open 8AM-8PM. Super convenient.

Breakfast buffet was disappointing and expensive, but works if you're pressed for time. If you do have time, there is a Subway sandwich shop about 10-minute walk from the hotel and right next to the BSI (Reykjavik Excursions) Bus Terminal that serves almost all day. We had trouble with Icelandic food and the Subway saved our budget and our stomachs! Especially convenient if you're on the RE tours!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahGrapesArney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icelandairhotel, Front Office Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Dear Sarahgrapes

Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked your stay at the Reykjavík Natura. Indeed, the location is ideal as a base for daytrips as well as being very close to nature.

Hopefully you will be able to visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Katelijne Beerten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I spent five days in Iceland from 9th - 14th Feb 2012 with the holiday being booked via an Icelandair "Northern Lights" offer. We had a super time and loved Iceland and this hotel.
Upon arrival at the "Hotel Icelandair Natura" we were invited to upgrade our room for about £20 a night and we did so, although in fairness we had no knowledge of what a standard room was like. We had initially thought that an upgrade included breakfast and this probably influenced our decision at check-in although staff quickly and politely advised us that this was not so.
We were allocated a lovely room on the third floor with a comfortable bed, coffee & tea making, a great bathroom with personal bathrobes and access to the fourth floor lounge every evening where we enjoyed free soft drinks, coffee and various home made pastries etc. There were some minor issues with the upgrade that required attention from the hotel staff but these were resolved within a reasonable time and caused us no problem. I think the efficient resolution of problems is a positive issue. At all times we found the staff to be professional, polite and always helpful. They were a credit to the hotel and Icelandair.
The interior of the hotel is extremely pleasant and we certainly enjoyed the wonderful spa pool, using our robes to relax in after a swim within the lounge area. Access to the (free) computers in the reception area was relatively easy to achieve although at busy times there was a short wait but the personal time allocated to each user was sufficient for our use. Additionally the tour desk situated close to reception was ideal and we booked various day trips after our arrival at the hotel in accordance with our daily plans.
There were only two slightly negative issues experienced, the first being that of the geographic position of the hotel in relation to the centre of Reykjavik although a free shuttle operates to and from the hotel at various times of the day. The second negative issue (for us) is the high cost of dinner in the hotel's restaurant.
We did use the hotel shuttle buses when we could and were grateful for the travel into the city centre but I felt that in the cold February weather there was an insufficient number available for the return journey especially mid afternoon or mid evening. We walked many times in wind, snow and rain, taking about 30 minutes although it has to be said that the walk route is on good pathways with road crossing being facilitated by traffic lights and the courteous Icelandic drivers who we found always gave way to pedestrians. I recognise that in summer this may not be so much of an issue and may not be an issue if guests decided not to venture out of the hotel other than on pre-booked activity tours. Reykjavik is not a New York, London or Paris in terms of city sights but it is a charming city with lots of character with great coffee shops, restaurants and other delights and as such it would be sad to ignore what is on offer.
I wonder if more shuttles could be provided especially one during the late afternoon and one mid evening although I recognise that this would incur additional expense for the hotel. Perhaps a way around this could be with the cost of all shuttle trips being met via a small token fare from hotel guests?
Prior to our trip we knew that Iceland was an expensive place to visit but we quickly realised that to eat in the hotel regularly would really stretch our bank balance. Breakfast was 2300K (£14) each which isn't too bad but when we ate (once) in the Saga restaurant a two course meal, with one glass of wine each was, over 12300K (£70 or $105 in real money) before the tip/gratuity. Notwithstanding the high cost, that one meal was however delicious and we had a very pleasant night but our budget would have been hard hit if we had eaten all meals within the hotel over a five day period.
Perhaps I could suggest that the hotel consider offering a less expensive "menu of the day" or even a buffet alongside to the main menu, similar to that which is often seen in other parts of Europe and the USA. The hotel did offer a range of "light bites" but these were equally expensive and insufficient for the purpose of a meal. As a consequence we mainly dined in Reykjavik as did other hotel residents that we spoke to, enjoying the many coffee shops and city restaurants with good meals being served to us for what we considered a reasonable cost.
As a tip try to visit the Klinglan shopping mall which has a great food hall where you can buy everything from traditional Icelandic fare to what may be considered international, at very reasonable prices. On one cold afternoon returning from a tour, I have no qualms in admitting that in this mall, we enjoyed huge slices of pizza from the US based company "Sbarro", wonderful, and cost only about 650K each (£4 or $6). We then enjoyed "Earl Grey" tea with huge cakes for about the same price!
My wife and I have already agreed that we would love to return to Iceland, perhaps at a different time of the year in order that we can contrast what the country has to offer in an alternative season and we would return to the Hotel Natura.

Room Tip: Try the upgrade to a "poets room" if offered as the rooms are great and there are a range...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jasmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icelandairhotel, Front Office Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Dear Jasmic

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments, we really appreciate this! Just to let you know that as an environmentally certified hotel, we are currently looking into different options how we can improve the transportation choices to downtown Reykjavik without increasing our CO2 footprint.

As the contrasts between the seasons in Iceland are very significant, we would certainly recommend a return visit and hope to be able to welcome you again here at our Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura.

Kindest regards

Katelijne Beerten
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here as part of a travel package to Iceland. It is a great place. It's so convenient (the hotel provides free shuttle service to and from the international airport), it is close to the center of the city (20 minute walk, or 2-minute free shuttle), it is immaculate, the beds are comfy, the breakfast is fantastic (have the pancakes), the tour office in the lobby is helpful with bookings, the geothermal pool (guests access it for free) is great, and the staff are super friendly. My only complaint is that it's a really busy place so it's difficult to get access to the free internet computers, and I also hate crowds so it's annoying to be around so many people during breakfast, check-in, etc. This is a great place, and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LANYC1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icelandairhotel, Front Office Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Dear Lanyc1110

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. It encourages us to keep on trying to make all our guests happy. We are glad you were able to enjoy some of the different amenities our hotel offers.
Just to prevent any misunderstanding: the hotel does not offer free shuttle service to and from the international airport, this service was most likely included in the package you bought.
I am really glad you liked our pancakes; they are one of the staple foods in our breakfast!
I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon to the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura.
Warm regards
Katelijne Beerten
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights as part of a great Icelandair package. We met quite a few Americans taking advantage of the same package, so Icelandair's marketing must be working! This hotel is owned by Icelandair, and used to be known as the Loftleidir. It has a very 60s appearance from outside, but the interior has been recently renovated and is very modern. The lobby features clean lines and a cool projection of nature photos adjacent to the front desk. The sheep sculputures made of wood add a humorous touch!

Front desk staff was very friendly and efficient for check in and out. We had a "moss" room. All the rooms have nature themes and feature photos related to the particular theme. The room, while small, had a comfy double bed, desk, chair, small area rug (rest of flooring was wood-toned laminate), and shelf for belongings. There's no actual closet, but a small space for hanging clothes. There's a small fridge, so we bought food to make our own breakfasts and lunches. There's a pot for heating hot water, along with tea and instant coffee. Suggest you bring Starbuck's Via coffee, as the instant provided is not very good. The coffee creamer was not replenished while we were there, the only housekeeping flaw we encountered. Actually, we just bought some cream - much better anyway! The bathroom was modern and immaculately clean. Small shower, with dispenser for some shower gel that I guess could double as shampoo. No other amenities (other than shower cap) were provided. We didn't notice any way to adjust the room temperature but didn't need to as it was always warm and cozy, even as it was snowing outside. The room was very quiet and we slept well every night.

We ate in the hotel restaurant (Satt) one night. The restaurant needs to work on their service. When we first arrived, we were told there were no tables and to return in 30 minutes. We asked if we could put down our room number to hold a spot. When we returned, the hostess was gone, and there was no record of our "reservation." So we waited all over again until a table became available. Then the server brought me the wrong soup. I have to say, though, that the "meat soup" I received instead was excellent and hearty, and the accompanying bread was outstanding. The server was apologetic about the error and provided a free glass of wine as compensation.

The hotel has a lovely indoor pool and hot spa, free for hotel guests. There are nice locker rooms with showers and free use of towels. The area has low lighting and peaceful ambiance, so soothing after walking in the cold. The spa offers other services, such as massages, for various fees.

As many have noted, this hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the center of town. We're walkers anyway, so we made this walk a lot, although it was cold! In summer, it wouldn't be bad, though there are busy streets to cross. On the other hand, the hotel is close to Perlan (the path up to it is across the street), and Nautholsvik "beach" is down the road. A tip - if you're taking the Flybus into Reykjavik from the airport, you can be dropped off at the BSI bus terminal, and then just walk the 1/2 mile or so to the hotel (saves the surcharge for hotel dropoff).

Our package included a great Golden Circle tour, including a spa visit, dinner, and attempts to see the Northern Lights. As it was overcast, we weren't successful seeing them, our only disappointment of a wonderful trip. We did get to go skiiing at Blafjoll, however, a nice ski resort only about 1/2 hour outside of town. If you're interested, be sure to check their website before going, as it's iffy when they're open, due to changeable weather.

All in all, we had a very nice stay at the Hotel Reykjavik Natura and wouldn't mind staying again, especially during the long summer days when walking would be pleasant!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeanette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We chose this hotel for our Icelandair package after reading Trip Advisor reviews, thinking for the price a 20-30 minute walk was worth the cheaper price. However, half of that walk is across open country so in windy, rainy weather it is miserable. The infrequent shuttles meant we staying in entirely one day. There are no other cafes, coffee shops close by but if you stay there the Nautholl Bistro is highly recommended.
Aside from the location, we enjoyed the hotel. The breakfast buffet was extensive. Happy Hour (4-6 pm) is a good deal for beer or wine, it doesn't extend to food. The spa was very nice and the spa products were wonderful. In the winter don't miss the Thursday night "Bedtime Stories" read by a local folklorist (in our case, a professor at the University). I enjoyed the 3 films showed at 9 p.m. in rotation as was the only attendee. The hotel was recently renovated and our standard room was quite comfortable and the public areas attractive. If only it wasn't so far away from everything.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here as part of an Icelandic package. The hotel overlooks the runway of the regional airport, which is quite interesting. However, we heard no noice whatsoever from that airport. The hotel is basic, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were quite satisfactory. Although there was a shuttle into Reykjavik, we most often took the 30 minute or so walk. If you like walking, it is a nice walk both during the day and at night. A taxi from town to the hotel was reasonable and all the taxis took credit cards, which was a big plus. The hotel would also call a taxi for you and it would be there in minutes. There is a tourist office in the lobby which can book any tour your heart desires. One tour I would recommend is a bicycle tour of Reykjavik. It's as good as a walking tour but you cover a lot more ground. Would I stay here again? If I'll be on various tours, definitely. No reason to pay more for a hotel "in town." But even a hotel "in town" is a walk from the areas you would be visiting, albeit less than the 30 minute walk from the Natura.

Room Tip: You can overlook the runway of the regional airport or you can overlook the entry courtyard and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarvinLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,748 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,131 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $133 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing