We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Better than expected”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

After reading the reviews posted on Trip Advisor, which we read after booking a package we were concerned about what the Hotel is like. However although the comments that the rooms could be refurbished and updated are true we were pleasantly surprised.
Firstly the staff were superb, helpful, friendly patient and nothing seemed too much trouble, this includes the bar and restaurant staff.

The standard rooms were a good size, agreed they need a coat of paint and the bathrooms need updating but they were clean and comfortable especially the bed. Everything worked well including WiFi.

The food at the bar and the restaurant was excellent and good value for Iceland prices, especially the Buffet Breakfast and Dinner.
We did not try the grill which does looks quite expensive.

The only downside was the hotel rooms are being updated at the moment (Jan 2013) and there is some noise from builders/workmen, although this never started before 9am and always finished before 5pm. Perhaps management could ensure rooms are not allocated above or under current workmen.

The Location of the Hotel is very good it is at most 10 minutes walk to Reykjavik city center.

We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest

I am really happy we met your expectations and your had a great time in Iceland.

Thank you and I hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    771
    547
    181
    75
See reviews for
344
878
100
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Radisson Blue Saga (not to be confused with the 1912 in the centre). Overall our stay was completely fine. The staff were excellent/1st class, just so friendly and helpful. Cannot be faulted
Travel office on the ground floor next to reception seemed to be fairly priced and knowledgeable
I had a fall and they were wonderful even loaning me a wheelchair as i couldn’t walk short term. Alas the top floor grill restaurant was closed for refurbishment. The breakfast selection was vast and good quality, however one morning we had a full days tour booked so we had a slightly earlier breakfast, the cooked breakfast only came out as we were leaving the restaurant at 8am, too late for us. A good quiet position with a fantastic view of the snow capped mountains in the distance. The national museum is only a couple of minutes walk away, open from 11am, closed on Mondays.
Well positioned for city exploring.
We had a taxi into the centre at a reasonable cost
We ate several times at mimisbar, good bar food in nice surroundings.
In the room, we were on the 6th floor, the safe was too high for my partner to even reach! We had tea and coffee making facilities (but the creamer was vile). The TV could entertain for half an hour or so. I found the bed maybe too soft, not sure what the problem was, just didn’t sleep very well (seemed to be a lot of plumbing noises)
A good hotel. Would defiantly return. Many thanks to the reception staff for your help

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukoneuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and I am happy to hear you had a great stay.
I hope you are feeling better after your fall.
Thank your for your great comments we will use them to fine tune our operation.

I hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have recently returned from Iceland after staying at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Reykjavik. This hotel was very near the shops and restautrants by cab and about 15mins walking. The hotel staff were very pleasant and could not do enough for you when you had a request for something. The buffet breakfast, from a cooked breakfast to cold meats & cheeses to fresh fruits and cereals. We also had a buffet evening meal in the hotel and this too was excellant, always to kinds of meat and a selection of vegetables, a great choice for starters. The one thing we would comment on is that the bedroom furniture was a little on the shabby side but nothing much to moan about. We will definitely be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher the better for a good view over town and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for this great review.
I am happy to hear you had a great stay with us, we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lets start with the bad. There's a couple of reviews I read before heading out that suggested the rooms where a bit tired. Certainly the one I stayed in was in desperate need of a bit of TLC. Furniture that looked like Art Deco in style, if you can imagine flat-packed versions of the same. I'm sure at some point (10 years ago perhaps) it would have looked stylish, but the flaking veneer was really very depressing.

That's it on the bad front. The bathroom was in much better condition. It certainly wasn't a new refit, but it was in better condition then the rest of the room. It should be noted that regardless of the fact that the room was pretty 'old' it was spotlessly clean. Tired it certainly was, but there was no complaints about the cleaning staff.

I tried room service on a couple of occasions, and it's not bad either. The Radisson Blu Berger was quite delicious, though the chips where just the usual skinny offerings. Good portion size too.

The rest of the hotel is nothing to really rave about, though the lobby and ground floor areas have obviously had a refit since first built. Fixtures and fittings are of a much higher standard.

The food in the downstairs restaurant is pretty good for the most part with some items that are superb. My first taste of Icelandic lamb was one of the first dishes I tried at the insistence of the chef. Possibly some of the best lamb I've ever had. Juicy, sweet, very tender and utterly delicious. Wish we could get Icelandic lamb over here in the UK.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly too, and happy to help out. I missed breakfast one morning, but the lady cleaning the area and preparing for lunch was very happy to rustle up a cake, some biscuits and a lovely cup of coffee for me.

If you're looking for a relatively inexpensive visit to Reykjavik, and you're going to be spending your time goofing around the town, then this is a good hotel. It's only ten minutes from the harbour and one of the bigger squares in the town, so it's in a great location. If your looking for a luxurious location to hang out in, then you could probably do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for staying with us and writing this great review, I am sure it´s very helpful for future guest and also for us to fine tune our operation.

Hope to see you again soon

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I can’t think of anything bad about this hotel but also I can’t think of anything good. It was basic but clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were adequate but nothing out of the ordinary. It was situated about a 10 minute walk from the city centre.
Unfortunately the 8th floor restaurant was closed during my stay which was a disappointment. Also due to a flight delay our party arrived at the hotel late and although the hotel knew of this they did not keep the bar open an extra half hour for us - a nightcap would have been welcome after spending the whole day at the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

I am sorry the bar was closed when you arrived after the long day at the airport but glad you had a great time in Iceland.

Thank you for taking the time to write and review

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel was really nice. I have read that the rooms need to be updated but the room I was in was fully renovated and new. Lovely hardwood floors, comfortable beds, nice flat screen tv, nice sized safe and the bathroom was fine. I stayed on the 5th floor with a room with two single beds.
I wish the beds were farther apart but no biggie. Not very far from downtown Reykjavik, a little bit of a walk if you don't mind. Right across the street from the national museum, not a bad sie to see and they have bus stops right in front as well.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, you never know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest

These are great photos, thank you for sharing them on tripadvisor og taking the time write this great review.

Hope to see you again at Radisson Blu hotel Saga

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was a four night break to Iceland - the hotel was very good in some areas e.g. the breakfast was exceptional and the bar food was good - but the rooms were tired and in need of refurbishment. Overall it was an ok stay for Reykjavik and good value also

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for staying with us and we really hope to see you again

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,299 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,558 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing