We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four stars are one too many.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Stubbekøbing, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Four stars are one too many.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. It is very central in Rekjavik - and therefore one must be preared forsome noise from the mainstreet.
The room was ok - but not more. Two separate beds in each side of the room.
The staff was very friendly - especially one English guy had a good sense of humour and was very helpful.
BUT - the breakfast was very poor. Cold, hardboiled eggs, neutral toast bread, neutral cheese, frozen rye bread that had been thawn (still cold though) and a very non-cosy room. Very disappointing.
Should we come to Reykjavik again, we would chose another hotel.
It has 4 stars - should hav 2-3 instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boch_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    237
    102
    31
    17
See reviews for
63
264
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danderyd, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Skjaldbreid is a rather small hotel in the middle of the city centre, close to most things in Reykjavik. The staff very kind and helpful, the rooms well furbish (but perhaps a bit old). Excellent working free WiFi. Bathroom was a bit small, and very cold since there was no heating in there. Breakfast had what you could wish for, but nothing exceptional. Some noice from the street in the weekend nights from party-people, but otherwise calm and peaceful. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quemado, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect spot to visit the city. Situated in the center of the city the hotel is clean and good priced. Breakfast buffet and wifi is included. Rooms are small but you dont need any more. We will stay here again when in Iceland. The location and price cant be beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eodtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here Mon 8th April to Mon 15th April and were generally quite happy until the weekend when we discovered that our room shared a wall with the club next door!

Unfortunately, although the windows have sound insulation, our room was so noisy on Friday and Saturday night that we were unable to sleep. The noise was the club next door and we could clearly hear every song they were playing and make out every word the DJ was saying. Reception was sympathetic to us but exlained that it was out of his hands as there were no other available rooms. He also said that there were complaints from our room and the room below every weeekend and gave us some earplugs. The earplugs did not help much and the noise was constant from approx midnight until around 6am when the club closed. The same thing happened on the Saturday night and and again we were advised that there was nothing that could be done.

We stayed here for a week, and the location couldn't be better. Within a five minute walk you have access to the whole of downtown Reykjavik. For the first 5 days we really enjoyed our stay but no sleep at the weekend did ruin it a bit.

The staff really depend on who you get. The housekeepers are amazing and do a great job but we hardly ever saw them. On reception, Tony was great - cheerful, friendly, knows the city, and is more than happy to provide you with reccomendations, info, etc. The other reception staff were not very helpful however.

Room Tip: When you book, request a room which does not share a wall with the club next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean and reasonably priced, especially for a city centre hotel. Great location on a Main Street with lots of bars and restaurants. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of continental food, with cereals, lots of breads and plenty of choice of drinks. Tea and coffee available all day long. Room cleaned everyday without ever seeing a maid. All trips picked up and dropped of at the hotel on time with no problems at all. Rooms quite small but comfortable with tea and coffee, 4 English tv channels, hot shower. Very good hotel to base exploring Iceland

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bladesman283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Oh where to begin...

We stayed here for a week, and first and foremost the location couldn't be better. Within a five minute walk you have access to countless bars, restaurants, clubs, shops, museums, and other miscellaneous tourist must haves.

The early check in that they offer is a lifesaver when your flight lands at 0620. Show up, have some breakfast, drop off your things and go exploring! The breakfast, I might add, is very simple but quite tasty. The coffee is more than decent (especially for a hotel) and I could've lived off of the danish.

The rooms were larger than one would expect, though you're definately going to want a superior if you're claustrophobic. What you read on the other reviews is correct, Laugavegur does get quite loud on weekends. If you're a light sleeper, make sure you don't have a room facing the street. I was in a superior single, and barely heard a thing...even with my window open. Probably helped that the beds are amazing! best sleep I've had in ages.

The staff is hit and miss. The housekeepers are like ninjas, blink and you'll miss them. They do a damned fine job and yet you never actually see them. Front desk...Tony is amazing!!! He's cheerful, friendly, knows the city, and is more than happy to provide you with reccomendations, info, etc. Jonathon however is not the friendliest of fellows...he could really use a refresher in customer service.

All in all, I'd reccomend this hotel, especially if you plan on exploring the city.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floyd_is_Lost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We 3 stayed 5 nights in one double and one single room that were cozy, comfortable and clean. Being in the center of the city is wonderful--within walking distance of bookstores, restaurants, and shops. Others have commented on the 1-5am party noise--we suffered this on one Saturday evening and on Wednesday evening (before the Easter holidays), and I'm not sure there is any remedy for this, except to remind oneself that at dawn, Iceland is a wonderful place to visit. Supposedly, wi-fi was available in the rooms, but we did not get any; the lobby has a single computer for use, and that worked for us. Good breakfast and very helpful & friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#35 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#28 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Skjaldbreid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Property: CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
Address: Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Skjaldbreid 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Skjaldbreid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Reykjavík
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing