We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Pros:
- The room was very nice and relaxing. Great bed and very clean sleeping area.
- The kettle and fridge was nice to have.
- Loved the dimmer on the main light.
- Great location!!
- Friendly & helpful staff (well, 2/3, the other never smiled).

Cons:
- Bathroom shower tile was slightly dirty.
- Shower didn't drain at all (or at least very slowly over night), I had water coming up over my feet. Had to take quick shower because I was scared of it over flowing. Why didn't I mention anything? I got very comfy in my room when I arrived, and had my stuff all over. Didn't want to pack up to change rooms or to let a staff member in to fix it.
- Hair dyer dirty. Gross to hold, had to wrap tissues around the handle. Didn't bother again with it after that first time.
- Overall = BATHROOM HORRIBLE!
- While the front desk safe was nice, they didn't have a form or anything for me to fill out. Anyone could have overheard me check in my ipad and when a new staff member came the person could have claimed they have an ipad in the safe and take mine. Made me worry.
- Breakfast? I went 1/3 times, didn't bother after the first time. As an american not much of a selection and the stuff there was blah (tasteless watermelon, rock hard rolls, and very thick one option milk for cereal), only two things I liked: oranges and apple juice.
- Careful where they put you. I was the room right next to the stairs. Thank you all the ladies that came and went in heels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 653 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The tourist section of town is very small. This hotel is located in the geographic center. Mabey a half mile in any direction to see most of what there is to see.

The hotel is very nice. Our room is ikea style Danish. The bath is like a cruise ship standard cabin. Small but functionial.

The breakfast is standard Northern European. No hots other than toast. But lots of selection.

Overall a great stay.

Tip. The city guided tours are overpriced. Just walk it or take the city bus.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SH1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel was just great and the location on Laugavegur was perfect. A delicious breakfast was included, though if you get there toward the end of the breakfast time you may need to ask for more food and coffee. I thoroughly enjoyed using the breakfast room in off hours for writing postcards and having a coffee, hot chocolate or tea. It was a perfect break each day and the drinks were included. Expect to haul your luggage a block or so since no traffic is allowed on Laugavegur, but you can be dropped off about a block away. The room was relatively small but comfortable in every way. Housekeeping service is slow so you may want to tell them at the front desk when you are leaving for the day.

Room Tip: You may want to choose a room away from Laugavegur since there is noise and partying at night on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights before a tour in August. Loved the central location and proximity to city highlights. Spacious rooms.

Did not like: breakfast, bread was stale and salami old. Coffee and other items were excellent.

Tip: splurge for an upgraded deluxe room - well worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vipalpinetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here with a few pals for a stag do and it's ideally located slap bang in the heart of the city. A few doors away a restaurant serves up good Icelandic food (including whale meat...oooh controversial) and the elsewhere on the same street are some great bars and restaurants. The location also has its downsides - it can be a little noisy of a night. Especially as we arrived during Gay Pride weekend (what are the odds!) - one night I was kept awake to the sounds of an (admittedly impressive) all-gay rendition of "I did it my way". The rooms are pretty small but are neat and clean and staff are friendly and efficient. Breakfast is served up in a charming room with a view and consists of fruit, toast, pastries, good after a big night of drinking. There is tea/coffee in the room which I always like; if I'm being picky I would have appreciated a safe. Overall I'd say you can't beat the location and as long as you don't expect luxury you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milton_Burle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Confortable and central situated in the very center of Reykjavik.
Room are not too big (Old renovated building) but quite confortable and conveniant to walk all around the city. It is just in the main commercial street.
No difficult to park the car (it was sunday), but normally is not free. Good free wifi in the rooms.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

You cannot fault this hotel for its location. it is situated right on the main street in Reykjavik, so is great for all the restaurants and all of the attractions this amazing city has to offer. The staff are friendly and will offer to help with anything during your stay. Yes the rooms can be a bit small, but lets be honest, who wants to come to Reykjavik to sit in their hotel room? There is so much to do we were only in our room to sleep! The rooms were very clean and had everything you need to make your stay comfortable. The breakfast provided consisted of a variety of bread, meat and cheeses along with a variety of cereal, This was lovely and was great to get you started for a busy day.

Regarding the reviews saying this hotel can be noisy because of its location. Our room was situated right on the main street and we stayed over the weekend. We did not hear any noise apart from the odd people chatting. The walls were certainly not shaking as some people said.

We will certainly be staying in this hotel again when we next visit Reykjavik (which will hopefully be soon!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyMorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
919 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
972 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,143 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,293 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Skjaldbreid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Address: Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $134 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Skjaldbreid 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Skjaldbreid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Reykjavík
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing