We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fun”
Review of Laugardalslaug

Laugardalslaug
Ranked #2 of 21 Fun & Games in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic fun”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

You'll need to shower without your costume before you go into the pool. Everybody was very friendly and we had a lovely time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank L0z11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    232
    48
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“When in Iceland...”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our guide book said that for Icelanders going to the swimming pool is like Brits going to the pub. We went here on a Saturday, late afternoon and it did have a very sociable feel and we felt like we were really in Iceland rather than just a tourist attraction. The temperature of the water is amazing and although I thought the last thing I would feel like doing is sauntering around in my swimming cossie outside in Iceland in January, it was just absolutely heavenly being so cold and then dipping into the warm water. We particularly enjoyed the seawater pool. The changing rooms were immaculately clean and everyone just walks round naked which made me feel better as I was worried about the showering with no costume beforehand. You get a wristband when you pay which operates the lockers so you don't have to faf around with change. Such a bargain, it has to be done and the hotdogs outside are a great reward for doing a few laps in the pool.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant Icelandic experience”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited on an Sunday afternoon and it was relatively busy. They have a variety of hot tubs at different water temperatures and some great big pools where you can do laps or just have fun – the slide is worth a try! This was not as relaxing as my experience at the Blue Lagoon – Laugardalslaug is a municipal pool and more of a family place – but for the price, it is a great way to experience a geothermal bath and mingle with the friendly locals. Before you get into the pool area, you do need to shower naked in a common space. You have to do the same at the Blue Lagoon but the stalls there offer a bit more privacy. If you are not used to showering in public, keep in mind that although there are some same-sex attendants on-site, no one is there staring at you while you wash yourself and even if they did, bodies come in all shapes and sizes. Don't let that intimidate you! The place is easily accessible by public bus (14).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Soliterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

It was a bit difficult to find. Included in our package tour, we weren't sure what to expect, and thought it was going to be like Blue Lagoon. However it wasn't that kind of romantic scenic place. On the other hand it was very well run, spotlessly clean, and still an enjoyable open air swimming experience with the snow coming down. I think it is more aimed at locals than tourists, but still felt very welcome.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Morwenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Local pool.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We used the outdoor pools which are a great geothermally heated temperature (29c for the main pool). Four hot pots (hottest 42c). Very invigorating walking, or running, between the pools. As most people are naked (sexes seperated) in the showers actually didn't feel self conscious. Not the Blue Lagoon but for £2.50...really can't complain! Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesleyjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugardalslaug also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laugardalslaug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing