We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're going to Iceland alone, stay here - you won't regret it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I've been to iceland twice and am going again this October. It is like no place on earth. In March, 2011, I went back to Iceland again and chose this hotel mainly for the location based on my prior experiences in Reykjavik. Like everything else in Iceland, it is wonderful, clean, cosy, convenient and well situated -- especially for a solo traveler. Another good thing is the value because beause you will want to spend your $$$ on tours and transportation as well as in the bars and restaurants on the Laugavegur so it's even better.

As far as noise, you can ask for a room facing the courtyard and you'll hear nothing more than you would in any major city in the middle of a nightlife district.

Iceland is truly amazing. You must go and if you're thinking about it visiting reading this, just do it -- you won't regret the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DS77771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 623 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2011

My fiance and I just returned from a weekend in Iceland. Skjaldbreid was a perfect hotel for what we were looking for. The staff was very nice and helpful booking our tours, the included breakfast was perfect for grabbing a quick bite before starting the day, and the rooms were european efficient. The location is perfect! You can easily walk everywhere in Reykjavik, including downtown, restaurants, and site seeing locations. We live in the city, so the noise level was fine. If you are looking for a central location- this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bzzz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed her for a week in May 2010. The hotel is right on the main street and very close to everything you could possibly want. It was clean, the service was great, the breakfasts were nice, and we didn't have any problems with the rooms. The only issue is with the noise on Fridays and Saturdays: If you intend to go out and enjoy the nightlife in Reykjavik (which we strongly recommend!) there won't be a problem, but if you're one of those people that wants to go to bed early every night and likes their peace and quiet then this hotel might not be for you on weekends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xdennisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed four nights and did not want to go. And this is not a slogan nor hotel staff writing this. Iceland, and Reykjavik, are awesome. We will return! Hotel is on the main street, centre of it all; shopping, a few blocks to the lake/pond, parliament. Staff awesome. Say hi to Tony, the overnight clerk, who played drums for over ten years in Gary Glitter's band. He's friendly and a wealth of information about a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Besuretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Just finished a three week vacation in Norway and Iceland. This hotel offered the best value of all the places we stayed. Location, service, and the breakfast were excellent. I see that past reviews have mentioned noise problems and can see that could be a problem with some rooms. We were there Monday through Thursday and had minimum such problems. Overall, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rastokes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Hotel Skjaldbreid is very centrally located on one of the main streets of Reykjavik. The service is excellent and very friendly. There is also free access to internet in rooms (cable) and a computer with net access in the lobby. Also the price is good for the location and quality. The main problem with the hotel is the noice, especially on Friday and Saturday nights, when there is street and bar noise till the morning hours (bring ear plucks). The breakfast is sufficient (nothing fancy but ok: bread/cheese/ham, cereals, some fruit etc.). The rooms are not large but functional.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This hotel was a great stay for five nights, including the busy Friday and Saturday - it is true that the street becomes too noisy to allow a decent nights sleep then but if you know that, then take advantage of the action

This aside it is fairly quiet, and even though we stayed right over the street I slept soundly on all but the Saturday night. The rooms are clean and quite plain and the shower was powerful and very nice to use

Breakfast there consists of breads, cheese, cheap ham and pepperoni along with some fish, yoghurt cereals and fruits - the tea and coffee and hot chocolate is left out all day so you can help yourself and they are fine with you eating your own food there too. We even made toast outside of breakfast hours (using our own bread)

The reception staff are wonderful and very happy to help any time of day or night. They will book trips and restaurants in Icelandic if needed and went out of their way to assist in any way - this in itself makes it a hotel to use again and again in my opinion - I would highly recommend the hotel and the hotel group - they were able to move another guest to a quieter hotel and they are known to other businesses in the area.

The location is wonderful - just step outside and you are in the old quarter of Reykjavik, near the harbour - Reykjavik Excursions will pick you up from right outside for tours and shuttle to the airport/bus station etc

It is an ideal location in an ideal hotel with ideal staff - what more could you want for the price?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juniper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#37 of 54 in Reykjavik
869 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,705 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
941 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Skjaldbreid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Skjaldbreid

Address: Laugavegur 16, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $131 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Skjaldbreid 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Skjaldbreid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Reykjavík
Centerhotel Skjaldbreid Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing