We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“these people are the best”
Review of Iceland Travel

Iceland Travel
Ranked #90 of 368 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Iceland Travel is the leading Travel Company, Tour operator and DMC in Iceland. We offer a wide range of high quality services for travelers and travel agents from all over the world. We organize various vacation packages, tours and activities, as well as planning conferences, events and incentive programs.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

talk about organised, they pick you up when they say they will. They take you were they say they will and they drop you back off. Staff are very knowledgable and friendly

3  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrönn R, Internet Sales Manager at Iceland Travel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely comment! We strive to provide an excellent service for our customers, so we are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed it!

I hope we will have you here in Iceland again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 254 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Reykjavik Sightseeing: Skip this tour. In addition to standard locations you expect to see on a city tour, we were treated to seeing the local public grade schools an junior colleges (multiple) as well as the county hospital. The tour was stopped twice so the driver could talk to his teenage daughters and again so he could pick up & deliver a friend to his house. Very unprofessional and there is not enough to see for a 3 hour tour.

11  Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrönn R, Internet Sales Manager at Iceland Travel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give your comment on this tour.

I am greatly disappointed to hear about your experience on the Reykavík City sightseeing tour.
Iceland Travel has worked with this supplier for many years with great success. I can assure you that this is taken very seriously and the supplier has already been contacted for full investigation.

You can be sure that we will not accept this kind of unprofessionalism.

Please contact our office so we can give you a refund on this excursion.

I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I like to travel independently, but for my recent short notice Iceland trip, I decided to use a local tour agent for help. Ragnheidur from Iceland Travel did a super job of guiding me through 5 days of sight seeing and experiences. Her recommendations were spot on, and we had literally no bad experiences. Iceland Travel was responsive and friendly. I will use them again....and yes, I will visit again. Cool country!

Thank nurseintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris_Johannesdottir, Service Department at Iceland Travel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments on our services and staff.

It’s much appreciated to hear that you were pleased with your stay in Iceland and the tours you joined, as we strive to make our customers holiday in Iceland a really memorable experience.

We look forward to have you here in Iceland again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I can't recommend this tour enough - unbelievable quality for the price! Iceland Travel were so helpful from the beginning and everything was perfect. Two amazing hotels, lovely breakfast included, car hire and northern lights tour thrown in. Our car even had a GPS already sorted out, and the apartment had heated floors and a hot tub! My partner and I had a wonderful time, worth twice the money!

2  Thank RuthRagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris_Johannesdottir, Service Department at Iceland Travel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and for the lovely review!
We are happy to hear your satisfaction with the tour. We always strive to get the best accommodation at each location and really love Grimsborgir ourselves. The closeness to the South coasts beautiful sights such as Gullfoss, Geysir and Þingvellir makes it a prime location for sightseeing and enjoying the Northern Lights (hope you got a great Northern Lights „show“ during your stay).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked a package through Icelandair in conjunction with Iceland Travel. The part in Reykjavik was good but the weak link was Akureyri and we did not think much of Saga Travel, the agents of Iceland Travel. On the night of our Northern Lights tour it was snowing heavily. There may have been a chance of seing the aurora if we had gone higher but we were taken along the valley to look at a Christmas shop and the outside of a church. This is not what we had booked and the trip should have been cancelled. We were promised a second go the next evening and we were ready in the hotel foyer before we were told that the trip was cancelled. During that day we had booked a trip to Lake Myvatn by superjeep (not provided - just a normal 4WD car). We were told at the hotel that the pass was closed by snow and blocked by a lorry. After 2 hours we were told that everything was OK. Instead of going directly to our destination we were taken on a tour to some farms and the ski resort in Akureyi. We eventually set out fo Lake Myvatn but when we reached the pass we were told it was still closed. After much telephoning by the guide, we were taken on an alternative route. It was snowing hard and conditions were poor. We eventually came to a road which was deep in snow. There was then another telephone conversation and we started up the road. Conditions became increasingly dangerous and eventually the guide was persuaded to turn back, which was achieved by much sliding and getting stuck. We asked for a refund, which we got, but we were left with the impression that Saga Travel cared more about their income than the satisfaction and safety of their customers.

8  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrönn R, Internet Sales Manager at Iceland Travel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

We would like to thank you for sending us comments on your stay in Akureyri. It is useful for us to hear about how people experience our service and we will use the information in order to improve our services. For us it is priority that people are feeling comfortable and safe on our tours and we regret that you did not enjoy your tours with Saga Travel.

The supplier Saga Travel has been our long time successful cooperating partner in Akureyri and we have been in contact with them because of your experience. When it is snowing there is a little chance to see the Northern Lights, but sometimes it happens that a “window” in the sky opens and the lights can been seen. Going higher in the ground when it is snowing does not help. The mountain roads in Iceland are not high enough, only about 1500 feet the highest when these snow clouds are usually at least 3000 feet high. Saga Travel is a pioneer and designer of these Northern Lights tours in North Iceland and they have very rich experience. Northerly winds were blowing at the time you stayed in Akureyri and just then it is better to head south in to the valley to see the Northern Lights. This has got to do with vapor drying up and the hope was that the air would be drier in the valley than by the coast. We focus on giving our customers an alternative when weather is impossible to see the Northern Lights and the experience is that it is difficult to know ahead of time if the lights are going to be seen or not. The best chance to see the northern lights that particular night was at the valley where you came across the Christmas Garden and the church. No one can control the weather or the Northern Lights but we can try do things instead, things you would not have seen or experienced otherwise.

Usually the option of going for the Northern Lights is kept open as long as possible. The second night you were staying in Akureyri it was a hard decision if to cancel the tour or not. A representative from Saga Travel should have been sent to the hotel to brief you about the situation. On the other hand it is often difficult to find all people booked on the tours and therefore the information about the cancellation is left at the hotel reception.

Regarding the Lake Myvatn Super Jeep tour, when the weather is bad it is sometimes difficult to get details about the road conditions. The information given by the road administration turned out to be wrong that morning, but the main reason was that there was a lorry stuck in the Vikurskard pass. The telephoning was for the safety of the guests, trying to find out which road was open and exchanging the information between the two super jeeps travelling together. The passengers should probably have been kept better informed about what was going on, we think it would have made you feel better about the tour. The jeeps used for this tour are modified vehicles with extra big tires, one was on 38" tires and the jeep you were on was on 35" tires. The weather played a big rule on your holiday and sometimes we have to give in to Mother Nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland Travel also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing