We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, but not in an negative way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average hotel, but not in an negative way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was a hotel with its pros and cons. Although they accused us for not having paid for breakfast our third morning there, the staff tried to be helpful and friendly. The wi-fi didn't work on the sixth floor for two days, and that is something I expect them to fix with shorter notice. Otherwise, good beds. I slept really good. 6th floor was very quiet, but I guess the guests on the lower floor were more disturbed by partying guests. I can picture myself booking it again, but it was a bit pricy in relation to what we got.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and for taking the time to write these very nice comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    755
    532
    169
    74
See reviews for
336
853
97
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
waco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a pathetic excuse of a Hotel. I'm not sure how it has any stars, let alone 4. The internet and tv do not work and whenever I called reception, I got the same answer...they were working on it. How many days does it take to reset a router?

If you're fortunate enough to be staying here on a weekend, have fun staying up to whatever party is on the second floor. The hotel rents out the ballroom to weddings, parties, etc...and if one is occurring during your stay they have the right to play their music as loud as they want until 2 am. Which is awesome if you have an early start for a tour the next day. You can call reception, but they clearly can't do anything about it. Management obviously doesn't care, as they rent the halls out knowing full well that they will get noise complaints.

The buffet serves the same food every night, for a scandalous price. The rooms are old and tvs are the smallest I've seen since the 90´s. There is no concierge, just reception and some travel agency office. The gym closes at 8 pm. Why does the fitness center have office hours? There isn't actually any room service after 10, even though they advertise 24-hour room service.
The location sucks...unless you are planning on auditing some classes at the university during your stay. Get something closer to downtown. Black Pearl sounds amazing.

I'm pretty sure the large lady in reception is bi-polar. She emphatically told me upon my arrival that I could not check in early on a Monday without even looking into the computer. Then 10 minutes later someone else checked me in without a second thought. Seriously, I'm not sure how there are any good reviews of this hotel. They must be written by hotel employees or guests coming from Kazakhstan that don't know any better.

This place is a joke.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Dear guest
I am very sorry to read about your disappointing experience, we always prefer the listen every guest's experience in details to improve our service standards. For this reason, I would highly appreciate if you may contact me directly on the e-mail isey.thorgrimsdottir@radissonblu.com to let me know your experience thoroughly in our hotel.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies and thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Excellent location. Short walk to the city center. Friendly helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room. A first class breakfast - everything you could wish for - even freshly mixed fruit juice cocktails.
Will certainly return - wish we could have stayed longer - 3 nights just not long enough to do everything. Very well organised trips with pick ups from the Hotel. Very friendly people. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you!! I appreciate the time you took to share your beautiful comments about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel. It is an honor for us to hear such nice words from you about our hotel and to know you enjoyed your stay.

We would be delighted to welcome you back soon again
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel was part of the package that I booked for Iceland, so didn't have a choice in where to stay. I had the reviews prior to staying and was concerned about the earlier reviews. I think our stay at Radisson was better than expected based on the reviews. The staff at reception were friendly. We were only the 5th floor, and had a decent room. The toilet was modern enough even if some other parts of the hotel, such as the hallways were dated, perhaps due to the carpets. We were out sightseeing and on tours so this was really just a base to stay in. The beds were comfortable and I fell asleep pretty much straight away. My only criticism is that on Saturday night we could hear music which was louder than normal and it appeared to come from a club somewhere inside the hotel. I did still get to sleep though but I can image that others might struggle especially if they were nearer to the club. We enjoyed breakfast with a wide variety, cereals, cheeses and meats, bacon, eggs and beans, and our favourites were the yoghurts and the smoothies made fresh at the bar. I would say its about 15-20 minutes walk into town, and once you get your bearing, its quite an easy walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and for taking the time to write these very nice comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back

Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for three nights (one before and two after an Iceland tour with my family). First room was very small, had a leaking faucet and was not well situated (front facing with full sun and blinds that are mostly not sealable - a minus when the sun is up for 20 hours a day..), but I was able to check in very early upon my arrival (shortly after 11 am), which was very nice. The second room was much nicer and was facing the city. It seems like they have many different kind of rooms so it worth asking to see another room if you are not happy with the one you are initially given. The hotel is a short and easy 10-15 minutes walk from the center of the city. Breakfast buffet had good selection and service was okay. On the first day while I was trying to get some sleep after my long sleepless flight (only a couple of hours after checking in) someone was banging on my door several times even though I put a 'privacy please' sign and when I didn't answer they attempted to enter with a key! Luckily I had the door locked from the inside and they weren't able to. But it was very annoying and woke me up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OOpp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor with your feedback following your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Saga.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and sincerely apologize for somebody trying to enter your door. I can assure you that I have started an investigation as soon as I saw your comments and have taken precautions that similar issues do not happen again in the future.

I sincerely hope that the experience will not deter you from returning to one of our properties in the future.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance to city center. With all the construction going on around the city center, this hotel is a better alternative.
The price was quite reasonable. Breakfast was included when I stayed there.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Traveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and for taking the time to write these very nice comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is situated around 10 minutes (steady walk) from the centre. Its not the prettiest location due to some building work around its perimeter, but Im sure that may change in time. Some areas are a little dated but they are clean, it just needs a little facelift to modernise the interior.
The reception area is small but adequate and the staff (all staff) were very friendly, cheerful and helpful, we cant fault their attitude. The restaurants are excellent, expensive, but everything is expensive in Iceland.
The rooms look out across the city or surrounding landscape, they are very clean and well equipped.
Breakfast was a mix of hot/cold food all well prepared and presented, plenty of choice to fill you up for the day. So we would return to this hotel, it suited our budget and requirements, a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Higher the better for some fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msw-ourtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your very nice comments about your stay and the hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you found our hotel staff excellent and It is refreshing to learn our service quality has met your expectations

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Isey Thorgrimsdottir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,481 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing