We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Spent a week here with my partner, the hotel was very clean, offered an all-you-can-eat continental breakfast with great variety (not overly flavourable, though). It is located in the heart of Icelandic night life and near many excellent restaurants, shops and bookstores. My only complaint is the tiny European shower as I am a 6 foot 200 Lb North American man, but totally didn't spoil the trip.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank deltacinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 655 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Excellent wifi, warm clean rooms, wonderful breakfast. Stayed here for 3 nights May 2012, reservations through booking.com, no refund. Check in and check out were simple. Like the rest of Reykjavik, fluent in English and very accomodating and polite. We checked out at 430 am and reception made sure we had a breakfast and confirmed our FlyBus reservation to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Friendly, helpful staff, eager to assist with travel plans. Great location in the center of Reykavik. Rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast is served each morning. Easy to walk around without paying for a rental car or cab. Views around the hotel are amazing.
Located on a beautiful street with many shops to visit. Located near Harpa and close to the Gray Line tourist office if you have booked trips through them.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level have views of the street, upper floor rooms are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayHannah5510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Once you get through one of the stranger hotel lobbies out there (it contains a staircase, a lift, and a sign that the reception is on the first floor), you will be in a charming little hotel with polite and helpful staff, superbly clean, comfortable (I wish I could've taken the bed home with me) and functional rooms that's situated right on the Reykjavik's main shopping street. The rooms are not the largest in the world, but provide more than enough space. You didn't come to Reykjavik to sit in your hotel room, anyway, but in case you did, a mini-bar and an electric kettle are there. :)

The location is both a blessing (the centre of Reykjavik is right outside the front door) and a curse (if you're renting a car, you might have trouble parking it, and since it is right in the centre, the nightlife produces a fair amount of noise on Fridays and Saturdays). If you're in Reykjavik to enjoy the city and it's busy nightlife, this is a great place to base from.

The breakfast buffet is your standard fare - breads, hams, cheeses, cereals, fruit and veggies, hot drinks and juices, etc. There is no restaurant in the hotel (the breakfast is serverd in the 'sun room' on the top floor), but considering the location, that is hardly a problem.

Both wired (the network cable is provided) and wireless (ask for the password at the reception and authenticate through a browser before you start surfing) internet are free.

There's one peculiarity - the front door is locked after half past midnight, and you have to ring the doorbell to get it opened. This is a very minor inconvenience, since I've never waited for longer than a minute (and in the five dayss fo my stay, I think I came back to the hotel before 1 AM only once).

The FlyBus from and to the Keflavik airport comes to the hotel, but since the full-sized buses don't go to the city centre, you have to change at the terminal.

And finally, the price. It's not the cheapest hotel in Reykjavik, but as those things go, it's quite resonable. If you get it as a part of a package special (Eve fanfest, anyone?), it's actually a bargain.

Overall, I was quite happy with my stay, and would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Considering I've only been in one room, don't take this at the face value, but as far as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZeleniLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in March. Very comfortable small hotel right in centre of Reykjavik.Lovely modern comfortable room and bathroom. Very good cold buffet breakfast.Young man on Reception was so helpful in booking trips etc and giving advice.There are plenty of eating places within a few minutes walk of hotel. We walked 5 minutes down the hill to a very pleasant Italian restaurant with excellent food at reasonable prices. Can't remember the name but it's on same side of road as hotel on a corner.

Room Tip: There are not all that many rooms,I'm sure they would all be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Perhaps not the biggest rooms but certainly comfortable for two. Charming and clean. Staff is delightful and eager to be of assistance. Thank you Tony and Kathleen for your warm welcome and suggestions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marla1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at the Skaljbred Hotel for four nights in February 2011 and overall were very happy with our stay there.

The Good:

The Staff were very attentive and helpful and spoke excellent English.
The location is perfect - the hotel is situated right on Reykjavik's main street close to everything.
Breakfast is included in the price. This consisted of a buffet of cereals, bread, milk, yoghurt, tea/coffee/juice, ham, boiled eggs, cheese, salami, coffee, pastries and a selection of fruit. The quality was excellent and given how expensive Icelend is, it was nice to know that we could fill up on Breakfast and not have to eat until the evening.
The rooms were very clean and tidy as was the bathroom.
The Price - Considering the free breakfast and the quality of the hotel, the value that the hotel offers is excellent.

The Not so Good:

The rooms were quite small.
The main street could be a little loud at night. Especially at the weekend.

However both these are relatively minor points and certainly wouldn't stop me from reccomending the hotel or from staying here again on my next trip to Iceland!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommo565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
922 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
167 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,205 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,145 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Skjaldbreid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Address: Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $132 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Skjaldbreid 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Skjaldbreid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Reykjavík
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing