We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ok hotel with great location”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel has a great location with about 10 to 15 minute walk to everything, from downtown to Halgrimskirke to the Pearl and thermo baths! It's also only a ten minute walk from BSI bus terminal, so when you're going on excursions, you can just walk down to catch the tour bus rather than use the option of hotel pick up and then spend a good 30 to 40 minutes hoping around all the hotels in Reykjavik!
The rooms are a little worn down and could use a renovation but they're clean, has all the facilities you need and if you get a room on the 7th floor, you get a big balcony with a gorgeous view of Reykjavik and surrounding areas. :) Best views are from rooms 711 to 727!
The breakfast buffet was nice with all you need from fresh fruit to bagels and sausages! It's fairly small though so expect a bit of a wait for a trouble during peak times!
The staff's friendly and helpful, they all speak English and all menus, information etc is in English too.
Overall a nice hotel with an Icelandic charm! :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    777
    555
    189
    81
See reviews for
351
887
104
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bedale
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned from a few days in Iceland and have to say this hotel is ok. We've stayed at a few Radisson Hotels and this one needs a bit of work. Arriving at reception was smooth and efficient and we were lucky to have a room on the 6th floor with great views over the city. Except the windows were filthy. Now I know it could be problems with the ash from time to time but I think the position of our room (facing west) suggested they were just dirty! The room was a decent size, but desperate for a bit of TLC, the decor was very tired and what they were thinking having two single duvets on a double bed, it doesn't work, unless it's an Icelandic custom! Breakfast was alright, nothing special but it filled you up, one day we hit the 'busy period' and it was the only time the service was poor. Overall this is a fairly decent hotel, with excellent staff, quite a good position, about 15 minutes walk to the centre, but it really needs some work doing on the rooms (at least the one we had on the sixth floor did).

Room Tip: Buy a beer during happy hour, 5pm and 7pm, it's more like British prices then!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and found it good value for money. We requested a room on the top floor and were duly obliged so we enjoyed a very scenic view. Friendly reception staff and a comfortable bar area. We enjoyed the breakfast selection although on our last morning we came down when it opened at 6.30am and there was nothing cooked and hardly anything put out on display.

The room itself was spacious with a lovely comfy bed and duvet. Decor a little tired and the bath was chipped.... Having said that, overall we were pleased with the amenities that the room offered.

Felt a bit uncomfortable with our visit to the spa.... The staff seemed a little wooden in their approach and as we didn't have a clue what we were doing, they could have been a little more helpful rather than look you up and down as if you were idiots. They were a bit scary and we were afraid that if we stepped out of line we might have been shouted at. That aside when we did eventually work out the protocol the jacuzzi was nice and big and the sauna as you would expect. As in most places in Iceland the water smelt of bad eggs and the wet room absolutely stank of hot wet sulphur, which was quite an experience (That's not a complaint its a fact) I only hope that the health benefits outweigh the sulphur stench which is still present in my nasal passage 48 hours after returning home...

To summarise, a nice hotel with good facilities and helpful staff. Good value for money and recommended

Room Tip: Top floor rooms at the rear for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiff_Jet_Setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here recently for three nights, and was quite satisfied. The room was on the 7th floor with a wonderful view overlooking the mountains. However, the section of the hotel my room was situated in is badly in need of an upgrade, and there are clear signs of "wear and tear". Great location only 10 minutes walking from downtown Reykjavik. The staff were very friendly and helpful, both at the front desk and at the hotel bar.

When booking, be sure to request a room in the newest part of the hotel. But all in all not a bad deal for 100 USD a night.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room in the modernized part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A surprise trip to celebrate 40 years of marriage. It was part of a prebooked tour. We arrived earlier than the main group and we had the package upgraded to a junior suite. We had reserved a table in the top floor restaurant and had the good fortune to be served a meal by the guest michelin star chef Paul Cunningham (An Essex boy made good!). Little extra touches that had been prearranged by email were all in place (Flowers and Bubbly). Everything was as we had expected and hoped. The TA reviews are mixed it is true but on balance I was unable to see the cause of any other complaint. Iceland is expensive and still young in the tourist trade. would I go back-certainly. Would I stay here again? - Yes.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are woth that little extra for a special event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outofthelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here one night before going on a two night tour of the south. The hotel was okay - the rooms were the largest we stayed in while in Iceland, but it did not live up to what I expected of a radisson.

The furniture and walls were a bit beat up, with chunks of plaster showing. We had hardwood floors in our room, but some of the people we were traveling with had dingy carpet. What confused me most of all was the shower curtain only stretched across half of the shower at a time, so you had to be careful not to make a huge mess of your bathroom. The towels were a bit threadbare.

The service was decent, though we didn't eat at the hotel.

The location was quite nice, but there are closer hotels to the town center at around the same price point (though the rooms were much smaller).

Room Tip: It seems some of the rooms have carpet and some have hardwood - I'd ask for a hardwood room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We visited the Radisson Blu Saga for 4 nights on a deal with two excursions included. Please see a list of the good and the bad bits. Also note I don't exaggerate and rarely complain:
GOOD
- Good location nice to be just outside the city and a taxi into the centre costs around £6. You can also walk in about 10 minutes.
- Buffet breakfast definitely worth purchasing before you travel as its cheaper and worth filling up. However be prepared to que for a few minutes for a table at the weekends, and a little bit of pushing and shoving when getting your food.
- nice rooms and yes a bit grubby and dated but if you get a view of the mountains then it is all worth it.
- Spa is great to use for an hour, so definitely give that a visit as it is free. Has good size jacuzzi.
- Excursions were great, but try and book before you go as you can get a deal and is more expensive in the hotel. Northern lights were great. Do the half day tour of golden circle as you see enough of what you want without having to do the 11 hour tour and definitely take a trip to the blue lagoon!
BAD
- Didn't realise that its over an hour to get anywhere that isn't in the city (which is very small).
- Food and drink is extremely expensive. Buffet for two in the hotel came to £75 with a drink each and served average food.
- Some staff are rude and unhelpful - didn't know how much a taxi would be into the centre at reception which i find strange. Wanted to book a meal at the restaurant at the top floor of the hotel and reception said they would take some times and let us know. We went up to the hotel in the day to find it was being constructed and told there was a two week waiting list! never heard from reception again about our booking. Transfers were somewhat a bit awkward at times. Got off one main bus in the centre then they told us to go on the minibus next to the bus to go to hotel. Got off bus and I had to dive into the bus luggage hold as our bags had been moved right into the middle. Once i had got them we saw the minibus was reversing and didn't decide to wait while we were quite clearly getting our bags and had to chase it and wave it down!
- staff in the spa were rude. went to use the spa and stopped in our tracks to which the staff demanded where our towels were and we said we thought you provided towels, but they made it clear that we had to go back and get our towels from our rooms ( the ones we shower with). went back and got towels and headed to changing rooms to be stopped again in a rude manner and they demanded to know what we were doing here and were our flip flops clean. we replied yes and headed on to which the staff looked us up and down and watched us walk in. The toilet in the changing room was literally covered in excrement on the seat and in the bowl,and they were asking about our flip flops... what!
- ground floor restaurant offered no menu other than the buffet and a bar menu. So did not have much choice other than to head to town which again was expensive.
- Bar staff were argumentative and no manners, apart from one woman who was polite.

Also note the water smells of sulphur and when showering is very strong, and when drinking the water it also tastes of sulphur but is safe.

Overall definitely worth a visit to Iceland to go on the excursions!

Room Tip: request one with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perky28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,606 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Rezidor, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing