We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids' absolute favouriteplace in town!”

Hamborgarafabrikkan
Ranked #74 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: PLEASED TO "MEAT" YOU Ok. You're in Iceland. Probably not for the first time. Not something you do every year, right? You will probably bathe in the Blue Lagoon and take a road trip to Gullfoss and Geysir. That's all well and good. But neither is something you eat. That's why we have 15 brilliant and creative hamburgers at the Hamburger Factory. And they are all perfectly square. Made from 100% fresh high-quality ingredients, directly from Icelandic nature. The Hamburger Factory is Iceland's most innovative gourmet burger chain. Packed with burger-craving customers since its opening in 2010, among the regulars is Iceland's best known fisherman, Eric Clapton. We have three wonderful restaurants in Iceland. The mothership opened in 2010 on the groundfloor of the highest tower in Reykjavík, right opposite Höfdi house. Our second one is in Akureyri, the capital of the north. It opened in 2013 on the groundfloor of the historic Hotel Kea in the heart of the town's center. The third one opened in the spring of 2014 in Icelander's favorite shopping mall, Kringlan. Be sure to stop by before you leave. You will love it. And we will love you back. BE SQUARE AND BE THERE!
Longyearbyen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kids' absolute favouriteplace in town!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A good friend from Reykjavik took us to Hamborgarafabrikkan and it was veeeery popular ( 4 and 5 year old) :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    253
    82
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Rubbish service”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went to this place as had some good reviews but found the service was awful. As I was a solo traveller the staff told me I couldn't sit at a table as they had a large party due and had to go sit at the bar. I wouldn't mind but the restaurant was more than half empty and was only about 6 o clock while the large party was due after 8! After explaining I only wanted a burger and fries and would be out by 7 at the latest I was told I either sat at the bar or I didn't eat there. Unsurrprisingly I chose the latter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank home-sweet-brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellant”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Can't fault this place at all. Service was excellent, food was amazing and staff very friendly and helpful. Saturdays are exceptionally busy so would advise to book but they still managed to find us a table without having to wait very long.Went back on more than one occasion and were recognized by staff and were given drinks on the house. Thanks guys :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers but the worst service ever”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The food is delicious , the menu is a very good one BUT THE HORRIBLE SERVICE IS UNEXCEPTABLE ... I m not even gonna write my whole experience coz it will take forever ... But one of the things that happeneed was that me and my girlfriend were eating our starters and a girl came with the maincourses ... And we told her that we weren't finished so she said " ok we ll keep it warm for you " that's not nice the bread will become wet and the burger drys up ... Then when we were ready from the starters they left us 15 minutes with the empty plates infront of us ... Coz the waiters were busy cleaning empty tables and talking to each other . Then the maincourse came and the waitress placed the food on the table but I had to.hold the starters plates in my hands so she will be able to place them in the table .... The service is horrible

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schembri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overrated”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

food is okay, service is bad :/
we had pre booed a table but still needed to wait 30 min for "our" table, after this 30 min the finally fixed some other table for us, waiter clearly didn't like her job and just overall service was poor

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gudbjorgasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joi79, Owner at Hamborgarafabrikkan, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello Gudbjorg

Thank you for your review of Hamborgarafabrikkan. We welcome our customers opinions - both positive and negative. When our customers are not satisfied for some reason it is important for us to know why - therefore we are thankful for your review and we will take it into careful consideration. We apologize for the inconvenience and certainly hope that you will return and that your experience will be better the next time.

Respectfully,
Jóhannes Ásbjörnsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamborgarafabrikkan also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hamborgarafabrikkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing