We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the CenterHotel Skjalbreid as part of an Iceland Air package. We couldn't have been happier with the choice. The location is perfect and makes most of the major sites in Reykjavik an easy walk. It is located on a main street so front facing rooms may be noisy on weekend nights, but we had no problem. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms are basic and have what you need for several nights stay. The beds were very comfortable. The included breakfast was quite good and was a typical European style breakfast - bread, cheese, sliced meat, cereal and yogurt. We would not hesitate to stay here again on future trips to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 669 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Perfect location for a hotel! The rooms are simple and clean, the staff, friendly. This hotel is situated in the city center and on a busy main street within walking distance to the Old Harbor, downtown Reykjavik and many restaurants and bars. Great pick for a person on a budget or traveling solo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherisse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location in Reykjavik. Our corner room was very spacious, but a little noisy on Friday and Saturday night. Our friends' room in the back was very quiet, but tiny! There is a huge difference in room sizes. Breakfast was very good with plenty of options. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rangers93-94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great central location. Simple but clean rooms. Breakfast was good European offering and well stocked. Staff were very helpful. On arrival, I had no coins for the parking meter and they gave me the money before I had even checked in. I had no issue with noise from the street but mine was a midweek and end of the season trip. Overall, gear value for money.

Room Tip: Pillows were a bit lumpy so bring your own if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillipsAndDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in this hotel as part of a bundle package. We found the location(which is on the main shopping street in the old town, Laugavegur) to be excellent, walkable to all bars, restaurants, shops on that street, very convenient indeed. We had the presence of mind to ask for a quiet room as we are not young and energetic! and we're so glad we did, as like the reviews state, the street noise from nightclubs on the main street and in the area generally would probably be a problem for street facing rooms as young folk emerge from the nightclubs around 4.30am making their way to taxis etc. But the room we were given was very quiet and though it was very small it was adequate for our trip as we were out most of the time on tours. The hotel is of an old classical type, not the modern glass type building. The door is onto the street and you have to climb stone stairs to reach the only lift. The reception staff we found very helpful and welcoming. We did have breakfast included and this was in continental style, ie cold meats, cheeses, rolls, bread etc with coffee tea etc. There were coffee & tea making facilities in the room also. The bed was very comfortable and the room was warm. We tried to book again to find that the hotel was fully booked up so that means it must be both popular and ideal as a base for trips, shopping, city break in Reykjavik. We had the bonus of beautifully seasonally decorated shops, street, fairy lights during our visit. Can't wait to return

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room unless you are young and going clubbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wherewegoing71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Like others I wasn't really relishing staying at this hotel because of some of the reviews. However, we foundit to be perfectly placed rightin the middle of the city, spotlessly clean, very comfortable indeed (especially the bed) and the breakfast was bette Ethan I'd expected (plentiful and filling).

I would definitely recommend asking formal room at the back of the building or as high as possible as others were disturbed by noise in the street in the early hours of Sunday. And I would certainly stay here again. The staff gave us excellent recommendations for eating places and could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: At the top and near the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Was apprehensive about the hotel after reading the reviews but was pleasantly surprised with it. The location makes the hotel, with excellent bars and restaurants within moments walk from the hotel. The room was a good size, the bath was huge with lots of hot water. The hotel staff were all helpful and couldn't do enough to help.

The only downside, and it is a downside, is the late-night revellers at the weekend making so much noise it disturbed my wife's sleep (I wear earplugs and they were that loud they disturbed my sleep one night too). We were on the 4th floor at the front. I think a room at the rear of the hotel would be much better.

There's no bar in the hotel but there are plenty of places to have a drink, with lots of bars offering happy hour's.

All in all, wed definitely go again but would insist on a room at the rear of the hotel .

Room Tip: Pick a room at the rear of the hotel if staying during the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phill_Handley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
933 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
172 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,498 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Skjaldbreid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Address: Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $140 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Skjaldbreid 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CenterHotel Skjaldbreid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Reykjavík
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing