We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Wirral
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for seven nights.This is a good hotel situated on one of the main streets for restaurants and bars. The down side of this is the Friday and Saturday night bar scene. We had a room at the rear of the hotel, same level as reception. We did n't hear any of the noise from the main road but we had noise coming in from the adjoining restaurant/bar. They seemed to be cleaning the place after they closed and were very noisy about it. I would n't complain about the size of the room, we only slept there. It was big enough for two. The staff are very helpful and hard working. Our room was cleaned every day and fresh towels too. Breakfast was simple and mostly the same every day. You won't go hungry. We had a hire car and parked it either at the public car park at the rear of the hotel.(no charge between 18.00 and 10.00) or at the church car park at the top of the hill, that is free of charge. it's a short walk down the hill to the hotel. The church is also a good landmark to aim for when returning from a day out. No bar at this hotel but look out for happy hour deals elsewhere. The Sky bar is a good bar for a view of the Harbour at happy hour. If you have n't been to Iceland before, I thoroughly recommend it. Especially if you are the outdoors type. The scenery is stunning. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel experience less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillDiWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    230
    98
    29
    16
See reviews for
60
257
45
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Like others, I too am puzzled how this hotel managed to get a 4-star rating. Perhaps it's the amount of services provided, but certainly the interiors and room size left something to be desired.

The hotel is located on a street closed from traffic, so when coming with shuttle you should prepare for a brisk little walk with your luggage. This may not work out so well if you have disabilities or plenty of luggage with you. Some of these problems are further escalated by the fact that you enter the hotel from ground floor and lobby is one floor up. There's two short sets of steps in between street level and the elevator, and no ramp for accessibility.

Lobby staff was extremely helpful, I couldn't have asked for more. We got a room from the same floor as the lobby, facing away from the street. View was a bit boring, basically of a wall across the yard.

Room was super-cramped, with a bed, desk and office table taking up most of the space in the room. Did not bother as much for overnight stay, but could have gotten a tad annoying had I unpacked all my gear -- instead I opted just to stow away my bags and not unpack them at all.

Breakfast was also very good, with fresh bread, vegetables and a lot of other options available. Breakfast room had a nice view overlooking rooftops of nearby buildings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms and hallways are basic with worn carpet. Reception/check in is just a small room on the second floor. Not really a lobby to speak of.

Hotel is perfectly located right on the main shopping street.

Was looking for an affordable option while in transit and this met my needs. Not sure how the 4 star rating came about though?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexaopi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over a weekend and were in a room on the top floor. The room was comfortable and the service very helpful, but at night the street noise was loud. The person manning the night desk was able to give us earplugs.
If you're in Reykjavik to enjoy the nightlife it's a great central location but if you appreciate a quiet night's sleep stay elsewhere and take a bus or cab into this part of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L_trek_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, WV
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great location and great value. Breakfast is included and very very good. Not the most posh furnishings or room size, however. I would stay here again based on value and breakfast. The CenterHotel chain in Reykjavik is a good one. Walking distance to the oldest community pool and hot tubs in Reykjavik. Just steps away to many good coffee shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karaandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. Our first impression was confusing because the picture on the website and the door we were dropped off at didn't appear to match. The photo makes you think that you will enter the hotel by an entrance on the corner of the building but the actual entry is at the side and you have to climb steps to the door and then once inside more steps to get to the lift which takes you to reception on the 2nd floor. Our room was clean and spacious but the shower-room was a bit tight on space. Breakfast was served on the third floor in a "glass house" - very clean and there was plenty of food on offer - no staff in sight so help yourself. Tea and coffee were available in the "glass house" all day. There was no other food provision but all manner of eating places close by, so no problem.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at the Skjaldbreid from April 25th – May 01st 2013.

We were on the main floor and yes it is noisy on weekends, however the hotel is very central to Cafes, restaurants and shops etc.

A special thank you to Johnathan for helping us with our maps and trip planning, and being so patient and friendly with us on our many other questions. Tony was also helpful and friendly and so were the other staff members on the reception desk and kitchen.

We truly enjoyed our trip to Iceland and many thanks to all the staff at the Skjaldabreid.


Katherine MacLean
Robert Wiggins

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathymaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#17 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#29 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik Residence Suites
Reykjavik Residence Suites
#10 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Skjaldbreid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Property: CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
Address: Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Skjaldbreid 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your CenterHotel Skjaldbreid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Reykjavík
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing