We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Known as the Saga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Known as the Saga”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Back from a 4 night March stay, and really no complaints. Our 6th floor room was well-kept and maintained, with a comfortable bed and plenty of tea and coffee. Breakfasts had a good range with which to stoke up before another cold day! Staff friendly, bar (with snacks) good, and the happy hour until 7pm brings drinks down to UK prices! Very well placed, with excellent views and an easy walk into 'downtown' Reykjavik and the harbour area - also just opposite the National Museum, which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Probably the higher the better, for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your very nice comments about your stay and the hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you found our hotel staff excellent and It is refreshing to learn our service quality has met your expectations

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    763
    539
    175
    75
See reviews for
341
867
99
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My experience of Radisson hotels has not been good so I was apprehensive when we couldn't get anywhere else to stay. However I was pleasantly surprised with this one. The rooms were clean & comfortable, and perfectly adequate for our 5 night stay.We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the evening buffet was good too. All the staff we interacted with were very friendly & helpful, but I must single out 2 in particular. The girl in the hotel tour office was extremely helpful & a lovely person. Also the restaurant manageress at the evening buffet was great.
With a 15 minute walk to the town centre, the hotel was ideally placed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest
I appreciate the time you took to share your beautiful comments about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel. It is an honor for us to hear such nice words from you about our hotel and to know you enjoyed your stay.

We would be delighted to welcome you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We cheched in at 4.30 in the morning. Just got back from hofn, found our northern light. Was exhausted. Previously stayed in the wonderfull hilton hotel but was booked out for the night. So my husband called in first to check if they have any vacancy. I walk in to say that my husband called and the young lady have to be smart and correct me that my husband did not book, only enquire.hmphh, it's like 4 in the morning. Anyway, breakfast time, our name was not on the list. I can understand as we checked in just a few hours ago. We were not allow to sit on a clean table. The only choices would be the table on the inner circle and all of them was dirty with crumbs, no serviette and such. Nobody bother to come and wipe the table. All very young staff. As we were eating, two staff came out from the kitchen with their hotel uniform intag and nibble the food from the buffet. The men wipe the table while chewing and licking his lips. Disgusting disgusting. The rate is not expensive but i will never ever come back again. Young staff equal cheap labour but unprofessional, immature with ego. A big impact that they should really reconsider if it would jeopardise occupancy rate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mchendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor with your feedback following your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Saga.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with the service you received and the assistance was given.

I can assure you that I have started an investigation as soon as I saw your comments and have taken precautions that similar issues do not happen again in the future.

Once again, I apologize that this unfortunate experience has given you a wrong impression about the Hotel’s services and standards and I sincerely hope that the experience will not deter you from returning to one of our properties in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in March on a short break in Reykjavik. Decent rooms, good breakfast buffet, staff all fantastically helpful and polite. Made a couple of requests by email both of which were carried out without fuss. Had a wonderful meal in the Grillid restaurant. Overall great value in a decent location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and for taking the time to write these very nice comments.
I am happy you enjoyed your meal at our roof top restaurant Grillið, it has great food and fantastic view.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. I will be as honest as possible. The hotels location - good in regards to views - 15mins fairly scenic walk (past a lovely lake) into the heart of the city. Rooms (6th floor) - overall the room was ok - main positive was it was very warm all the time (needed after a day out in iceland), decor/furniture very dated almost like 1970s -bed sheets changed daily, showers hot/pressure good, decor in need of attention - random scuffs on furniture/walls - a simple paint brush would solve this. Rooms were not quite as clean as id expect in the UK....Staff seemed helpful - spoke good english and breakfast was enjoyable (large selection of hot and cold).

To some it up id stay again as it was affordable, location/walk into centre didnt bother us - on a UK rating id say this is definitely no more than 3star - not really what id expect from "Radisson blu" hotels - its no better than your above average ibis and not as nice as a premier inn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest
I would like to thank you for taking time to write and share your experience at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel.
Your comments are very valuable to us and will be taken very seriously for continious improvement.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Spent 3 night here on business. The hotel is in an uninspiring part of the city, close to the National Museum and around a 10-15 minute walk to the centre. My room on the 4th floor was a good size but tired looking. Decoration was 'Scandinavian minimalist' with dark wooden furniture and bare floorboards and the bathroom was very 1970s. On the plus side it was clean, warm and the bed very comfortable. There is free wifi in the hotel but this didn't seem to reach my room which was on the far side of the building but reception downstairs was good. The breakfast buffet was OK and the staff all very friendly. There are obviously better hotels in the city but this is fair value for money if you can get a good deal.

Room Tip: Check which direction your room faces if you want a view of the city rather than the suburbs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psandps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest
I am very sorry to read of your disappointing experience with the internet, we are working on it to get better and faster internet to meet our guest expectations.

On a positive note, I am glad you shared your honest feedback with us. We make guest satisfaction top priority and are always eager to improve.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

On the first night having got back from the northern lights tour at 1.00 am the heating wasn't working. The night porter immediately offered to move us or bring heaters up, we settled for the latter and moved the room next day. Couldn't fault this response. Yes the rooms are tired, beds are super comfortable and very warm. Wifi good tv channels lacking but no big deal. On the down side the spa and gym opening times are limited, we never got to go and had expected at least 3 sessions. The breakfast buffet was stone cold, we told the staff this, but anyone could see you couldn't keep large containers warm with a tiny candle...this did not improve over the 5 days. So don't buy breakfast when you get there it will disappoint. The other issue is happy hour, which is not a true happy hour...it seems to apply to what doesn't sell as well, in fact the best selling Viking beer was never offered as it sold so well. Given the cost of drinks here this shows very poor customer relations. The walk into town is 10 minutes and a lovely walk as well via the city pond, and over the road is the National Museum

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that you have shared about your stay in Radisson Blu Saga hotel. We both value and respect your kind comments. I assure that your comments and experiences during your stay are very valuable to us and will be taken very seriously without any delay. We always prefer the listen every guest's experience in details to improve our service standards.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, Rezidor, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing