We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you visit Laugardalslaug!”
Review of Laugardalslaug

Laugardalslaug
Ranked #2 of 21 Fun & Games in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Make sure you visit Laugardalslaug!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My sister and I visited Laugardalslaug, it didnt cost much to get in and is a very clean place - you will be asked to shower naked before entering which may be strange if you aren't used to it, but the locals are. They also provided swimming costumes at a small cost which was great as my sister didnt bring one. There is a larger pool which was being used for lane swimming, a regular pool which kids were using which had water slides and some lovely smaller warm pools which were relaxing and quiet. The locals say they like to relax here instead of go the the pub! Its a must do!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    235
    48
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Laugardalslaug was definitely one of the highlights of our trip! My daughter loved the slide and the variety of pool toys, my husband loved the hot pots, and I loved being able to be outside and be warm at the same time. (Even though the air temp was only about 45F degrees and it was drizzling, the pool was bath-water warm.)
We went on Sunday evening around 7pm - there were a large number of adults in the hotpots, but we had the main pool and slide almost to ourselves. The water in the main part of the pool is pretty shallow - maybe only 3' - so it is a good option for families with smaller children. There are lifeguards on duty, but they were pretty unobtrusive - no constant whistle blowing. They were attentive though – when a small child was wondering around on deck by herself, a lifeguard immediately went over and accompanied her back to her mother.
As other visitors have mentioned, be sure to follow the instructions and no one gets reprimanded! In the locker rooms, there are signs posted showing the specific rules for using the pool. (In case you can't read Icelandic, there are very nice pictures indicating the 3 main body areas you need to wash before entering the pool...) There are also English-speaking staff members in the shower area to remind you of the rules in case you forget.
When you pay your admission, you are given a wristband to wear. This not only indicates that you have paid, but it also serves as the key for the lockers - select a locker, put your stuff in it, and then swipe your wristband over the door to lock it. To open the locker, simply swipe your band over the door again. To leave the facility, you will need put the wristband in the machine at the exit to activate the turnstile.
Though we drove to the facility, there is a bus stop right in front of the building. It is a little ways away from the tourist-center. Because of traffic, it took about 15 minutes to drive from our apartment by Hallgrímskirkja.
The lack of tourists was a nice change of pace from the center of the city. I didn't hear anyone else speaking English while we were in the pool and only one other couple seemed to be non-Icelandic. It was great to be immersed (pun intended!) in the Icelandic culture in this way.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MplsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant evening entertainment for school group.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We travelled as a school group with 39 students and 7 adults. We came to this pool as evening entertainment on 2 evenings. It is fantastic, such hot water and the water slide is not to be missed (flashing lights and dark inside). The hot tubs are great to relax in. The students had a fantastic time here.

Please note when taking school groups: You will have to shower and wash properly naked before swimming. They have some cubicles but students will have to get used to nudity around them as the norm as is the culture in Iceland. Our group were fine but I would hold off telling them until the last minute....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A swimming pool with a lot to offer”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

One of the must things to do in Reykjavik is the thermal pools. I think everybody knows that by now. There's the area for kid, with water slides. There's the swimming area of course, the hot pots with different temperatures, a pool with warm salt water, sauna ... It's a great place where to go with friends... sit in the hot pot, chat... swim. Just perfect. It's open until quite late in the evening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yes-Rvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Frequent Visitor in Winter From UK and LOVE IT!!!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have been to Iceland 8 times and every time I go I just simply have to come here! For 500 Icelandic Krona (£3 approx.) you get lovely swimming pools, roaming swimming area and proper lined pool. Also you get a tube slide, 4 amazing hotpots and Steam room and a purifying spa. You can stay here as long as you want and good way of chatting to people. I always travel in Winter and when it snows its a winter wonderland! The good thing is the water is extremely warm and is geothermally heated, meaning cheap to run, cheap to get in and a 5 star attraction. I will keep coming back for more! Opens up at 6.30am and closes 10pm - even on a Sunday!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JetsetZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugardalslaug also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laugardalslaug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing