We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We did the three day package trip to Iceland and stayed at this hotel. It is quite a distance from downtown, from the outside looks very "industrial" and the rooms are very small. But having said this - we were very pleased with how clean the hotel was. The linens and room were immaculate. Service by the front desk was very pleasant and the buffett breakfast was about the best we have ever encountered. The hotel does have some shuttles to downtown but they don't run as frequently as we would have liked so we walked which took us about 20 minutes to the center of town. Overall I think if a traveler understands the distance from downtown and the size of the rooms they will be pleasantly surprised with all of the other amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the hotel from the airport. While it didn't bother us too m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtle4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,837 - 1,843 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed in the Hotel Natura (formerly Loftleider) for three nights on a recent getaway break in Iceland.
Overall I am pretty happy wit this hotel. The pool area and spa are lovely, so relaxing and there is a pretty decent bar area...have the Polar Beer instead of the Gull, it is much better.
The rooms are spotless, as is the whole hotel to be fair, but they are very very small. I don't go on holiday to relax in my room, but in fairness, these rooms are among the smallest I can remember staying in for quite a while.
The hotel restaurant called Satt is so-so, a bit pricey and they are a bit casual about cooking the red meats, the burgers were pink.
Natura is about a 15-20 walk from downtown which is a bit far, but there are a few complimentary shuttles each day, to and from the downtown area.
The breakfast is outstanding by the way, a sis the tours desk. Make sure to do the Golden Circle tour and the trip to the Blue Lagoon.

Room Tip: Get a room on the road side of the hotel...the other side faces the airport runway! Bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

If I'd come expecting a budget hotel I would have been satisfied but we stayed here as part of an Icelandair package where this hotel was advertised as 4* (the best available).

The building is incredibly ugly, it's a 20 minute walk from the city centre and expect to be woken by aircraft every morning as it backs onto Reykjavik domestic airport. Whilst the staff are very friendly and the facilities are good the rooms are very basic.

All in all, Reykjavik Natura was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigSwatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Ok, so popping over to Reykjavik from Toronto, Canada for a three day weekend is a crazy kind of thing to do...but it was wonderful. The Natura was part of a spur of the moment package, and was very good value. It is really a business kind of hotel, and not the best location...its on the edge of town at the municipal airport, and while the walk into the centre of town isn't terribly long, maybe 20 minutes, it's along a highway and so unpleasant. I don't recommend it. There are free shuttle buses but they are infrequent; just grab a cab.

But the hotel itself is very clean and comfortable. We had a standard room, which was modest with an adequate bathroom and shower stall, no bath. We don't spend much time in our hotel rooms when we travel, so this was fine. We found the staff is polite and competent but a little overwhelmed by the volumn of people (the place was full with other North Americans on the same last minute package.

The restaurant is very, very good. And they do a wonderful buffet healthy and very Icelandic breakfast, with fabulous breads and meuslis and granolas they make there, nice and dense and seedy. There is a beautiful three story mosaic on the outside, and the spa is lovely and very peaceful.

we will definitely go back to Iceland, but would probably choose a hotel in down town Reykjavik for the convenience. But the Natura is perfectly acceptable and good value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthAtlanticBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

They have recently gone through renovations and they might be a bit ahead of themselves (at least when I stayed there). But it is a nice place to stay. I stayed in both a regular room and a deluxe room about 30 days apart and my experience was completely different each time. The regular rooms are tiny but the bathrooms are rather spacious (horrible lighting....made me look like a zombie, so I put on my makeup at the window). The beds are comfy and the rooms are clean. Very small tv with only a few channels to choose from. The deluxe room was amazing. Very spacious! Had a king bed, huge flat screen tv with a sitting area of a couch and 2 over stuffed chairs. The foyer was nice with a large mirror and chair and the bathroom was simply divine. It had a cool view of the airport right outside the massive windows in the room. The difference in the rooms was astounding. If you can afford the upgrade do it! The restaurant is wonderful. Some of the best food I have eaten. The staff is helpful but can seem a bit bothered. Maybe that had to do with the massive amounts of people staying at the hotel both times I was there. The best thing about this place is the pool/spa. Pack your swimsuit and take a dip...you will be pleased. For those of you who think you can walk from the airport to the hotel...you are wrong (unless you want to walk for an hour with bags). Take a taxi. Overall, this is a nice hotel but they were still working out the kinks when I was there. But I am sure they will have it all ironed out soon.

Room Tip: If you don't care about the size of your room book the regular rooms. If you want space to sprea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalilama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I booked this hotel as part of a package and it wa well worth the price. The rooms were basic with acceptable beds (made better with a comfy feather bed). The bathroom wasn't too small, but the shower (no tub) was almost miniscule. The hotel is rated a 4-star, but in my opinion the only thing that gives that rating is the spa--other than that it is a nice 3-star. Breakfast was included with the room, and consists of a nice buffet. Anbody could start off their day very well on what was included. The restaurant was great, and suprisingly affordable, compared to prices in city center. Two drawbacks: it is an hour from the Keflavik airport, which serves Reykjavik; and it is about a half-hour walk from city center. There are, however, periodic free shuttlebuses. Unfortunately, they didn't run when I was ready to ride them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keelx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Booked as part of an Icelandair package, we arrived in the morning and were able to check in after the FlyBus transfer from Keflavik. Since I enjoy watching airplanes, I asked for a room facing the airport. This is NOT the international airport, but the domestic one with turboprops as the aircraft.

Room: The room came with a double bed, TV, desk and chair, and leather sitting chair. The room was not large, but we never felt cramped as we have in many European hotels. There was plenty of room for our luggage and for us to move around without bumping into one another. The bathroom had a shower, no bathtub. Amenities: Instant coffee and water hotpot, in-room safe, refrigerator, hair dryer, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner (all in shower dispenser). Internet was good and consistent. The window opens so that you can get fresh air. Bed was clean and comfortable, though a bit soft, with a warm duvet. Wood flooring. Electric outlets are sparse and inconveniently located, so you may want to bring a 220v extension if you have one. No 110v outlets.

Location: The hotel is not in the downtown center area, but the hotel runs a shuttle bus. Tours regularly pick up at this hotel. There is a public bus line that stops on the street outside the hotel parking lot. We did not find the location difficult, but we did need to keep shuttle bus times in mind. Taxis are not cheap, so it is a $15 ride to/from the town center.

Staff: Very friendly staff, welcoming and happy to assist your visit.

Facilities: There is a restaurant, lounge, coffee bar, snack bar, indoor pool/hot tub, and full service spa. Small gift shop and tour desk. An outdoor deck facing the airport is available for dining/drinking.

Evaluation: While not a luxury or high-upscale hotel, we would gladly return. The hotel provided everything we needed for our trip, the location is known and serviced by tour companies, and the shuttle bus worked for our trips into the city center. If you prefer to be in walking distance of the city center area, this will not work for you. Don't expect luxury - expect an fully functioning Nordic-style hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the airport. If you like viewing airplanes, ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillCreekDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,835 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel
#44 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,100 reviews
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $138 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing